We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for conference!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Meritage Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 hotels in Napa
Summerville, SC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Good choice for conference!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I just returned from a conference at the Meritage. Our large group seemed pleased with the hotel in general. The staff is very pleasant and the property is very pretty. I've stayed in Napa several times before and will say that it's a little further out than I prefer and I'm not sure I would return for a personal stay. That being said, the Crush bar (with bowling alley) and conference facilities were nice. The conference meal (as is almost always the case) was just average. Attendees gave good reviews to the spa services (the only complaint being the prices). Overall, I would recommend this to any conference planner or large group looking to host an event in the Napa area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the bowling alley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize if we were unable to live up to or exceed your expectations. We hope that you'll give us another try and come for a massage in our Spa Terra or some wine tasting in our Trinitas Wine Cellar. We look forward to the opportunity to prove that the Meritage is truly an outstanding place to stay while in Napa. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    243
    120
    39
    24
See reviews for
90
354
10
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

First off I have to say that every single staff person we encountered, from housekeeping to groundskeepers to the desk would all inquire whether we were having a pleasant stay, and whether they could do anything for us. The rooms were beautifully appointed with genuine quality - nice heavy doors, great linens, everything was top notch. The fitness center was a really great gym for once, not a solitary stationery bike in an airless room. The spa was fantastic - Kevin gave the best massage I've ever had. Although the place is big, having recently added a couple hundred rooms, the service and quality gave it a far more boutique feel. The grounds are nothing short of spectacular - with a gorgeous path through the resort's own vineyards. Fire pits and outdoor seating dot the property. They make a huge effort to please the guest, and it works. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you so much for an excellent review! We appreciate your comments especially regarding our team members. They are truly the heart and soul of our operation. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a bite in our Siena Restaurant or a drink at the Crush Ultra Lounge. We look forward to your return to Napa and the Meritage Resort and Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently stayed on Nov 7 and Nov 10. The first night we were on the second floor of Bldg 4. I listened to people walking over my head all night. This is what I would expect from a much cheaper hotel, not one of this price range. We had a group with a total of 3 rooms. All of our group griped about the hot water and shower pressure the next morning. Location is great and a beautiful facility, but not worth the room rate. On the second stay, we were put in the main building. The rooms were much smaller and again we had little hot water. I expected much more than they provided in amentities in the room. Having powder creamer and not liquid is a true sign that they are not paying attention to the details of being a luxury hotel! We will be visiting and making recommendation for Napa as our friend recently purchased a vinyard in the area. The Meritage did make the cut for recommendations. The only positive thing is the location to the Napa Jet Center.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building and ask for a discounted rate. Not worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We hope that you'll join us again so we may make up for the challenges you faced during your previous stay. We look forward to your return, and hope to be able to show you the world-class service we pride ourselves on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I recently went on a trip to Napa for a wedding with my family. We decided to taste at Trinitas on the evening we arrived and we were in for a treat. Not only were Michael and Chloe friendly and knowledgeable but they also provided such an enjoyable experience that it made the trip. We especially loved hearing about their recommendations for their wine including moscato slushies and other interesting facts and pairings. We ended up purchasing multiple bottles not only due to the quality but also due to the experience. I would definitely recommend this tasting and location to anyone that asks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are please to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us at the Trinitas Cellars and the Meritage Resort and Spa. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a stroll through our vineyard! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staying here for a conference. Staff is very attentive and the rooms are nicely appointed. The larger setting is beautiful and conveniently located. Spa services available a bit pricey but to be expected.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a bite in our Siena Restaurant or some bowling at the Crush Ultra Lounge. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

When asked "if there were anything you would have liked to see done differently or better, what would it be", one can usually come up with at least something. Not in the case of the Meritage Resort! This hotel, its people, its setting, its level of service and the overall experience are absolutely second to none. I/we have had the privelege of traveling to quite a few very nice hotels and resorts all over the continent, and the Meritage has taken the top spot of them all! The manager (Evan) is as professional, caring and dedicated to providing an excellent customer experience as one can be provided. The concierge manager (Andre) went above and beyond for us in several ways which resulted in some just incredible experiences for us. The bellmen that helped us many times during our visit (Dillon, Jay and Manny) were all attentive, caring, professional and very helpful each time we asked them for assistance, and a young man named Zachary was remarkably polite and responsive when we caught him totally off guard with an early morning simple question (which really didn't even have anything to do with the area he worked in! ). Its quite obvious that all of the people within the Meritage are very well trained, and they hold themselves to a very high standard of customer service and care. Its as obvious that the leaderhip and management of the hotel are among the industry's best, clearly guiding and directing the efforts of all the Meritage people towards making customers of the hotel feel like they're whats most important to them. We didn't stay in any other Napa hotels so we can't compare the Meritage to anything else there, but we can tell you that there is no reason to even try any other high end hotel in the area. The Meritage is by far the best there is, in every way, and we recommend the hotel, the people of the hotel, the services and the experience of the hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the spa and vineyard, and we loved it every morning and every evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are so pleased to hear how much you loved the Meritage Resort and Spa! It sounds like you truly appreciate good hospitality and are able to recognize it. For that we truly thank you from the bottom of our hearts. Our team members will surely be recognized for their efforts in making your stay memorable. We hope that you'll continue to choose us upon future visits to the Napa area. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The team in the wine cellar Trinitas inside the Meritage spa in napa California is awesome! Great wine! Great service and great people! Chloe and Michael are down to earth very nice people. They make us feel welcomed and part of the Trinitas family! We have come back many times and joined the wine club because of them! We will continue to come back with all of our friends!

Great job!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Trinitas Vineyard. We look forward to your return, and hope to continue providing you excellent service. We hope to see you again soon in our Siena Restaurant or the Crush Ultra Lounge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#9 Family Hotel in Napa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination unto itself The Meritage Resort and Spa has a lot to offer! The resort lies against its own vineyard with walking trails and offers over 300 Tuscan inspired guestrooms and luxury suites. Guests are treated to accommodations featuring oversized terraces, granite counters and plasma TVs. Chefs in the award winning Siena restaurant use local, seasonal and sustainable ingredients. The new Crush Ultra Lounge features six luxury bowling lanes, a full bar, shuffleboard, a pool table and darts in addition to lunch and dinner items. In true Italian fashion, Blend Café offers espressos, café lattes and teas plus fresh pastries, baked goods, savory items and gelatos.Regain a healthful balance with curative treatments at Spa Terra – a lavish underground Napa lavish spa with steam grottos, soaking pools, 12 treatment alcoves and tranquil walls of water. Guests can also enjoy the Trinitas Cellars Tasting Room or host an intimate event in the Estate Cave. The resort has the most comprehensive event and meeting space north of the Golden Gate Bridge and west of Sacramento with 50,000 square feet of meeting space including the two largest ballrooms in the Napa Valley.The resort also features Our Lady of the Grapes, one of the only private wedding chapels in the Napa Valley, bocce ball, outdoor fireplaces with seating areas and a state-of-the-art fitness studio that opens onto a patio with views of private vineyards and olive trees. The Meritage Resort and Spa. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Amex, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meritage Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.