We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations in resort setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Meritage Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Meritage Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in Napa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodations in resort setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Meritage was a great place with nice amenities. The bed was comfortable and the accommodations were very comfortable. The bottle of white wine at check-in was very welcoming along with 2 bottles of water in the refrigerator. We didn't get the room with pool view and patio we had requested at reservation a month before. After we had checked out an upgraded larger room with parking lot views and dirt bank view topped by a vineyard, we got a smaller room with a view of the pool and no parking lot view, but no patio as well.

The wine tasting at the Trinitas was great! The restaurant, Siena, was wonderful with great food and excellent wait staff. Wish we had had time to try the spa services, but alas there was no time. The bowling alley was fun with florescent bowling balls. We went to a few other wineries while we were there and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in providing excellent guest service to everyone. Please join us again soon for a relaxing visit to the spa or some more wine tasting. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    214
    115
    35
    21
See reviews for
79
329
10
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
IL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at this resort for 2 days for a work event. The resort itself is very nice with a large campus including restaurants, spas, wine tasting and more. Rooms were comfortable and the food and wine were good. We hit a few wineries while we there and they seemed to be a good distance from the resort, which was the only downside. I view this as a nice choice for a getaway weekend and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! We apologize if you found our location inconvenient. We have so much to offer right on the property! We look forward to your return, and appreciate your loyalty. We hope to see you again soon whether for business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just checked out of The Meritage - we were there for one night for our anniversary. After many trips to Napa over the years, The Meritage was a very pleasant surprise. It's a gem built into a vineyard with beautiful views, and it has so many amenities. The Sunday brunch was excellent, the grounds were immaculate - every space was beautiful. Our room was simply wonderful with sweeping views of the vineyards. We will go back - and yes we've already been recommending it to our friends and family! The staff was so friendly and it was awesome to be acknowledged for our our anniversary. This was our nicest stay anywhere over the past several years. 5 GOLD stars!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are elated to hear how much you and your spouse enjoyed your stay. We appreciate that you took the time to review us, and even recommend us to your friends. Please join us again for massage at the Spa Terra, or a drink at the Crush Ultra Lounge. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed for a week at the Meritage Resort and Spa in Napa Valley.

A fantastic experience, a very comfortable experience with breath taking views of the vineyard from our suit balcony. Food was great in restaurant. Although service was very slow and lousy. Because I was dining alone with my baby, they tended to forget about me. However the Restaurant Manager was very attentive and saw that I was eventually taken care of.

Hotel is very clean, turn down excellent. Bed was very comfy. Unfortunately I did not have time to use the spa facilities. On a whole, I would definitely stay again if over in Napa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We apologize if you felt treated differently due to dining alone or with your baby. We can assure you that was not our intention! Please join us again soon, so we may have the opportunity to prove that our service is exceptional no matter who you are. We look forward to seeing you and your family again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location is the best in Napa. But it is not much activities around on winter time. The dinner per a person on Chritmas day is $55 inside restrurant and reservation is required. on top of hotel taxes per room rate, $25 resort fee is charged.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! We apologize if any of the fees or pricing were not disclosed ahead of time. We offer a complimentary shuttle in the evenings to take you into town for dinner or activities, so please give this a try next time. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was our third visit to the Meritage and it was quite charming. We had a lovely king patio room overlooking the vineyards. Because it was chilly, we didn't spend any time out there so save your money if you go in the winter and reserve a non patio room.
We only had a couple of snares with housekeeping. One day we returned to our room at 4pm and it had not been made up yet. A phone call to the front desk sent someone up. The last day we returned to find only 1 bath towel and 0 hand towels and no clean glasses. So my only concern would be with housekeeping.
We dined in the restaurant twice, dinner and a breakfast. Both were quite good.
The Spa was my favorite. If I lived in Napa, I would be there on a monthly basis. The service, atmosphere and treatments are fabulous!
The Lobby Bar is a great place to enjoy a cocktail and mingle with the other guests. Fantastic bartender, I believe his name is CJ.

Room Tip: If the weather is cool, book a non patio room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are pleased that you continue to choose us, and appreciate your loyalty. We do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered, and can assure you they are being addressed. It sounds like Spa Terra was your favorite part, and we can agree that it is truly outstanding! Also, know that our team will surely be recognized for leaving a lasting impression on you. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Meritage was lovely and really great for traveling with the family. Our family booked several rooms here over the weekend. The rooms were cozy and unique. The beds were firm but plush. The resort is in a great location just minutes from downtown Napa, and other attractions. They also run a shuttle service from the hotel to downtown Napa, so you won't have to worry about drinking and driving. The resort is spread out amongst several buildings. There is a bowling alley, vineyard, wine tasting cavern, and pool. The hotel restaurant was delicious. We had breakfast there every morning. The service was impeccable. Everyone there really seemed to enjoy their jobs. It was delightful. You are greeted with a free bottle of white wine and a couple bottles of water in your rooms!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear how enchanting your stay with us was, and we hope to continue the trend upon future visits. We appreciate that you took the time to provide your comments and feedback about the resort and surrounding area. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a visit to the Spa Terra! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination unto itself The Meritage Resort and Spa has a lot to offer! The resort lies against its own vineyard with walking trails and offers over 300 Tuscan inspired guestrooms and luxury suites. Guests are treated to accommodations featuring oversized terraces, granite counters and plasma TVs. Chefs in the award winning Siena restaurant use local, seasonal and sustainable ingredients. The new Crush Ultra Lounge features six luxury bowling lanes, a full bar, shuffleboard, a pool table and darts in addition to lunch and dinner items. In true Italian fashion, Blend Café offers espressos, café lattes and teas plus fresh pastries, baked goods, savory items and gelatos.Regain a healthful balance with curative treatments at Spa Terra – a lavish underground Napa lavish spa with steam grottos, soaking pools, 12 treatment alcoves and tranquil walls of water. Guests can also enjoy the Trinitas Cellars Tasting Room or host an intimate event in the Estate Cave. The resort has the most comprehensive event and meeting space north of the Golden Gate Bridge and west of Sacramento with 50,000 square feet of meeting space including the two largest ballrooms in the Napa Valley.The resort also features Our Lady of the Grapes, one of the only private wedding chapels in the Napa Valley, bocce ball, outdoor fireplaces with seating areas and a state-of-the-art fitness studio that opens onto a patio with views of private vineyards and olive trees. The Meritage Resort and Spa. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meritage Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.