We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Meritage Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Meritage Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Value Offer
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed for two nights 9/5-9/6. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a much larger room- loved the jet tub. However, the last patron left their foul smelling leftovers in the frig. The bellman and manager were very apologetic, had the cleaning staff come and offered us drink vouchers. So- our initial thoughts weren't good. We didn't use the restaurant or spa/exercise facilities. This is a very nice hotel but agree with another reviewer who stated it seemed like a large condo complex situated in a business park. We had an excellent view of the vineyard. My only issue was that it's a little bit farther away than I wanted to be. Other than that, it was a very good room, pleasant/helpful staff with nice facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Meritage Resort and for taking the time to reach out with your experience. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the services and responsiveness of our dedicated team, and we apologize again for any initial housekeeping oversights. We have and will continue to address this with the team to maintain our more typical attentiveness to detail. We'd love the opportunity to share more of our property, amenities, and pampered luxuries with you, and we hope that you'll reach out the next time you return to the Napa region. Many thanks again for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    316
    148
    52
    42
See reviews for
120
441
14
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The rooms are large, comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped. We didn't partake in the pool or other services. Loved the large sunken tub in the bedroom (with jets and all!). The internet is really fast . Staff is pleasant and professional. South of town - making the trip to wineries and restaurants a bit farther than other properties but not a deal breaker. Reminds me of a large condo complex situated in a business park. Not romantic but very functional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our resort and for reaching out to share your stay with us. It's a pleasure to be able to share our expansive facilities with you, and we're happy to hear that our team and property lent itself to your regional explorations. Whether you're exploring our many on-site amenities or venturing into our regional attractions, we'd love to help you explore each of our area offerings, and we hope to be able to share more of them with you in the near future. We'd love to hear more from you soon, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan more of your Napa travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a grand time. Stayed here for 3 nights. Spa, Winery, Restaurants, and really nice rooms.
Ask for the new wing and for Winery View rooms. Great view.

Highlights:
The bed and sheets were purely luxurious.
View of the winery was very nice and relaxing.
Service was just over the top. They call twice a day to see if you need anything.
Gym was so great that we went every morning. We're not daily gym people otherwise.

Everyone went the extra mile and it truly felt like one of those exclusive spots. Our room overlooked the winery. Gorgeous view. It's about 10-12 minutes drive from downtown Napa.

The one description that comes to mine is: Maniacal about customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for vineyard views. That's a newer wing supposedly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to praise the services of our Meritage Resort and for reaching out with your exceptional review. It's a pleasure to be able to share our world class hospitality with you, and we're so happy to hear that you enjoyed our views, amenities, and attentive services. We'd love the opportunity to host you again and to introduce you to even more of our world class offerings, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan return trips to our region. Many thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cranberry twp pa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days while touring wineries in Napa. The hotel is beautiful, rooms were really comfortable and spacious. Our room was on the first floor with a view of the parking lot (which came in handy to load and unload the car after touring) and vineyards.We used the pool and spa and exercise rooms all well equipped. The resort has a coffee shop for quick cups and a full breakfast (delicious!) was included in our room rate

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Meritage Resort and for taking the time experience and review the many on-site amenities of our property. It's an absolute pleasure to be able to share our scenic views and exemplary services with you, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed the wellness and dining options available to our guests. We'd love to have you back to experience even more of our offerings, and we hope that you'll reach out the next time you visit Napa. Many thanks again for your wonderful words; we hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menston uk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It’s a very modern resort hotel on the edge of very smart office / factory estate.

It a short drive into Napa it’s self. Nice coffee shop in the morning if all you want is a croissant and a coffee. We did not eat there, found a great restaurant in Napa and went back the next night as well so can not comment on the food.

The resort staff were great, arrived very early and getting a room was no problem at all. The room was large with a high ceiling and a great view of the pool and the little vineyard at the front of the hotel. Free wine tasting every afternoon was a nice touch.

