We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet little gem.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort

Save Saved
You added RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Lincoln Avenue, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A quiet little gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

After an 8 hour drive to Napa from Los Angeles, (there was so much traffic), I started to tense up as we got closer to the hotel. I knew this was sort of a "trailer park" and I remembered a bad review I read about people partying and it being noisy. Upon arrival, I was pleased to find quaint little mobile homes, and a very quiet atmosphere. The woman who checked me in was named Yesenia, and she was very nice and personable. Our rental was very small, only 400 feet, but very charming. We had a little patio with a table and chairs, and a small living room, with a tiny kitchen, a bathroom, and a bedroom. Extra bedding was in the closet, and the kitchen had everything we needed. Although, I didn't like the coffee they had for the coffee maker. Bring your own coffee. LOL But it was very quiet. There is a nice walking trail in the back. The pool is heated and big. There are 2 jacuzzis, and a ping pong table, and pool table. It was a bit tight for my family of 3, but we really did enjoy our stay here. I am sure you will too. :)

Room Tip: If you have more than 3 in your party, you might try to get a 2 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, General Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear losinginla,

We are so pleased you had a great visit! Thank you for sharing the news about Yesenia. We love hearing such wonderful feedback about our team. We hope you are already planning your next visit to RiverPonte....with your coffee in tow :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    83
    24
    14
    13
See reviews for
42
106
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have been trading timeshares since 2000, and we have always felt like we had great trades. That is, until we encountered our half-trailer sized room, with a closet-sized shower, at the River Pointe "Resort" in Napa. There is no question the location is wonderful, and the staff is very friendly. The recreation director, Marilyn, has a very difficult job, in my opinion. She has to convince a whole trailer park full of guests each week that even though it walks like a trailer park and quacks like a trailer park, it's really a resort. There is no restaurant and there are no other amenities (except for a swimming pool). They offer a laundry room, gratis of course; however, of the three clothes dryers, only 1 works. We felt so claustrophobic that we actually left on Thursday night and took a local side trip. That way, we could check into a hotel with a real bathroom where I could bend over and shave my legs in the shower, and a bedroom that was roomy enough to walk around in. That added $200 to the cost of our 'prepaid' week. Add to that, their ironic resort fee of $10/day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, General Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear cocobch,

We appreciate your feedback and apologize that the unit size left you feeling uncomfortable. We do have a challenge in making the best use of space in the 400 square feet provided in our cottages. I believe we work well with the space provided.

Thank you for the kind comments about our team and I am happy to share with you that we have replaced one washer/dryer set and were able to fix the other so all three sets are working.

I'd like to invite you to reach out to our new Resort Manager, Racheal Giannecchini. She'd like to further discuss your comments if you have some extra time. rshake@gpresorts.com or 707-252-4200 extension 119.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradise
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This property is an absolute gem, and we are sorry to be leaving today; comfortable accommodations including the bed (wonderful), sofa + armchair. We didn't eat at the tiny table or sit much in the hard chairs; used the table to plunk down books, magazines and our techie stuff. Yes the bedroom is pretty much filled up with bed + cabinetry but completely do-able; slept like a rock. Requested the best location to access wi-fi since we had business to do; they accommodated us immediately in unit #7 (I didn't want to have to go to the clubhouse to perform computer tasks). Clean, lovely view from our living room and deck area. Great walking trail along the river first thing in the morning. Pool area large + clean, shaded by beautiful trees (temps in the 90's); pool temp perfect; not nearly enough lounge chairs to go around but did find patio chairs to sit on. Kitchenette completely adequate for our needs. Grounds well kept including all the manicured landscaping. Close to everything--Walmart for various sundries, downtown restaurants, outdoor concert in the "park" area. We did drive as it was so hot but could have easily walked the less-than-2 miles into downtown. Spontaneously decided, based on our experience, that we will return in the Fall.

Room Tip: We liked the unit (#7) at end of one row; quiet with pretty view--I am looking out at a field and li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, General Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear serafineParadise,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience about your stay at RiverPointe. We look forward to welcoming you back in the fall, which is harvest season. I'm sure you will find some great things to do at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have been coming here for several years. Always nice folks and a great trip. Easy access to the wineries (you ARE in the heart of the Napa Valley after all).

A quite place where you can wind down, go visit the many great wineries, eat some good food, and just relax. Take advantage of the event calendar activities. They set up some good wine tours of the area and Marilyn always get you the good hookup!

