We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What Expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort to your Saves list
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Lincoln Avenue, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not What Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The website rated this as a Four Star Timeshare - Not quite. They are literally trailers parked in a flood plain. Our trailer tilted to the side. The bedroom in the full trailer was tight, the studio bedroom/bathroom we had was larger but VERY humid and we had to fight the neighbors for hot water. The kitchen was well equipped and sitting on the patio between the two trailers was quiet. The staff is friendly and accommodating but the place really needs a facelift. Everything felt old.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    100
    31
    16
    15
See reviews for
54
135
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We struggled to decide where to stay in Napa as we wanted to visit some wineries but did not have the local knowledge. After looking at the reviews we decided that Riverpointe was centrally placed and you could walk into town. It was an unexpected treat. The trailer are compact ( we had a one bedroom) but they have everything you might need. Fridge was large and spacious and the bathroom clean with plenty of towels. This is a small holiday resort. The pool is a good size and very quiet. The staff are fantastic and Marilynn, the concierge, an amazing character. The free breakfast and information on our first day was great. The complimentary wine tastings were a great experience. We took the opportunity of a limo trip to the wineries. The first stop was fantastic. I would however encourage you to find out exactly what was included in the price of trips as we all thought tastings were free and the other couple with us thought that it was $55 and I thought it was $65. Great value and well worth staying here although I would go for a 2 bedroom unit if we stayed for any longer than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a two-bedroom unit here, which consists of a full trailer with kitchen, living room, dining area and bedroom, with a second studio accommodation across the deck for the second bedroom. The rooms are very comfortable and there is an amazing amount of storage space, considering the limited square footage. The grounds are lovely and the whole area seems very peaceful. The resort has an excellent series of events for guests, including three wine tastings in a one-week period provided by different wineries in the area. There is also a welcome breakfast on Monday mornings that was very informative. The units were very clean and well cared for. looking forward to my next trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was a time share trade for us, and an unusual one - we are used to big, sprawling resorts and this is definitely not that. We had an efficiency (for 2 of us) and when the reviews you read say it is small, don't discount it - it is SMALL. We have travelled all over the world, including Europe where the rooms are traditionally small and this is really, really little. There is NO room for your suitcase storage, so try to take your clothes and necessary items out and leave the suitcases in the trunk of your car!
Other than that, great stay - our unit was near the front office and we had our own parking lot. It was clean, well stocked and we lucked out - the unit across from us was having maintenance done so we had no neighbors and didn't have to share our deck/table. Be aware that if you have an efficiency you will have to share your deck and table with someone else.
The resort is very well located, easy to get to all of Napa and Sonoma. They also have really nice wine tastings at the main building, where they bring in local wineries so you can taste and learn about their process. Great touch! The free laundry service was nice also, as we were continuing on after Napa to a lengthier trip and really needed to do some laundry!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Ooh I enjoyed being here very relaxing I loved that every "trailers"has its own little place loved the Kitchen and want to thank Efrain for bing so kind with us we enjoyed it and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here and hope to come back in the future. When we first pulled into the resort, I was also a little put off by the trailers because I was expecting a condo. However, I learned that the resort sits on the Napa River and when the river floods, they need to move the entire park to higher ground (hence the trailers). It makes sense. When I walked inside the unit, I was pleasantly surprised by the full kitchen and comfortable furnishing. For 2 people, it's plenty of space, but I wouldn't have taken my kids or I think it would be too crowded. As for the staff - they are amazing! Extremely helpful, polite, and informative. Take advantage of the orientation and all the free wine tastings. Also, I would recommend going to the Walmart down the street to by groceries for your full kitchen unless you plan on spending a fortune on dining out for all your meals. No, it's not a 5-star luxury resort, but I like it better (not pretentious, very affordable, and relaxing!!!!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, General Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hi jthibault80,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort. We're thrilled to learn of you and your family's recent stay. It sounds like you truly enjoyed the comfort and ease we promote to our guests. We hope you made some delicious home cooked meals and had a great time exploring all the wineries. We hope to welcome you back to our property should you ever be in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had such a good time. The cottage was fab, luxurious. Great on site activities Dan wine tasting. To the noob who criticized the Walmart, we had a kitchen so having a local grocery store was very handy for cooking. BBQ area and extremely posh place. The activity director was a sassy lady...great stuff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, General Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hi Kerry K,
We're so happy to hear you and your guests had a great time visiting with us recently. We're glad you enjoyed the onsite activities particularly the wine tasting. We hope to welcome you all back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort

Address: 500 Lincoln Avenue, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Napa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverpointe Napa Valley Hotel Napa
Riverpointe Hotel Napa
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.