We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place if your into a large facility” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vino Bello Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vino Bello Resort to your Saves list
Vino Bello Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   865 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
194 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Average place if your into a large facility”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a condominium room, large kitchen, full service including washer dryer and fireplace. I wouldn't recommend you experience Napa like this as the hotel reminds me of a Vegas wanta be resort within Napa. The rooms had dark, drab furnishings, with a large dust collectors above the bed. Sorry, this place isn't for me, more like a tier III resort located in an industrial location of Napa. The hotel and room furnishings looked dated and low end. The price didn't come close to the value... However, the staff was nice and the service was good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    185
    66
    38
    24
See reviews for
126
358
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago,IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here last week and were very happy with our stay. It's interesting b/c this property is like 2 resorts in one. Vino Bello and The Meritage are basically the same place. I don't even know why there are 2 different names. I think maybe The Meritage is all hotel rooms/suites that you rent like a regular hotel and Vino Bello is actually a timeshare place with condo's to rent when available. Anyway, technically we stayed at Vino Bello however we just felt like we were at the Meritage. Everything was the same and you used all the same "stuff"...same check in, same lobby, same restaurants, etc. We had a king suite...that was like brand new. The place was beautifully decorated, very clean and was all around great! Our room had a big walk in foyer, roomy bathroom, washer/dryer, little kitchenette, couch, little table with 2 chairs and an outside patio with chairs and a table.

We had coffee and a quick bite to eat at the little cafe. Very good. They also have this really cool wine bar / "cave". There isn't too much in the "cave" and it's more like a really cool place to have an event (not too much else to do in there), but if you stay here you should take a few minutes to walk around it, it's very pretty. They also have some cute gifts in the wine shop/bar. They have a spa too. We didn't use it, but it looked nice.

All around "great feel" aound the property. Cute little outdoor areas with fireplaces and comfy seating. No, it's not in downtown Napa, but that didn't bother us b/c we had a rental car that we used one day to drive up to Yountville, St Helena, and Calistoga and another day we had a private driver take us around to different places. So for our personal needs the location didn't matter at all.

Overall we found this to be a great place to stay and if you can book at a lower rate at the Vino Bello (than the Meritage) do it b/c it's all one in the same. Also, we didn't need much but all the staff that we did see and that checked us in and out was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We rented 2 2 bedroom condos at the resort and had a wonderful time. Located close to Napa and wine tasting, great restaurants and within an hour of San Francisco. Our four sons went to see the Giants clinch the NL West. The resort has well appointed condos, swimming pools, BBQ pits, sports bar with bowling alley and there is a winery on the property. There are several restaurants including one in a cave. Arrive on a Friday and they have a complimentary wine and cheese tasting. Great swimming pool. Definitely also check out the one at the Meritage Hotel side. This is part of the same resort. I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: We are part owners of Shell Vacations and that saved us about two-thirds in cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The description for the one bedroom unit does not follow through to the studio suites. Think standard hotel room without the desk and set of drawers to store your clothes, add kitchenette, laundry facilities and deck. The suites with two double beds have no seating other than the two chairs that come with the breakfast nook. The suites with a king bed have a couch. The kitchenette has a sink, bar fridge, microwave and toaster oven – no stove top, very small (will not hold a pint of ice cream) or no freezer compartment in bar fridge. Décor is upscale and tastefully done. Deck space is adequate for 2. Staff are friendly courteous and helpful. Exercise room is very good. Pool area at Meritage is exceptional. I rate the facility overall 5 stars but only 4 stars for the studio suites.

Room Tip: If you are using points through II the 1000 points to upgrade to one bedroom is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north reading,ma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We checking into the unit, and were beyond pleasantly surprised. Aside from being right next to the Meritage Resort,...the 2 actually shared check in and amentities. Accomodations were beautiful, as was the view from our room. The best surprise was that there was full daily cleaning service(rare for a timeshare)r...and normally I need to seek out water for the room,. but 2 bottles were put in the fridge daily, along with....a bottle of wine from the resort signature vintage.
Not only was there a nice restaurant and bars, but there is a very late night bowling alley/club,...although it is not up MY alley after a day of winery tours , it was crowded.
Late open pools with a fire pit bar,...beautiful spa,...and a wine cave with tours. Everything I would want, and wish I had spent more time in Napa.

Room Tip: we were lucky to view the pool and mountains from our room...request that,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Co
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Really? Late check in, forgotten maid service, poor room service. Then you hear: " How can we fix this?" How about don't charge me for a very bad experience?

A joke with no solutions. Be very careful.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VinoBello1, General Manager at Vino Bello Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Valued guest,

We are extremely proud of the service standards we uphold at this property so this review does raise some concern. We work very hard to cater to every single one of our guests needs and make the experience as memorable as possible. I would like to know more about your stay so that I may understand where your frustrations with us lie. Please contact me directly at mpalmer@themeritageresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Let me get my ONE negative comment out of the way first: other reviewers are correct when they say that this resort is not in the most ideal area of Napa. It IS across from a corporate park, and it is not close to downtown. That said, everything else was great, and I actually would not have WANTED to stay in downtown Napa - it was quieter out at Bello Vino and Meritage.

The room was beautiful. My husband and I stayed in a one-bedroom condo unit in the Merlot building. Bathroom was beautiful, shower was great (although somewhat low water pressure), jacuzzi tub was beautiful, kitchen was nice and fully-stocked, bed was comfortable, fireplace was enjoyable. We were very happy with the room. We didn't have any problems with noise as other guests have said they have, but occasionally we could hear people walking above us (we were on the first floor). We got really good sleep here. The only problem was finding parking, but luckily there was complimentary valet when we couldn't find any parking reasonably close to our room.

I was originially considering booking at the Meritage, but was somewhat scared off by some of the negative reviews. Although I'm glad we stayed at the Vino Bello and enjoyed the full kitchen, I think my fears of the Meritage were unfounded (Vino Bello and Meritage share the same concierage and check-in desk). The staff was very concerned about service, and everyone was very friendly. The lobby of the Meritage was gorgeous, as was the restaurant Siena.

The grounds of the Meritage/Vino Bello are also lovely. Lots of outdoor sitting places with fires burning in pits and fireplaces at night - lovely! We really wanted to take advantage of the cave spa and cave tasting room, but we just simply didn't have time - it looked gorgeous, though!

We had absolutely no problem getting to and from downtown Napa with the Meritage shuttle bus. It was very convenient.

The complimentary bottle of wine in our room was appreciated (even though Moscato isn't my favorite).

Overall, I was very satisifed. I would stay here again, and I would most definitely take advantage of the spa next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 27 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,250 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vino Bello Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vino Bello Resort

Address: 865 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#13 Family Hotel in Napa
#14 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vino Bello Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Vino Bello suite is designed to complement your Napa Valley getaway with quiet space and luxurious appointments. Choose from 64 studio, one bedroom or two bedroom condominium-style suites, all decorated with Old World Tuscan charm that blends with the surrounding vine-covered hills to welcome you with style and grace. This is wine country at its best. Here you’ll find luxurious accommodations, fine amenities and gracious service, all designed to make your visit to Napa Valley a memorable one. Whether you choose to taste your way through countless Napa Valley wineries, venture into the hills on horseback, bicycle through quaint villages, or float above it all in a hot-air balloon, you’ll return to find first class amenities at Vino Bello Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TravelClick so you can book your Vino Bello Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vino Bello Hotel Napa
Vino Bello Napa
Vino Bello Resort Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vino Bello Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.