We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Meritage Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 hotels in Napa
Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Clean nice rooms. Wine tasting okay decently priced. Overall appearance nice. Free bottle wine and two waters. Parking easy. Free shuttle to napa downtown. Farmers market in Thursdays nice. Everything in one.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks for visiting The Meritage Resort and Spa and for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's a pleasure to share our all-encompassing facility with you, and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the many amenities offered to our valued guests. Please reach out the next time you crave the perfect escape; we'd love the opportunity to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    243
    120
    39
    24
See reviews for
91
354
10
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel and grounds are nice, but not at the $350 a night range. Would have been happier paying $100 less per night. Wanted to try a quick massage, but they didn't return my call.

Blend cafe is nice for a coffee shop...staff was very friendly.

Seemed more geared for a couple of conferences that were there during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are small for price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm glad to hear that your overall experience was a pleasant one, and I apologize for the missed opportunity to share the pampering of Spa Terra with you. We'd love a second chance to showcase the wide array of amenities offered within our special oasis, and we hope that you'll reach out to us again the next time you visit the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My first stay at this fine resort and spa. Stayed me night while attending the National IPA Premier Partner Summit.

Room, spacious, well decorated, comfortable bed. Bathroom large (what's with all the tiny bathrooms in most places?) with double sink and larger shower (no tub), nice toiletries, and two comfy robes. Complimentary bottle of wine and two water bottles in mini fridge. Spacious patio overlooking vineyard with two chairs and table. Entry light (along with closet light) can only be turned on by placing your room key in slot by light switch (kinda odd).

Fitness center - well equipped (for hotel). Treadmills facing large glass doors that all slide back to give outdoor feel (during nice weather obviously. Water cups for water cooler too small, no bottled water.

Adult pool. Good size, plenty of seating, lounge chairs, tables etc. several cabanas for daily rental. Poolside service was good. Several lounge chairs were broken (very obvious). When I mentioned it, Engineering came quickly to repair/remove. Next day, same thing (lounge chair broken). To sure why the staff doesn't take care being proactive to repair or remove broken chairs.

Dinner - had dinner in the wine cave (large catered event). Food was good as well as the service. Bar setup for event displayed drink selection. When I asked for one of the beers displayed, iwas told they did not have. Really? Then take down the display bottle.

Checkout - because I was staying for a meeting, I requested a late checkout (normal checkout is 11:00 am - a tad early IMO). Front desk advised me I could have a 3:00 checkout for a additional $30. When I called back a few minutes later, other staff said it was $50. I explained I was just quoted $30, and they honored it. When I returned to my room at 2:00 to pack and check out, my room key had been shut off (apparently they did not code my key for late checkout. I had to call for someone to let me in my room.

Crush Lounge - nice little bar with 6 lane bowling alley and shuffle board table. Had a lot of fun networking with summit attendees.

Location - next to highway in an industrial area.

Facility - very large hotel/spa with multiple buildings. Grounds well kept and very clean. Staff friendly.

Overall a very nice place and highly recommend. Just a few shortcomings that result in "1 less star".

