We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great food!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Meritage Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Meritage Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in Napa
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Friendly staff, great food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The food at the Sienna was excellent. Just not there long enough to try all the menu items. I was especially impressed by my Hostess, Alexandra. She was extremely pleasant, very gracious and, after the first night, she remembered me by name as soon as I walked up to the restaurant hostess stand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for a great review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that Alexandra left a lasting impression on you. She will surely be recognized for her efforts! We hope that you'll join us again soon for another meal in the Sienna restaurant, or some bowling at the Crush Ultra Lounge. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    214
    115
    35
    21
See reviews for
79
329
10
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything about this place is amazing. Stayed in the newer part (only a few months old). Got room service delivered by Manny - he is the BEST!
Stay here and you will not be disappointed. Great spa and swimming pool(s)!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that Manny made a lasting impression on you. He will surely be recognized for his efforts! We hope that you'll join us again soon for a massage at the Spa Terra or some wine tasting. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We hosted a seminar at the resort and everything went perfectly due to a professional hotel staff that attended to every detail. They were friendly and responsive to every request. The upgrade to the pool area was a great addition to the Tuscan resort ambiance. The spa (in the cave) is peaceful and elegant - the perfect place to relax and recharge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and time during your conference. We hope that you'll join us again soon whether it be business or pleasure and check out our wine tasting! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Wells, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We decided to celebrate out 45th wedding anniversary in Napa Valley given it is perhaps our most favorite fall vacation spot. The hotel is a relatively new facility located in the Corporate Center of the city of Napa so, be prepared to travel up to 40 miles each way each day to get to some of the great wineries at the north end of the valley. Our room was located in the new building and to be honest, there was no view. Had we chosen to "upgrade" our room, we would have been facing south and had a nice view of their own vineyard.
On the plus side, the hotel offered 3 dining choices, fitness facility, a wine tasting facility and wonderful spa. We sampled all that they had to offer and especially enjoyed the spa and wine tasting facility which is in a cave like facility located under their vineyard. Only the fitness facility lacked in equipment but anyone could find a way to exercise with the equipment they provided.
Our disappointment centered on our room itself. Mostly little things like the shower door was located away from the water value so, you had to step inside to turn it on and got hit with cold water until you could set the temperature correctly. There is no bench seat for the ladies, poor lighting, the makeup mirror was mounted too high on the wall, we only got one bathrobe, one suitcase stand, no slippers, no wine bottle opener and no view.
We have stayed in several very nice bed and baths during our many visits to Napa and have always enjoyed them. This time we chose the hotel option and would rate it only a fair value for the amount they charged. Since there are not many great hotel options, only time will tell if hotel management will get the message and fit the little things and amenities that would make it a great vacation experience worth the price they charge.

Room Tip: If you are determined to stay here, and pay their rates, you may as well pay for the south facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We understand your frustrations regarding our location and the bathroom set up. We hope that you'll consider us again so we may so you the world-class service we pride ourselves on! We look forward to the opportunity to far exceed your expectations of what a Napa hotel should be like. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rooms are really nice, good baths with double vanities and separate toilet room. Could here people above us. Service was not crisp. Slow service in the bar.
Didn't like the location, too far south in valley.
Spa however was outstanding and setting is spectacular. Pool and grounds were lovely

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize if we were unable to exceed your expectations. We wish to provide world-class service to all of our guests and hope that we can convey that upon a return visit. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you in our Crush Ultra Lounge or our Saha Restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This elegant hotel is at the very entrance to the Napa Valley, in an area between two freeways. A vineyard planted up the hill provides a walking path and some ambiance, but I never felt as if I were truly in the Napa Valley. Nice rooms with balconies, outdoor seating areas around fireplaces, and a pretty pool were excellent amenities for those who wish to spend a lot of time at the hotel. The catering service was the best I've EVER experienced at a conference: superb food. And a very expensive bar. Our room was not cleaned until 3:30, however, even after a 2:00 call to the desk, which dampened my enthusiasm somewhat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us! We apologize if we were unable to meet or exceed some of your expectations. We hope the inconveniences you experienced were remedied easily, and want to assure you that they are not typical for our resort. We look forward to your return, and maybe some wine tasting at our Trinitas Cellars. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Upon our arrival at around 3:15pm, we checked in but they would not allow us to our room yet. Their policy does state 4:00pm check in. We sat outside on the deck and went back at 4:00. They turned us away again. After 4 attempts, at around 4:30, we were upset. They gave us keys to a room which was a double. I had the print out of my reservation which was a king room, took it back to them and they still did not have our room. We had early dinner reservations, so we had to leave our luggage in the double room where they promised to have it moved to our correct room by the time we returned. Of course, when we returned - still not done. This set the tone for the remainder of our stay. The manager did attempt to correct the mistake with a small discount and a bottle if champagne. The problem was more the attitude of the staff at the front desk however. I would have rather had good service, the correct room and a relaxing trip with my husband than the discount and frustration.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations, and for any inconvenience we cause you during your stay. We want to assure you that the service you received is not indicative of the type of service we want to provide every guest. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a relaxing massage at Spa Terra or some bowling at the Crush Ultra Lounge. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination unto itself The Meritage Resort and Spa has a lot to offer! The resort lies against its own vineyard with walking trails and offers over 300 Tuscan inspired guestrooms and luxury suites. Guests are treated to accommodations featuring oversized terraces, granite counters and plasma TVs. Chefs in the award winning Siena restaurant use local, seasonal and sustainable ingredients. The new Crush Ultra Lounge features six luxury bowling lanes, a full bar, shuffleboard, a pool table and darts in addition to lunch and dinner items. In true Italian fashion, Blend Café offers espressos, café lattes and teas plus fresh pastries, baked goods, savory items and gelatos.Regain a healthful balance with curative treatments at Spa Terra – a lavish underground Napa lavish spa with steam grottos, soaking pools, 12 treatment alcoves and tranquil walls of water. Guests can also enjoy the Trinitas Cellars Tasting Room or host an intimate event in the Estate Cave. The resort has the most comprehensive event and meeting space north of the Golden Gate Bridge and west of Sacramento with 50,000 square feet of meeting space including the two largest ballrooms in the Napa Valley.The resort also features Our Lady of the Grapes, one of the only private wedding chapels in the Napa Valley, bocce ball, outdoor fireplaces with seating areas and a state-of-the-art fitness studio that opens onto a patio with views of private vineyards and olive trees. The Meritage Resort and Spa. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meritage Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.