We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rotary convention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Meritage Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Meritage Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Napa
moraga, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Rotary convention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The rooms were lovely and the staff very helpful ,beautiful setting . We had a room price negotiated for our conference however the regular rates seemed very steep for the area of Napa where the hotel is located.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay while in Napa. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    267
    127
    44
    30
See reviews for
104
379
12
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
512 reviews 512 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Meritage is one of the best resorts I've stayed at in Napa. Great location, beautiful grounds, lovely spa and dining options. Stayed here with my family for our annual Thanksgiving in Napa and the Meritage was perfect for it. Our suites were spacious, comfortable and the beds were very comfortable.

One delightful find was the casual bar, Crush, at the resort. Great selection of beers there and an awesome bowling alley! Plenty of outdoor fireplaces with comfortable chairs and sofas to spend time in and enjoy the beautiful Napa weather and scenery.

Staff is very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear that you and your family were comfortable during your stay with us. We truly appreciate your comments and feedback regarding the Crush Ultra Lounge. We hope that you'll join us again upon your next Thanksgiving in Napa adventure. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I just returned from a conference at the Meritage. Our large group seemed pleased with the hotel in general. The staff is very pleasant and the property is very pretty. I've stayed in Napa several times before and will say that it's a little further out than I prefer and I'm not sure I would return for a personal stay. That being said, the Crush bar (with bowling alley) and conference facilities were nice. The conference meal (as is almost always the case) was just average. Attendees gave good reviews to the spa services (the only complaint being the prices). Overall, I would recommend this to any conference planner or large group looking to host an event in the Napa area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the bowling alley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize if we were unable to live up to or exceed your expectations. We hope that you'll give us another try and come for a massage in our Spa Terra or some wine tasting in our Trinitas Wine Cellar. We look forward to the opportunity to prove that the Meritage is truly an outstanding place to stay while in Napa. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

First off I have to say that every single staff person we encountered, from housekeeping to groundskeepers to the desk would all inquire whether we were having a pleasant stay, and whether they could do anything for us. The rooms were beautifully appointed with genuine quality - nice heavy doors, great linens, everything was top notch. The fitness center was a really great gym for once, not a solitary stationery bike in an airless room. The spa was fantastic - Kevin gave the best massage I've ever had. Although the place is big, having recently added a couple hundred rooms, the service and quality gave it a far more boutique feel. The grounds are nothing short of spectacular - with a gorgeous path through the resort's own vineyards. Fire pits and outdoor seating dot the property. They make a huge effort to please the guest, and it works. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you so much for an excellent review! We appreciate your comments especially regarding our team members. They are truly the heart and soul of our operation. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a bite in our Siena Restaurant or a drink at the Crush Ultra Lounge. We look forward to your return to Napa and the Meritage Resort and Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently stayed on Nov 7 and Nov 10. The first night we were on the second floor of Bldg 4. I listened to people walking over my head all night. This is what I would expect from a much cheaper hotel, not one of this price range. We had a group with a total of 3 rooms. All of our group griped about the hot water and shower pressure the next morning. Location is great and a beautiful facility, but not worth the room rate. On the second stay, we were put in the main building. The rooms were much smaller and again we had little hot water. I expected much more than they provided in amentities in the room. Having powder creamer and not liquid is a true sign that they are not paying attention to the details of being a luxury hotel! We will be visiting and making recommendation for Napa as our friend recently purchased a vinyard in the area. The Meritage did make the cut for recommendations. The only positive thing is the location to the Napa Jet Center.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building and ask for a discounted rate. Not worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We hope that you'll join us again so we may make up for the challenges you faced during your previous stay. We look forward to your return, and hope to be able to show you the world-class service we pride ourselves on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I recently went on a trip to Napa for a wedding with my family. We decided to taste at Trinitas on the evening we arrived and we were in for a treat. Not only were Michael and Chloe friendly and knowledgeable but they also provided such an enjoyable experience that it made the trip. We especially loved hearing about their recommendations for their wine including moscato slushies and other interesting facts and pairings. We ended up purchasing multiple bottles not only due to the quality but also due to the experience. I would definitely recommend this tasting and location to anyone that asks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are please to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us at the Trinitas Cellars and the Meritage Resort and Spa. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a stroll through our vineyard! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staying here for a conference. Staff is very attentive and the rooms are nicely appointed. The larger setting is beautiful and conveniently located. Spa services available a bit pricey but to be expected.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a bite in our Siena Restaurant or some bowling at the Crush Ultra Lounge. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#10 Family Hotel in Napa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination unto itself The Meritage Resort and Spa has a lot to offer! The resort lies against its own vineyard with walking trails and offers over 300 Tuscan inspired guestrooms and luxury suites. Guests are treated to accommodations featuring oversized terraces, granite counters and plasma TVs. Chefs in the award winning Siena restaurant use local, seasonal and sustainable ingredients. The new Crush Ultra Lounge features six luxury bowling lanes, a full bar, shuffleboard, a pool table and darts in addition to lunch and dinner items. In true Italian fashion, Blend Café offers espressos, café lattes and teas plus fresh pastries, baked goods, savory items and gelatos.Regain a healthful balance with curative treatments at Spa Terra – a lavish underground Napa lavish spa with steam grottos, soaking pools, 12 treatment alcoves and tranquil walls of water. Guests can also enjoy the Trinitas Cellars Tasting Room or host an intimate event in the Estate Cave. The resort has the most comprehensive event and meeting space north of the Golden Gate Bridge and west of Sacramento with 50,000 square feet of meeting space including the two largest ballrooms in the Napa Valley.The resort also features Our Lady of the Grapes, one of the only private wedding chapels in the Napa Valley, bocce ball, outdoor fireplaces with seating areas and a state-of-the-art fitness studio that opens onto a patio with views of private vineyards and olive trees. The Meritage Resort and Spa. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meritage Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.