We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What did you expect?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort

Save Saved
You added RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Lincoln Avenue, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Keene, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What did you expect?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

From reading other reviews before we travelled, I am astonished that people were surprised at what they found. Let's get it out of the way first - "It's a trailer park!"

It's not even a high end trailer park - the trailers are relatively low-level single-wides, with a single bedroom each, a decently large living room, and relatively tiny bedrooms. We knew exactly what we were getting into and were adequately prepared. The only thing we found particularly amusing was the sort of "Fawlty Towers" pretense of it all. The towels are folded into funny animal shapes, the toilet paper and paper towels have origami folds, and the common area building is very impressive. The first day was the last we saw of housekeeping staff during our week, and we had to go to the Wal Mart across the street to purchase paper products. At least we were able to purchase two-ply, which was apparently more than the resort could afford.

That said, the "resort" was perfect for our stay. We travelled around Napa and Sonoma from a central location, had spacious outdoor and indoor areas to play cards and watch movies. The kitchens and shared grills were very nice, and the privacy factor was excellent (our party shared two adjoining trailers). I might have been upset had I paid full "retail" price, or had we shared a deck with unrelated people, but it worked out very well for us.

The Good: Living areas and decks are spacious and have cable. The location is central. Privacy is excellent. The kitchens and grills allow for some fancy cooking and eating (decent Tramonitina cookware and a variety of wine glasses included!). Bathrooms are large, handicapped access is excellent, and the river trail was beautiful.

The Bad: It's a trailer park! If you are paying full boat, you may find this troubling.

The Ugly: The Internet was spotty at best, failed three times during our stay. We had to call for an ISP reset each time as the front office couldn't do it. Single ply - 'nuff said. Housekeeping and trash pickup minimal. Our trailer wasn't level, which resulted in pooling of shower water in the bathroom. Jacuzzi and pool heater broken during our entire stay. Notice on replacement cost of plates ($4.86 each) if they were missing at the end of the stay was, ahem, tacky...

Summary: Understand what you're getting into, pay a reasonable price, and it's actually a fine place. If you want to cook, dine, and have quiet time in a private location, it's a great value.

Room Tip: Bring a level and don't share with strangers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, General Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi Andy_in_Keene,
Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at RiverPointe Napa Valley. It's great to know you had a great stay and enjoyed the spacious outdoor and indoor areas to relax and spend quality time with the family. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    83
    24
    14
    13
See reviews for
42
106
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Overall this is a great place. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit which was really nice, clean, and had a well stocked kitchen (plates, pots, pans, utensils). The pool was nice for my son (10 yrs old) but a bit warm for my taste. They have it heated to around 82 degrees and I had to get out after a while to cool down! The office staff were all very friendly. It's only 5 minutes from downtown Napa (by car).

I would have given this place 4 stars but a huge drawback for us was the noise level late at night. Our first night (a Friday) we were awoken at midnight by a group partying in and outside a nearby unit. Around 3 am that same night we were again awoken by what sounded like a domestic dispute. Yelling, swearing, car doors slamming.

The next morning, when we asked about what security to call if it happened again we were told they have no on site nor on call security and that if we have problems we are to call the police. I was very surprised that for the amount the units cost to rent that there was no other options for the guests in the event of onsite problems besides the police.

Unfortunately, the next night (Saturday) the partying started again and we ended up closing our windows and running the AC to drown out the noise. We really did not want to deal with filing a police report on vacation.

Upon checkout we were not asked how our visit went or if we had more noise problems. The person that checked me out was the same person who I complained to about the noise.

If they can get onsite security to deal with this issue I would say this place is great!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, Front Office Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi gaiusb32283,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at RiverPointe Napa Valley. We're happy to hear you had such a great time and enjoyed your one bedroom unit, as well as, the accommodations included. We're sorry to hear of the noise complaints you had. Should you ever stay with us in the future, please do not hesitate to notify the front desk. They will be sure to come to a solution for any problems you may have. Despite the slight inconvenience, we hope to welcome you back again at another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We purchased a 1-night stay in their 1-bedroom "cottage" through an online daily deal website. The price to us was about 1/3 the regular price. The "resort" is actually more like a high-end mobile home park. It's also a timeshare location. Each of the cottages is actually a free-standing modern, mobile cottage (the wheels are actually still attached). There's about 100 of them arranged in pairs with a shared deck. The 1 BR is supposed to sleep 4: 2 on the qn bed and 2 on the qn sleeper sofa. To open the sofa, we had to turn the coffee table on its end and push it (and the side chair) flush against the window. The sofa bed was your typical uncomfortable sleeper - fine for our 2 little kids. Certainly nice that it has basically a full kitchen, but if you were staying for a few days with kids, I think you would definitely feel cramped (unless you refolded the bed each morning). One thing I don't like about places like this is that we had to wash our own glasses and put out our trash (like renting a timeshare or condo). For someone paying full price, that seems a bit much. And it's not exactly "resort" service if you're doing your own house-cleaning! Pool area was fine - very chilly water. Other guests were, strangely, a little "trailer-trashy" although very friendly. All in all, not bad, but just a little odd.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Here for the first time. Traded our Sedona timeshare to get in. Had to pay a upgrade fee to get a one-bedroom. Good news: the grounds are well kept and the staff is friendly. Private patio is great for happy hours and coffee in the morning. Challenges: the one bedroom is very small. Could barely move around in the bedroom. Open the refrig door and the route to the bathroom is blocked. Good for one person; two people ok. Three people...forget about it.

