We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Meritage Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife had a two day event in the conference center so I tagged along for the overnight stay. Know this hotel is not in the vicinity of downtown Napa, it is situated in an industrial park. The resort does offer frequent shuttle service to the downtown area. Once you get past the office park and drive up to the facility the industrial part seems to melt away. The bell staff was very welcoming, willing to aid with luggage and escorted us to the check in desk.

The rooms are very well appointed, roomy with a trendy meets old Tuscan style. The bathroom was well laid out with a water closet, duel sinks and large shower. Considering the trend is going away from the old traditional bathtub/shower combo, at least put in a teak bench. Reasons for which ladies will agree. Our room faced the vineyard, and if you ask upon checking in, it may be possible to secure a room with a balcony and vineyard view. Another nice touch is in the room a bottle of wine, two wine glasses and a wine opener. Very nice!

Another trend is hotels changing their amenities to be classified as a resort. Really? This hotel is wonderful, beautifully appointed, has a spa, a restaurant, conference center and a coffee house. However, I think it is far from a resort; It is just a way to charge a "resort fee".

One has to go explore the caves, as well as walk through to the vineyard to the statue of the crusher. I will leave that you to explore more on you own. Given the opportunity to splurge on a Napa weekend, I would return through the industrial park to a large gem nestled against the backdrop of a vineyard.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4000 building with a vineyard view. P.S. If you enjoy a great quality wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize if we were unable to meet or exceed all of your expectations. With a bowling alley, restaurant, bar, spa, wine tasting cellar and much more we truly feel we deserve the resort title and would love the opportunity to prove it to you next time. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    265
    127
    42
    30
See reviews for
104
376
12
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Myself and my 2 best friends planned a girl weekend for my thirtieth birthday and we couldn't have had a better time at the Meritage. We flew into San Fran and rented a car. I would recommend this that way you can get around to any or as many wineries as you please. The drive wasn't bad but traffic is pretty bad. I live in New York City and I still found the traffic to be a bit much. The resort is secluded on its own grounds but it is very easy to navigate around to both eat and visit other wineries. The staff is excellent no complaints at all with customer service. Rooms are immaculate. And the grounds are breathtaking. We visited numerous wineries at the suggestion of Justin and another concierge whose name slips my mind. Lots of 2 for 1 coupons at the resort but also from 4square. Ate all our meals downtown and have zero complaints as well regarding food. Def a trip to remember and we will be coming back very soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you truly took advantage of what Napa has to offer! We apologize if the traffic was a disruption, or caused you any inconveniences. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Meritage was fantastic!! The grounds are gorgeous with wonderful views of Napa! My best friend and I checked in and were very pleasantly surprised with the gorgeous room. The complimentary bottle of wine in the room was perfect. The concierge was fantastic and very helpful. To top it off, the bell man, Travis, went out of his way to make our stay wonderful. Everyone was attentive and we felt like the only guests in the whole resort! Great experience all around and we will definitely be coming back to visit next time we are in Napa! Thank you Meritage (and especially you, Travis!)

Room Tip: Make sure to find out what your balcony will look out upon.... We had a view of the parking lot, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We can assure you Travis will be recognized for his efforts in making your stay memorable. We hope that you and your friend will be back to visit us soon. Give our Spa a try next time, or the wine tasting in underground cave! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is absolutely AH-Mazing. Super pretty, rooms are opulent, and my best friend and I got free movie rentals of Twilight! The bell boy, Jay, was above and beyond helpful. He went out of his way to make our stay perfect. He delivered us our movies we wanted and even brought us popcorn on our girls weekend. Just perfect. This guy deserves a raise!!!!

-Angela R.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a balcony with a view! Also, some buildings were built only 6 months ago, so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for an excellent review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that Jay made such a positive impression on you. We can assure you he will be recognized for his efforts! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Meritage is absolutely beautiful, service is excellent, and atmosphere is great for all occasions. The location made it very convenient for accessing wineries, restaurants, and the local attractions. We would definitely stay at this property upon future trips to Napa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. It is our goal to provide quality guest service to each and every guest hear at the Meritage Resort and Spa. We hope that you'll join us again soon, maybe for a massage at the Spa Terra! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The front desk ans concierge staff was warm and courteous. The hospitality staff was friendly and outgoing. We stayed in the Vino Bello section of the resort (which is the condo-style suites). The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Housekeeping and Room Service staff were nice and helpful. There are a good number of amenitites available on property that you do not need to leave the resort. If we were to return to Napa, we would definitell stay there again. My only complaint is the pushiness from the concierge desk to have you attend a time-share selling presentation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and time in Napa. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon. Next time, give our Crush Ultra Lounge or the Siena Restaurant a try for dinner or drinks! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Meritage is out of Napa Town, approximately 5-10 minutes away. The hotel is quiet but full of amenities. There is a full-blown fitness center and an excellent restaurant, for those too tired after a full day of wine tasting and shopping.

My wife and I were greeted with a bottle of white wine and two bottled water in the room when we checked in.

The grounds are huge but there's so much parking that you'll find one rather close to your room.

I love the place and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 4000 series. It's in the "back" but very close to the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return, and hope that you and your wife will join us again soon. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#11 Family Hotel in Napa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination unto itself The Meritage Resort and Spa has a lot to offer! The resort lies against its own vineyard with walking trails and offers over 300 Tuscan inspired guestrooms and luxury suites. Guests are treated to accommodations featuring oversized terraces, granite counters and plasma TVs. Chefs in the award winning Siena restaurant use local, seasonal and sustainable ingredients. The new Crush Ultra Lounge features six luxury bowling lanes, a full bar, shuffleboard, a pool table and darts in addition to lunch and dinner items. In true Italian fashion, Blend Café offers espressos, café lattes and teas plus fresh pastries, baked goods, savory items and gelatos.Regain a healthful balance with curative treatments at Spa Terra – a lavish underground Napa lavish spa with steam grottos, soaking pools, 12 treatment alcoves and tranquil walls of water. Guests can also enjoy the Trinitas Cellars Tasting Room or host an intimate event in the Estate Cave. The resort has the most comprehensive event and meeting space north of the Golden Gate Bridge and west of Sacramento with 50,000 square feet of meeting space including the two largest ballrooms in the Napa Valley.The resort also features Our Lady of the Grapes, one of the only private wedding chapels in the Napa Valley, bocce ball, outdoor fireplaces with seating areas and a state-of-the-art fitness studio that opens onto a patio with views of private vineyards and olive trees. The Meritage Resort and Spa. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meritage Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.