We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Meritage Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Meritage Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in Napa
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The good: location, some 15 minutes by car from Yountville; nice views with property-owned vines; neat pool; several leisure and eating options, with a bar, bowling lounge, café and good Siena restaurant; big, clean and quiet rooms. The bad: although the staff is polite, every request (additional shampoo, for example) takes quite a while to be answered; every single thing is paid, including the cabanas by the pool; the wine tasting cave is always crowded, making it extremely difficult to taste anything; expensive; the room air-conditioning system is automatic but keeps turning on and off periodically, alternating warm and chilly periods during the night...

Room Tip: Rooms can be a bit far from the hotel entrance, on the wings. If distance is an issue, request a clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your Meritage experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you were able to take in many of the amenities offered on site and that your stay was a mostly enjoyable one. That said, we value your feedback in regard to the timeliness of services, and we will certainly explore this further. Our aim is to provide expedient responsiveness to each of our guests' needs, and we apologize if your experience was less than that. We encourage you to reach out the next time you return to the region; we'd love a second opportunity to host you and to showcase our continued evolvement as a result of guest feedback like yours. Many thanks again for your stay and review; we hope to see more of you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    213
    115
    35
    21
See reviews for
79
329
10
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The good- walking among the vines, the Cave, the wind-tasting. The bad- at 6 a.m., if you need to buy coffee, there is NONE to be found at this property. I was told I would have to wait until 7 a.m. A resort this size, that charges this much, doesn't have coffee before 7 a.m.?? Try getting a bellman to get your luggage or you car. There aren't any before 6:30. The owners of this hotel are beyond cheap and their nickel and diming of staff by having security (and not a bellman) take me to my car in a golf cart in the early hours (6 a.m.), is ridiculous. However, not as ridiculous as I looked trying to carry all of my own luggage down the long halls to the elevator. And now for the ugly- I thought my GPS had gotten me lost when it directed to me what looked like an industrial complex. Yup, this "resort" is located in an industrial park. Not the picture of Napa I had envisioned. WIll not be staying here ever again. If you are going for that longed dreamed of Napa vacation- go someplace else! Also- the food sucks. Plain, boring, lack of attention to any detail. Most boring food I have had in quite sometime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we're happy to have had you as our guest, we're sorry that the experience fell short of your expectation in so many ways. We can certainly understand how the points you've addressed here lent to a frustrating stay, and we'd love the opportunity to further discuss this with you. We encourage you to reach out to our management team with your concerns, as our top priority is securing a memorable and unparalleled experience for each of our guests. Your feedback is certainly valued, and we look forward to the opportunity of speaking with you more. Many thanks again for your stay and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay here as part of a trip package so i can't really attest to the value of the stay as I don't know the actual breakdown. I can say there is plenty to do on the property to keep you busy if you don't feel like venturing out or the weather is not great (rarely happens). There is everything from bowling to fire pits, pools to walking vineyard paths, spas and cave wine tasting room and great dining options. The resort is right off the main highway (but secluded) for easy access to vineyard row as i like to call it and downtown napa. The rooms were very comfortable and didn't leave us asking for more. Definitely recommend staying here if you visit the napa area. Very nice stay!

Room Tip: There are rooms that overlook the hill of the vineyard....it was very quiet on the backside of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to lend your feedback to us. It was an immense pleasure to host your Napa visit, and we're happy to hear that our site and services made for a memorable visit. Please be sure to reach out the next time you return to the area; we'd love to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmullet, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Meritage for 2 nights, the 21st and 22nd of September, as part of a fly drive tour around California. We were visiting from Ireland, and all i can say is that someday i hope to get back to stay there again!
The service was wonderful from the start. Our room wasnt ready when we arrived, so we were given vouchers for a free drink each at the bar while we waited, and the keys were given to us fairly quickly when the room was ready. I spoke to the girls at the reception desk, and explained that the Irish Gaelic Football final was on on the Sunday morning and would they know of anywhere we might be able to watch it. We had made our way to the room when they rang about half an hour later - they had not been able to find anywhere showing it, but had searched online, and were about to email me links to websites where we might be able to watch it. Brilliant service.
Our room was beautiful, a corner room, with one window overlooking the pool area, and another overlooking the vineyard at the back. Wonderfully comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, and beautifully decorated. There are two fire pits located near the pool area and at night these are gorgeous. There are also numerous outdoor seating areas dotted all over the place. So relaxing!
