We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort

Save Saved
You added RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Lincoln Avenue, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Sale- Save 25%!
Ranked #15 of 25 hotels in Napa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Davis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, clean but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Overall this is a great place. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit which was really nice, clean, and had a well stocked kitchen (plates, pots, pans, utensils). The pool was nice for my son (10 yrs old) but a bit warm for my taste. They have it heated to around 82 degrees and I had to get out after a while to cool down! The office staff were all very friendly. It's only 5 minutes from downtown Napa (by car).

I would have given this place 4 stars but a huge drawback for us was the noise level late at night. Our first night (a Friday) we were awoken at midnight by a group partying in and outside a nearby unit. Around 3 am that same night we were again awoken by what sounded like a domestic dispute. Yelling, swearing, car doors slamming.

The next morning, when we asked about what security to call if it happened again we were told they have no on site nor on call security and that if we have problems we are to call the police. I was very surprised that for the amount the units cost to rent that there was no other options for the guests in the event of onsite problems besides the police.

Unfortunately, the next night (Saturday) the partying started again and we ended up closing our windows and running the AC to drown out the noise. We really did not want to deal with filing a police report on vacation.

Upon checkout we were not asked how our visit went or if we had more noise problems. The person that checked me out was the same person who I complained to about the noise.

If they can get onsite security to deal with this issue I would say this place is great!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, Front Office Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi gaiusb32283,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at RiverPointe Napa Valley. We're happy to hear you had such a great time and enjoyed your one bedroom unit, as well as, the accommodations included. We're sorry to hear of the noise complaints you had. Should you ever stay with us in the future, please do not hesitate to notify the front desk. They will be sure to come to a solution for any problems you may have. Despite the slight inconvenience, we hope to welcome you back again at another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    89
    25
    15
    14
See reviews for
45
112
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We purchased a 1-night stay in their 1-bedroom "cottage" through an online daily deal website. The price to us was about 1/3 the regular price. The "resort" is actually more like a high-end mobile home park. It's also a timeshare location. Each of the cottages is actually a free-standing modern, mobile cottage (the wheels are actually still attached). There's about 100 of them arranged in pairs with a shared deck. The 1 BR is supposed to sleep 4: 2 on the qn bed and 2 on the qn sleeper sofa. To open the sofa, we had to turn the coffee table on its end and push it (and the side chair) flush against the window. The sofa bed was your typical uncomfortable sleeper - fine for our 2 little kids. Certainly nice that it has basically a full kitchen, but if you were staying for a few days with kids, I think you would definitely feel cramped (unless you refolded the bed each morning). One thing I don't like about places like this is that we had to wash our own glasses and put out our trash (like renting a timeshare or condo). For someone paying full price, that seems a bit much. And it's not exactly "resort" service if you're doing your own house-cleaning! Pool area was fine - very chilly water. Other guests were, strangely, a little "trailer-trashy" although very friendly. All in all, not bad, but just a little odd.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Here for the first time. Traded our Sedona timeshare to get in. Had to pay a upgrade fee to get a one-bedroom. Good news: the grounds are well kept and the staff is friendly. Private patio is great for happy hours and coffee in the morning. Challenges: the one bedroom is very small. Could barely move around in the bedroom. Open the refrig door and the route to the bathroom is blocked. Good for one person; two people ok. Three people...forget about it.

This is a good place to put your stuff and leave for the day/evening. If you hang out here, you will feel crowded. The resort fee is made known in advance but in my opinion, not worth the amenities listed.

Also be aware: the internet is only on for two hours before you have to sign in again. And yes, it will turn off when you are on email, writing in mid sentence. It does save your place when you sign back up though.

Room Tip: we were in cottage #24 which had a great wooded view from the patio. Also next to the staff/maintena...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, Front Office Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Vickie S,
Thank you for reviewing RiverPointe Napa Valley. We're pleased to learn of your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed hanging out on our private patio for happy hour or some morning coffee. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Even though I knew when I booked this exchange that the accommodations are basically trailers, my initial reaction ("this is kinda weird") quickly evolved to "this is pretty awesome." There were 3 free wine tastings/ winemaker presentations scheduled during our week. I'm sorry we missed the first, because the two we attended were just fantastic--winemakers from boutique wineries presenting really wonderful wines and sharing lots of information about their philosophy and methodology.

