We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good trade-off of convenience vs. luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort to your Saves list
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Lincoln Avenue, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Western NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A good trade-off of convenience vs. luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

In the past I turned up my nose at the idea of trading my beautiful Hawaii timeshare for a glorified mobile home. After reading good reviews we decided to give Riverpointe a try. I am not sorry we did. Yes, the units are small but they are not old or run down or old fashioned in my opinion and we generally stay at Mariotts, Westins, Hilton etc. They are cutsied up mobile homes and considering the space limitations, I think they are very attractive and comfortable. The high ceilings and numerous large windows help create an airy and cheerful space. The resort realizes they have minuses to overcome and do what they can, such as providing high quality comfortable beds, good linens, thick Egyptian cotton towels, good quality appliances, etc.

The public amenities such as the club house, pool and spas are not lavish but are more than adequate. We used the grills on a few occassions and they are conveniently placed for a short walk from most units. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, and the resort activities such as wine tasting evenings are wonderful. We enjoyed walking along the river in the morning and appreciated the fact that Walmart is .20 mile away, the Wine Train is .80 mile away, and if you feel ambitious you can walk to downtown. The location is great and that makes up for many minor short comings. If I could substitute a fancier resort on the same grounds that would be fantastic, but let's face it, that isn't possible. Only you can say whether the trade off between convenience and luxury is worth it for you. I have no idea why a previous reviewer said that the pictures did not match the resort in real life. Everything looked exactly as shown in the photos as far as I could see.

Napa is a desireable travel destination and Riverpointe places you right in the heart of restaurants, shops and wineries. It gives you the means to cook some of your own meals if you like. The location is quiet, peaceful and scenic, and the individual units insure that you don't have noisy neighbors above, below or on the other side of the next wall you as you'd have with a hotel. We enjoyed our stay and I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 7 which was convenient to the club house, a spa and some grills. It looks like any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    100
    31
    16
    15
See reviews for
54
135
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I own our timeshare with Marriott in Orlando, but very rarely do we go back to our home resort anymore (we have owned since 1995). This year we exchanged into Riverpointe knowing we were going to be staying in what was to be a trailer. We even invited another couple along for the fun. We all LOVED it! We were in units #17, 18 (I was told at check in that the units along the river have very limited Wifi access when I tried requesting one of those cottages). We gave my friends the unit with the larger kitchen (a four burner stove and slightly larger dishwasher) and the queen size bed (which we didn't realize they had compared to our king until mid-week) because upon entering our unit it had a strong Chlorox smell. Perhaps it had just been recently clean but the smell was still too strong for my friend to hang around in and start unloading her luggage into the bedroom. Happily though, we were able to check in at one pm, the staff was friendly, the units were super clean and fresh although a tight squeeze in the bedroom with the king size bed (we had the Deluxe trade meaning we were given two trailers connected by a deck). I would not stay here if I had more than three people (a couple and small child perhaps). With the king size bed, there was little room to move around the bed, but there was plenty of storage for all of our belongings. Yes, the tv in the bedroom is more of a twenty inch box (older). Yes, there should have been hooks to hang wet towels on, and we could have used more than one small bar of soap for the shower (I asked for more on Wednesday--easy enough). Trash and towels are taken care of twice a week, and a mini-cleaning is done mid-week. The internet was slow, so my husband had to go to the reception area/main building each night to connect for work. We were told the units on the river didn't have could internet but ours wasn't great either.
The location to Downton Napa, the Silverado Trail, Buttercream Bakery, Compadres Restaurant, Wal-mart and other stores, the highway and so many more places can't be beat! The Marriott is within ten minutes which is where we took the van for Balloons over the Valley. Marilyn, the concierge, was super helpful and so sweet (we spoke with her before our trip and throughout our stay). The Monday morning breakfast with Napa presentation was delicious and extremely informative. We attended one wine tasting the first Monday night we were there (it was long--ninety minutes--and we didn't love the wines offered, but it was free to taste!). the resort was quiet and peaceful, clean and relaxing. I would recommend staying here but only having two or maybe three people in each unit. It would be a tight squeeze with more needing to use the shower/bathroom area at the same time, and one/two would have to sleep in the family room. All four of us wouldn't think twice about staying here again in the future! We enjoyed the wine country cottages immensely!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The place is definitely not a 5 star resort. We would say 2 stars is a better description. What you see in the pictures does not match the real life. The accommodations are pretty small and the interior design is very old fashioned. Many heavy, and old furniture is cramped together, which makes the experience of living a bit claustrophobic, specially the bedroom.
The front desk employees are very unfriendly and unhelpful. You cannot check in before 4pm which is a bit too late,especially when you have had a long journey.
Once you get there they charge you additional fees for the use of amenities - things which are normally included in every other hotel service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The website rated this as a Four Star Timeshare - Not quite. They are literally trailers parked in a flood plain. Our trailer tilted to the side. The bedroom in the full trailer was tight, the studio bedroom/bathroom we had was larger but VERY humid and we had to fight the neighbors for hot water. The kitchen was well equipped and sitting on the patio between the two trailers was quiet. The staff is friendly and accommodating but the place really needs a facelift. Everything felt old.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We struggled to decide where to stay in Napa as we wanted to visit some wineries but did not have the local knowledge. After looking at the reviews we decided that Riverpointe was centrally placed and you could walk into town. It was an unexpected treat. The trailer are compact ( we had a one bedroom) but they have everything you might need. Fridge was large and spacious and the bathroom clean with plenty of towels. This is a small holiday resort. The pool is a good size and very quiet. The staff are fantastic and Marilynn, the concierge, an amazing character. The free breakfast and information on our first day was great. The complimentary wine tastings were a great experience. We took the opportunity of a limo trip to the wineries. The first stop was fantastic. I would however encourage you to find out exactly what was included in the price of trips as we all thought tastings were free and the other couple with us thought that it was $55 and I thought it was $65. Great value and well worth staying here although I would go for a 2 bedroom unit if we stayed for any longer than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a two-bedroom unit here, which consists of a full trailer with kitchen, living room, dining area and bedroom, with a second studio accommodation across the deck for the second bedroom. The rooms are very comfortable and there is an amazing amount of storage space, considering the limited square footage. The grounds are lovely and the whole area seems very peaceful. The resort has an excellent series of events for guests, including three wine tastings in a one-week period provided by different wineries in the area. There is also a welcome breakfast on Monday mornings that was very informative. The units were very clean and well cared for. looking forward to my next trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was a time share trade for us, and an unusual one - we are used to big, sprawling resorts and this is definitely not that. We had an efficiency (for 2 of us) and when the reviews you read say it is small, don't discount it - it is SMALL. We have travelled all over the world, including Europe where the rooms are traditionally small and this is really, really little. There is NO room for your suitcase storage, so try to take your clothes and necessary items out and leave the suitcases in the trunk of your car!
Other than that, great stay - our unit was near the front office and we had our own parking lot. It was clean, well stocked and we lucked out - the unit across from us was having maintenance done so we had no neighbors and didn't have to share our deck/table. Be aware that if you have an efficiency you will have to share your deck and table with someone else.
The resort is very well located, easy to get to all of Napa and Sonoma. They also have really nice wine tastings at the main building, where they bring in local wineries so you can taste and learn about their process. Great touch! The free laundry service was nice also, as we were continuing on after Napa to a lengthier trip and really needed to do some laundry!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort

Address: 500 Lincoln Avenue, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Napa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverpointe Napa Valley Hotel Napa
Riverpointe Hotel Napa
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.