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Many thanks for being a guest of The Meritage Resort and for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us. It's an honor to host first time guests and to introduce them to the quiet luxuries of our special resort. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and our various amenities, and I apologies for any miscommunications regarding your late departure. I'll certainly pass these concerns along to our team to prevent reoccurrence, and we hope that you'll reach out in the future to experience more of tranquil oasis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Napa has been known for many years as the wine country gateway to quaint and fabulous. This obscene monstrosity is anything BUT. Having never been to Napa before I truly had the expectation of a wonderful and beautiful "resort" that would offer a personalized and exceptionally hospitable experience and what we got was anything BUT. It started by arriving to the property where we could not find parking anywhere in a parking lot that was the size of a Walmart store. (there was no valet). The attendant there to assist with bags did not seem busy however despite our lugging the bags over 2 levels of parking he didn't offer to help or even a "welcome". The front desk agent was unfriendly and not helpful with suggestions or offer any assistance. He was clearly there to do a job and being helpful was not one of them. Our room was in the same building as check in thankfully because after hours of driving we certainly had no energy to drag our bags to the number of buildings that this property housed trying to locate the unit. We arrived to the unit to find that this building was still under construction and the hallways had plastic on the floors leading us to our room. The room was clean and new but clearly lacked the attention to details of a "luxury" property, most comparable to a Holiday Inn Express Plus. Our view was of the next building an it's air conditioning unit- quite pleasant. We woke up to the noise of generators and electric sanders working away in the building bright and early. We found the entire staff (front desk, cafe, housekeepers) to be indifferent, unhappy, and unhelpful. This all for the price of 350.00 per night left us with a horrible impression. Given we had just stayed at the Fairmont and Four Seasons during our trip it is to honestly say that this property boasts of something they are clearly not set up to provide. Napa is a beautiful and quaint little city and unless you enjoy the large scale and impersonal type properties with no character or feeling I would suggest ANYWHERE BUT this property. Yes it is clean. Yes it is new. But it is definitely NOT what most people come to Napa to experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of The Meritage and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While customer service is at the forefront of our operations, it is clear that we fell short of the mark during your visit. We'd love to discuss this further with you, and we encourage you to reach out to Sam El-Rabaa, our Director of Operations: selrabaa@themeritageresort.com or 707-251-1913. Many thanks again for your time, and we hope to speak more with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I honestly could not believe how accomadating the staff was!!! I can't think of a negitive thing to say about our stay. Thank you Cinnamen for your beyond great service!!! The rooms were exceptioally clean. Breakfast yummy!! The grounds were beautiful. Wish I had been able to stay much longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Sandie. We couldn't be more happy that you enjoyed your visit, and I will be sure to pass your kind words along to our dedicated team. We hope that you'll reach out the next time you need the tranquility of our escape from it all; we'd love to set you up with another world-class experience! Thanks again for your time and review. We hope to see more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay here on a groupon deal.

Had an exceptional stay, the place is beautiful. We had a patio overlooking the adult pool. Pretty entertaining watching high maintenance people try and out do each other, LOL.

We were taken care of in every way imaginable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us, Jason. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our resort and that its many views lent themselves to a memorable stay. Please reach out the next time you visit the area; we'd love to share more of our sights and spaces with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starlight, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Meritage Resort is a lovely place to stay in Napa! Located just below the signature winemaker statue that symbolizes your arrival to Napa, you are conveniently located to travel either into Napa or onto Sonoma. This resort has great dining options, plenty of areas with outdoor seating & fireplaces to enjoy your wine purchases of the day, great options for any young family members such as bowling lanes & the pool, and a full service SPA & tasting room located in an underground cave - all very unique. The rooms are comfy, spacious, clean, and very well decorated. Would definitely recommend this property to other family & friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share such kind words with us, Dana. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our many, family friendly amenities and the spacious beauty of our world-class facility. We hope that you'll reach out again to experience more of our world-class offerings. Whether with family, friends, or on a relaxing escape all your own, The Meritage Resort and Spa has just what you need for that perfect escape! Thanks again for your time and review; we hope to see more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Family Hotel in Napa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination unto itself The Meritage Resort and Spa has a lot to offer! The resort lies against its own vineyard with walking trails and offers over 300 Tuscan inspired guestrooms and luxury suites. Guests are treated to accommodations featuring oversized terraces, granite counters and plasma TVs. Chefs in the award winning Siena restaurant use local, seasonal and sustainable ingredients. The new Crush Ultra Lounge features six luxury bowling lanes, a full bar, shuffleboard, a pool table and darts in addition to lunch and dinner items. In true Italian fashion, Blend Café offers espressos, café lattes and teas plus fresh pastries, baked goods, savory items and gelatos.Regain a healthful balance with curative treatments at Spa Terra – a lavish underground Napa lavish spa with steam grottos, soaking pools, 12 treatment alcoves and tranquil walls of water. Guests can also enjoy the Trinitas Cellars Tasting Room or host an intimate event in the Estate Cave. The resort has the most comprehensive event and meeting space north of the Golden Gate Bridge and west of Sacramento with 50,000 square feet of meeting space including the two largest ballrooms in the Napa Valley.The resort also features Our Lady of the Grapes, one of the only private wedding chapels in the Napa Valley, bocce ball, outdoor fireplaces with seating areas and a state-of-the-art fitness studio that opens onto a patio with views of private vineyards and olive trees. The Meritage Resort and Spa. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Amex, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meritage Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.