Kudos to concierge Marilyn for arranging these events. We also enjoyed "dinner with Marilyn"--a modestly-priced price fixe dinner at Cuvée; it was a great meal and great opportunity to meet other guests.
We stayed in a studio unit--it was small and basic, but spotless and completely adequate. Location is very convenient.
Really enjoyed meeting other convivial guests as well.
Would happily return to this report.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

As you may read, they are large FEMA trailers basically with nice amenities and quite private. After spending 15 years paying a lot for the Fairmont Sonoma or other spots like the Sheraton Petaluma, my wife and i love the easy access to shopping and wineries and all of the Wine Country this site offers.

The units are small, but you can ENLARGE them by removing 3 of the dining chairs and the 2 in the bedroom and maybe even an end table and having them store them and then the "great" room really opens up. I would NOT recommend more than 2 adults and maybe 2 small kids, if you really love them, since a week here would be tough without renting the additional studio units attached to some.

Expect relaxation, a relatively elderly crowd and everything you need to stock up real close by
Don;t expect onsite food or room service or a spectacular pool and play areas, just a natural flood zone by the river that requires moving half the units offsite half of the year. A great hike by the river is fun, the grills are new and close and parking is right in front of your trailer cave.

We bought two seeks on ebay for NOTHING basically about 1200 per year for both in maintenance and it makes for 2 great wineshopping trips from Phoenix a year, me driving and her flying. At first it seemed kind of cheesy, but now I love the ease and simplicity and closeness to all Wine Country has to offer.

4.25 /5 only because of the size of the units, but you can learn to love them

Room Tip: Make sure you can get a private patio if they are not busy..some are shared
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, Front Office Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your stay. I am so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time here at the RiverPointe Napa Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

As owners here for more than 10 years we have been able to experience Riverpointe on a regular basis and see how a place that was wonderful to begin with continues to improve , year in and year out. And an incredibly dedicated and talented staff add to the comfort and charm of this resort. From the general manager to the grounds staff, everyone is there to make staying there a great experience.

We stayed in a one bedroom unit. The units are upscale mobile homes with a living/dining/kitchen area, a bathroom and a bed room with queen bed (very comfortable). Two flat screen TVs, an IPod dock sound system, comfortable furniture and the usual condo amenities. There was a small deck with table and chairs out the front door. This was a great base to enjoy all the wine country fun from. And the resort is in the middle of everything; great food, great wine and beautiful countryside. There's a pool and two jacuzzis, club house with pool table, too.

Definitely take advantage of the wine tastings and other events offered by the resort's amazing concierge, Marilyn. These are definitely NOT timeshare sales presentations and many are free. We went to her dinner event (not free) at nearby restaurant Cuvée and her orientation breakfast (free) and both were delicious and fun. And in the three nights we were there, there were two wine tasting events.

So, to sum it up. A beautiful resort in the middle of wine country with comfortable, nicely appointed accommodations supported by an awesome staff.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, Front Office Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your stay. I am so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time here at the RiverPointe Napa Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband booked this without clearing it with me and I was a little hesitant because I learned that the cottages were actually trailers. Was a first for me! I was actually very surprised at how charming this resort was. Our cottage was quite spacious compared to a normal hotel room. Fully equipped kitchen, ample storage, sitting area and an outside deck with chairs and umbrella. Small bathroom but suitable. This place was immaculate. Kudos to the cleaning staff. The scenery was beautiful, walking paths along the river. We had no trouble visiting the wineries, our shuttle picked us up right at our resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtennery-rvpt, Front Office Manager at RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor of your stay. I am pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful vacation with. We are committed to providing outstanding customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort

Address: 500 Lincoln Avenue, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverpointe Napa Valley Hotel Napa
Riverpointe Hotel Napa
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.