Room Tip: If you are not an owner call the resort direct, usually a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, General Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi KMFA,
We're thrilled that we have the opportunity to continue welcoming you and your guests back year after year to RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort. We're glad you had a great time relaxing, visiting the many wineries in town, and indulging in delicious foods. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We traded our timeshare week for a week at the Riverpointe. We had read all the reveiws and thought it would be an acceptable trade. I would never go back and stay in a studio unit. This unit had a bed with just enough room to walk around it. It had a tiny table with 2 chairs but not enough space to pull the chairs out to sit, so why bother. We are use to having SPACE when using our timeshare so this place was very disappointing to say the least. They also said they were coming twice for towel change and trash but our trash was always over flowing. We also ran out of toilet paper and had to use tissues until we could get some the next day. The grounds were nice and the wine tastings they had were nice but we didn't spend much time relaxing because we couldn't wait to get out of the room every morning. Our next trip to Napa will be spent somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, General Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi emptynester103,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at RiverPointe Napa Valley. We're sorry to learn of the disappointment you experienced with the space in your unit, the delayed towel change, and the abundance of trash outside. We completely understand your frustrations and invite you to email us at rshake@gpresorts.com should you wish to share any additional information regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

From reading other reviews before we travelled, I am astonished that people were surprised at what they found. Let's get it out of the way first - "It's a trailer park!"

It's not even a high end trailer park - the trailers are relatively low-level single-wides, with a single bedroom each, a decently large living room, and relatively tiny bedrooms. We knew exactly what we were getting into and were adequately prepared. The only thing we found particularly amusing was the sort of "Fawlty Towers" pretense of it all. The towels are folded into funny animal shapes, the toilet paper and paper towels have origami folds, and the common area building is very impressive. The first day was the last we saw of housekeeping staff during our week, and we had to go to the Wal Mart across the street to purchase paper products. At least we were able to purchase two-ply, which was apparently more than the resort could afford.

That said, the "resort" was perfect for our stay. We travelled around Napa and Sonoma from a central location, had spacious outdoor and indoor areas to play cards and watch movies. The kitchens and shared grills were very nice, and the privacy factor was excellent (our party shared two adjoining trailers). I might have been upset had I paid full "retail" price, or had we shared a deck with unrelated people, but it worked out very well for us.

The Good: Living areas and decks are spacious and have cable. The location is central. Privacy is excellent. The kitchens and grills allow for some fancy cooking and eating (decent Tramonitina cookware and a variety of wine glasses included!). Bathrooms are large, handicapped access is excellent, and the river trail was beautiful.

The Bad: It's a trailer park! If you are paying full boat, you may find this troubling.

The Ugly: The Internet was spotty at best, failed three times during our stay. We had to call for an ISP reset each time as the front office couldn't do it. Single ply - 'nuff said. Housekeeping and trash pickup minimal. Our trailer wasn't level, which resulted in pooling of shower water in the bathroom. Jacuzzi and pool heater broken during our entire stay. Notice on replacement cost of plates ($4.86 each) if they were missing at the end of the stay was, ahem, tacky...

Summary: Understand what you're getting into, pay a reasonable price, and it's actually a fine place. If you want to cook, dine, and have quiet time in a private location, it's a great value.

Room Tip: Bring a level and don't share with strangers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, General Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi Andy_in_Keene,
Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at RiverPointe Napa Valley. It's great to know you had a great stay and enjoyed the spacious outdoor and indoor areas to relax and spend quality time with the family. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Overall this is a great place. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit which was really nice, clean, and had a well stocked kitchen (plates, pots, pans, utensils). The pool was nice for my son (10 yrs old) but a bit warm for my taste. They have it heated to around 82 degrees and I had to get out after a while to cool down! The office staff were all very friendly. It's only 5 minutes from downtown Napa (by car).

I would have given this place 4 stars but a huge drawback for us was the noise level late at night. Our first night (a Friday) we were awoken at midnight by a group partying in and outside a nearby unit. Around 3 am that same night we were again awoken by what sounded like a domestic dispute. Yelling, swearing, car doors slamming.

The next morning, when we asked about what security to call if it happened again we were told they have no on site nor on call security and that if we have problems we are to call the police. I was very surprised that for the amount the units cost to rent that there was no other options for the guests in the event of onsite problems besides the police.

Unfortunately, the next night (Saturday) the partying started again and we ended up closing our windows and running the AC to drown out the noise. We really did not want to deal with filing a police report on vacation.

Upon checkout we were not asked how our visit went or if we had more noise problems. The person that checked me out was the same person who I complained to about the noise.

If they can get onsite security to deal with this issue I would say this place is great!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, Front Office Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi gaiusb32283,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at RiverPointe Napa Valley. We're happy to hear you had such a great time and enjoyed your one bedroom unit, as well as, the accommodations included. We're sorry to hear of the noise complaints you had. Should you ever stay with us in the future, please do not hesitate to notify the front desk. They will be sure to come to a solution for any problems you may have. Despite the slight inconvenience, we hope to welcome you back again at another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort

Also Known As:
Riverpointe Napa Valley Hotel Napa
Riverpointe Napa Valley Hotel
Riverpointe Hotel Napa
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort CA
Address: 500 Lincoln Avenue, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Napa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.