We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Meritage Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Meritage Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Our family has stayed in Napa on several occasions and more often than not, we were underwhelmed with out accommodations. Not this time. Beautiful resort set out on a large property that has its own vineyard. Rooms are large, well appointed and all have balcony that you can actually sit on and have a glass of wine and chat.

Clean room, Very modern and fun bathroom / dressing area. Well done lobby and other common areas (including a huge wood burning fireplace). Good restaurants. Pleasant and helpful staff.

One thing - safe in the room. Had to pay to use it with a credit card? Tacky.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear JM D- Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear, after many negative experiences at other locations, you were able to relax and enjoy your stay with us! It certainly sounds like you enjoyed many aspects of our resort. I hope you had safe travels back home.

Thank you again,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    269
    127
    47
    33
See reviews for
106
385
12
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prospect, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I went to the Meritage to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversay and stayed 3nights. It was everything we wanted and more. The facilities were breath taking starting with the lobby, restaurants, pool area and ending with the beautiful grounds of the vineyard. We got a great deal using our Costco membership and the hotel staff treated us great too. THe spa service and amenities were top notch. It was not very busy and we could move about the hotel with ease. The location of the hotel is in a prime spot if you do not like to be in the center of everything, which we didn't want to be. We will absolutely go back and no doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Ambar W- Thank you for choosing our resort for your special celebration. It is truly an honor to welcome you and your husband for your 10 year anniversary. Thank you for taking the time to reach out on Trip Advisor. Cheers to many more years...hope to welcome you again soon!

Warm regards,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Look, I admit it. I read all the 5 star ratings about Meritage and booked the back-end of our 5 day Napa trip here - but I was fooled. Not that the Meritage isn't a nice place - clean and fairly modern. But my goodness, it was just absolutely packed and so busy the idea of getting any service is not going to happen. We are mid-40s types, and enjoy a fairly peaceful setting where we can relax. This hotel was more like walking into a lower-end Vegas hotel. The check in line was 30 people long (with 3 workers), it took us 20 minutes to get our valet car (so we parked on the street the rest of the time) and the average age of the rest of the guests was probably 24. Maybe it was the just because it was a weekend and there were five or so weddings booked during our stay, and during the week this would be a nice place. If you want relaxing, avoid the weekend at all costs. One other point- this hotel is ISOLTATED compared to most Napa properties we've visited. It's located in an urban office/warehouse park (not the middle of vineyard like Carneros Inn) so it's not a charming kind of isolated. It's just takes a long time to get downtown or up the Sliverado Trail.

So, beware of the other 5 star ratings. Quality and cleanliness is good (even very good) - ambiance, location and service are average at best.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, General Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Tom W.- Although I am pleased you chose our resort for your recent travels to Napa, I am sorry you left with a negative perception. We are indeed fortunate that many guests choose to get married at our resort. In saying that, we have many friends, family and others visiting to join the couple and their special day. Your review and feedback is important to us, and will be shared with the team. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Truly,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed every moment. Its sort of a cross between a resort and hotel. After reading other reviews that said the pool area could get busy on the weekends we booked during the week and had no issues. We were always able to get a lounger by the pool. The restaurants are ok and best for breakfast. Considering you're in Napa so I suggest going into town as there are many great choices.
The resort itself is very clean and well maintained. We had a couples massage which was phenomenal and extremely relaxing. All in all we were treated very well and the only negative we could think of was the time it took to get a drink in the pool area. There are several outdoor fire pit areas where you can just chill and the backdrop to the pool area is a well kept vineyard. We will definitely be returning at some point. If you want to just unwind the Meritage is definitely a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Purenergy12- Your 5-star review and feedback is wonderful to read. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. It was wonderful to welcome you for 4-nights on your trip to Napa and I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We just spent four days at the Meritage in Napa. We would absolutely never return. The facility looks like an upscale holiday inn despite paying over $300 per room. The pool is much smaller than the pictures indicate. The rooms are so dark we could hardly see and forget about reading in the room. The staff is snarky at best. It might be OK for a meeting but it was a huge disappointment for the Napa part of our vacation.

Room Tip: Yes there is free wifi but we were told the wrong code and had trouble connecting to wifi through to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Marsha R- I am truly very sorry you left our resort with a negative experience. Your feedback is valuable to us and appreciate your thoughts- specially with regards to the staff attitude. Your experience is certainly not indicative of our service standards and I a truly very sorry. Again, thank you for your review.

Warm regards,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

If you have time to hang out at the hotel, this is the resort to do it in. We wish we had more time to participate in the events and enjoy the pool and spa and visit all the restaurants. The pool is beautiful and the hotel is away from the busy part of Napa. It was a wonderful experience. I highly recommend this hotel/resort. They have their own tasting room on the property in a cave with the spa, so you get a bottle of their wine with your stay. The room is beautiful, but you want a room with a lanai so you can enjoy the weather. The food in Sienna was delicious - both breakfast and lunch. They even have a 3-lane bowling alley on the property and a nice bar next to the bowling alley. The magnified mirror attached to the wall was a very nice addition to the room. I loved the shower. The concierge desk is helpful for dinner reservations, etc. but they are there to sell their vacation properties. Once we said "no" the third time, he stopped trying. Everything else was wonderful. This hotel thought of everything. There is an adult only pool and a kid friendly pool, so if you don't want to be bothered by noisy kids, you don't have to be.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony on the adult pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear SoaringDuo- As a Senior Contributor on Trip Advisor. we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. Your review willl certainly be appreciated by other travelers as it highlights many great things about our resort. I am pleased you enjoyed your time and will review your entire review with the team.


Thank you,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Although here on a business trip, found the resort welcoming, clean, friendly and more than expected helpfulness on check in. Room were comfortable, nice showers. Any staff on property were more than helpful with any questions.
Food was outstanding at all functions, which says a lot about their dining experience if you'd be in one of their restaurants

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear llvassoc- Thank you for your 5-star review and wonderful feedback. For our business travelers, we understand the importance of a seamless stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your overall experience.

Thank you for your review,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#12 Family Hotel in Napa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination unto itself The Meritage Resort and Spa has a lot to offer! The resort lies against its own vineyard with walking trails and offers over 300 Tuscan inspired guestrooms and luxury suites. Guests are treated to accommodations featuring oversized terraces, granite counters and plasma TVs. Chefs in the award winning Siena restaurant use local, seasonal and sustainable ingredients. The new Crush Ultra Lounge features six luxury bowling lanes, a full bar, shuffleboard, a pool table and darts in addition to lunch and dinner items. In true Italian fashion, Blend Café offers espressos, café lattes and teas plus fresh pastries, baked goods, savory items and gelatos.Regain a healthful balance with curative treatments at Spa Terra – a lavish underground Napa lavish spa with steam grottos, soaking pools, 12 treatment alcoves and tranquil walls of water. Guests can also enjoy the Trinitas Cellars Tasting Room or host an intimate event in the Estate Cave. The resort has the most comprehensive event and meeting space north of the Golden Gate Bridge and west of Sacramento with 50,000 square feet of meeting space including the two largest ballrooms in the Napa Valley.The resort also features Our Lady of the Grapes, one of the only private wedding chapels in the Napa Valley, bocce ball, outdoor fireplaces with seating areas and a state-of-the-art fitness studio that opens onto a patio with views of private vineyards and olive trees. The Meritage Resort and Spa. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Amex, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meritage Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.