We made our way into town on our first night, on the Meritage Party bus! A great service, free shuttle bus into Napa, which we used to get home again. After spending Sunday touring vineyards, we had dinner in Crush Ultra Lounge, which was really good. We also had breakfast in Blend on one of the mornings. It was a bit expensive, but really good.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your Napa experience with us. It's a huge pleasure to be able to share our property and amenities with newcomers, and we're delighted to hear that our outgoing team made for a memorable stay. We will certainly pass the kind words along on your behalf. That said, we're glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the many offerings and services of our Meritage Resort; it sounds like you had a vigorous first visit! We'd love to have you back at your next convenience, and we hope that you'll reach out, should you plan return travels. Thanks again for your stay and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Meritage is probably one of the largest resorts in Napa and therefore hosts a large number of weddings. During the weekend we stayed there were at least 3 weddings so unless you were part of one you did feel like you were in the way a little bit.
One morning we ordered room service and only half the order arrived which was rather annoying, however after a short wait the rest of the breakfast was delivered.
We also dined one of the evenings in the main restaurant. I was a little bit surprised to find out that when we wanted to book a table we were informed that the restaurant was full until 9pm. As we walked into the restaurant at 9pm sharp it was almost entirely empty and staff were already starting to set up for breakfast for the following morning. Our waitress was very friendly though once we finally got her attention and the food was quite good too.
The Spa was very nice located in a cave with great amenities in the changing rooms with large shower rooms and relaxation areas. Compared to massages that I am used to in the Middle East the quality of the therapist was a little bit disappointing and I left the 50 minute massage wanting more.
Next time we will rather book one of the smaller hotels or many B&B's around the region and hopefully have a more personalized experience of Napa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Meritage Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We aim to provide each of our guests with the attentiveness for which we're acclaimed, and we're sorry to hear of the miscommunications that caused frustrations to your stay. We would love the opportunity to discuss any lingering concerns with you, and we encourage you to reach out to our management team at your next available opportunity. It would be a pleasure to have you back as our guest, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan your return to the Napa region. Thanks again for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at the Meritage during a conference. What a beautiful property! The staff was friendly and eager to assist. My room exceeded my expectations - large, comfortable, nice bathroom. I experienced the food on several occasions as a result of the conference I was attending. The food was excellent whether being served in the wine cave or conference center. The entire facility was clean and inviting. The Meritage is easy to access from the main highway into Napa. I will plan to return with my family to enjoy the resort again.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for reaching out and sharing your visit with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the experience, and we look forward to your return. Whether for business or leisure, our spacious property provides something for everyone, with an attention to detail and a hospitality that's hard to beat. We're excited to share all this and much more with you and your family, and we hope to see you again soon. Many thanks again for your stay and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very impressive resort. It was larger than I thought, but the way it is designed makes you feel as if you are staying there alone. The service was perfect, the pool was very relaxing & the spa services were top notch. It is located right near a vineyard that is just a few steps from the pool to do tastings! The location is a little farther from the vineyards we were visiting, so a rental car helps!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your Meritage experience with us. It was a pleasure to have hosted you, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed our spacious property and the attentive services of our team. We hope that you were also able to enjoy a dinner at our Siena Restaurant; it's quite an exquisite experience. Thanks again for your stay and review. We hope to see more of you in your travels ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination unto itself The Meritage Resort and Spa has a lot to offer! The resort lies against its own vineyard with walking trails and offers over 300 Tuscan inspired guestrooms and luxury suites. Guests are treated to accommodations featuring oversized terraces, granite counters and plasma TVs. Chefs in the award winning Siena restaurant use local, seasonal and sustainable ingredients. The new Crush Ultra Lounge features six luxury bowling lanes, a full bar, shuffleboard, a pool table and darts in addition to lunch and dinner items. In true Italian fashion, Blend Café offers espressos, café lattes and teas plus fresh pastries, baked goods, savory items and gelatos.Regain a healthful balance with curative treatments at Spa Terra – a lavish underground Napa lavish spa with steam grottos, soaking pools, 12 treatment alcoves and tranquil walls of water. Guests can also enjoy the Trinitas Cellars Tasting Room or host an intimate event in the Estate Cave. The resort has the most comprehensive event and meeting space north of the Golden Gate Bridge and west of Sacramento with 50,000 square feet of meeting space including the two largest ballrooms in the Napa Valley.The resort also features Our Lady of the Grapes, one of the only private wedding chapels in the Napa Valley, bocce ball, outdoor fireplaces with seating areas and a state-of-the-art fitness studio that opens onto a patio with views of private vineyards and olive trees. The Meritage Resort and Spa. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Amex, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meritage Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.