This is a good place to put your stuff and leave for the day/evening. If you hang out here, you will feel crowded. The resort fee is made known in advance but in my opinion, not worth the amenities listed.

Also be aware: the internet is only on for two hours before you have to sign in again. And yes, it will turn off when you are on email, writing in mid sentence. It does save your place when you sign back up though.

Room Tip: we were in cottage #24 which had a great wooded view from the patio. Also next to the staff/maintena...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, Front Office Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Vickie S,
Thank you for reviewing RiverPointe Napa Valley. We're pleased to learn of your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed hanging out on our private patio for happy hour or some morning coffee. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Even though I knew when I booked this exchange that the accommodations are basically trailers, my initial reaction ("this is kinda weird") quickly evolved to "this is pretty awesome." There were 3 free wine tastings/ winemaker presentations scheduled during our week. I'm sorry we missed the first, because the two we attended were just fantastic--winemakers from boutique wineries presenting really wonderful wines and sharing lots of information about their philosophy and methodology.

Kudos to concierge Marilyn for arranging these events. We also enjoyed "dinner with Marilyn"--a modestly-priced price fixe dinner at Cuvée; it was a great meal and great opportunity to meet other guests.
We stayed in a studio unit--it was small and basic, but spotless and completely adequate. Location is very convenient.
Really enjoyed meeting other convivial guests as well.
Would happily return to this report.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

As you may read, they are large FEMA trailers basically with nice amenities and quite private. After spending 15 years paying a lot for the Fairmont Sonoma or other spots like the Sheraton Petaluma, my wife and i love the easy access to shopping and wineries and all of the Wine Country this site offers.

The units are small, but you can ENLARGE them by removing 3 of the dining chairs and the 2 in the bedroom and maybe even an end table and having them store them and then the "great" room really opens up. I would NOT recommend more than 2 adults and maybe 2 small kids, if you really love them, since a week here would be tough without renting the additional studio units attached to some.

Expect relaxation, a relatively elderly crowd and everything you need to stock up real close by
Don;t expect onsite food or room service or a spectacular pool and play areas, just a natural flood zone by the river that requires moving half the units offsite half of the year. A great hike by the river is fun, the grills are new and close and parking is right in front of your trailer cave.

We bought two seeks on ebay for NOTHING basically about 1200 per year for both in maintenance and it makes for 2 great wineshopping trips from Phoenix a year, me driving and her flying. At first it seemed kind of cheesy, but now I love the ease and simplicity and closeness to all Wine Country has to offer.

4.25 /5 only because of the size of the units, but you can learn to love them

Room Tip: Make sure you can get a private patio if they are not busy..some are shared
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, Front Office Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your stay. I am so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time here at the RiverPointe Napa Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

As owners here for more than 10 years we have been able to experience Riverpointe on a regular basis and see how a place that was wonderful to begin with continues to improve , year in and year out. And an incredibly dedicated and talented staff add to the comfort and charm of this resort. From the general manager to the grounds staff, everyone is there to make staying there a great experience.

We stayed in a one bedroom unit. The units are upscale mobile homes with a living/dining/kitchen area, a bathroom and a bed room with queen bed (very comfortable). Two flat screen TVs, an IPod dock sound system, comfortable furniture and the usual condo amenities. There was a small deck with table and chairs out the front door. This was a great base to enjoy all the wine country fun from. And the resort is in the middle of everything; great food, great wine and beautiful countryside. There's a pool and two jacuzzis, club house with pool table, too.

Definitely take advantage of the wine tastings and other events offered by the resort's amazing concierge, Marilyn. These are definitely NOT timeshare sales presentations and many are free. We went to her dinner event (not free) at nearby restaurant Cuvée and her orientation breakfast (free) and both were delicious and fun. And in the three nights we were there, there were two wine tasting events.

So, to sum it up. A beautiful resort in the middle of wine country with comfortable, nicely appointed accommodations supported by an awesome staff.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, Front Office Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your stay. I am so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time here at the RiverPointe Napa Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort

Also Known As:
Riverpointe Napa Valley Hotel Napa
Riverpointe Napa Valley Hotel
Riverpointe Hotel Napa
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort CA
Address: 500 Lincoln Avenue, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.