In all a very good hotel on our trip

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Meritage Resort and for reaching out to share such kind words with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our expedient services and the views and amenities of your room. We'd love to have you back to experience even more of our offerings, including the world class dining of Siena Restaurant, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan any return trips to the region. Thanks again for your time and stay; we hope to speak more with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was expecting to be wowed. Instead, when we walked into our room (3 in a small room with one king bed) I thought of Motel Six. I was expecting more The Phoenician in Scottsdale. They don't offer a cot...something about fire hazard. Tile in shower was missing, view was top of building next door with air conditioning units. They moved us into a much nicer, larger room with a balcony the next day where one of the lightbulbs was out in the bathroom. But for more than $900 for two nights I was expecting much more. Attention to detail, people. I must add that everyone on staff was very pleasant and we were greeted warmly by every staff member we saw.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share your Meritage experience with us. While it's great to hear of the warm reception delivered by our outgoing team, we're sorry to hear of your frustrations with some of the finer details of your stay. We certainly agree that these are as important as the big picture, and we thank you for bringing some of these to our attention. Guest feedback like yours enables us to improve and grow, and we hope that you'll reach out in the future to experience our continued evolution. Many thanks again for being our guest; we hope to see more of you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was looking forward to a nice stay here given other online reviews; in fact, I'm currently here right now. This is at best a 3 star resort, if that, and the staff is poorly trained. I'll keep it as short as I can. Checked into a room. It was missing some bath amenities. Called front desk and they said I'd receive them shortly. Then I noticed food crumbs were on one of the tables; the room had not been cleaned. I called downstairs again. Most luxury resorts would bend-over backwards apologizing and upgrade me instantly to a better, new room. Instead, the desk said I could arrange for housekeeping to come clean it. I said I already did clean it up. I had them assure me this had been some oversight and the room had indeed been cleaned and it would specially cleaned the next day.

Went to sleep that night. Pulled back the blanket and the bed was filled with large crumbs, bits of bread, and God knows what. (I saved a sample for the management.) I threw the linen on the floor and fell asleep in my clothes, too tired to deal with it. I spoke to the manager in the morning and told him about my very disappointing experience, in addition to the several burnt out lightbulbs in the room. He did not volunteer any comp, upgrade, etc. Jesus Christ, the bed was filled with crumbs! -- this feels like a Motel 6. He said he would speak to the head of housekeeping to find out what went wrong. I don't really care what went wrong. That's his problem not mine. He said the room would be cleaned.

I came back hours later. Nothing had been cleaned, housekeeping hadn't visited. I called the manager again. He said he was surprised. What he should have said is, "I'm unbelievably sorry; we're upgrading you to a suite and comp'ing you two nights." That is what good hotels do, let alone properties that advertise themselves as luxury resorts above the competition. I said this situation was ridiculous and had to ask for another room so I could take a nap. I was then downgraded to a room with a view of other rooms, after I explicitly booked one of their superior rooms with a view.

Yep, the grounds and lobby are pretty. But the service is terrible, the rooms are dated and average size, the WiFi was down for 6 hours this AM, and I'll likely contact the owners to report this experience. Only nice thing is the bathrooms, which are small but remind me vaguely of the Waldorf's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#10 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination unto itself The Meritage Resort and Spa has a lot to offer! The resort lies against its own vineyard with walking trails and offers over 300 Tuscan inspired guestrooms and luxury suites. Guests are treated to accommodations featuring oversized terraces, granite counters and plasma TVs. Chefs in the award winning Siena restaurant use local, seasonal and sustainable ingredients. The new Crush Ultra Lounge features six luxury bowling lanes, a full bar, shuffleboard, a pool table and darts in addition to lunch and dinner items. In true Italian fashion, Blend Café offers espressos, café lattes and teas plus fresh pastries, baked goods, savory items and gelatos.Regain a healthful balance with curative treatments at Spa Terra – a lavish underground Napa lavish spa with steam grottos, soaking pools, 12 treatment alcoves and tranquil walls of water. Guests can also enjoy the Trinitas Cellars Tasting Room or host an intimate event in the Estate Cave. The resort has the most comprehensive event and meeting space north of the Golden Gate Bridge and west of Sacramento with 50,000 square feet of meeting space including the two largest ballrooms in the Napa Valley.The resort also features Our Lady of the Grapes, one of the only private wedding chapels in the Napa Valley, bocce ball, outdoor fireplaces with seating areas and a state-of-the-art fitness studio that opens onto a patio with views of private vineyards and olive trees. The Meritage Resort and Spa. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Splendia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meritage Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.