We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Meritage Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Meritage Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Value Offer
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rooms are really nice, good baths with double vanities and separate toilet room. Could here people above us. Service was not crisp. Slow service in the bar.
Didn't like the location, too far south in valley.
Spa however was outstanding and setting is spectacular. Pool and grounds were lovely

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize if we were unable to exceed your expectations. We wish to provide world-class service to all of our guests and hope that we can convey that upon a return visit. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you in our Crush Ultra Lounge or our Saha Restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    323
    152
    52
    43
See reviews for
124
445
14
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This elegant hotel is at the very entrance to the Napa Valley, in an area between two freeways. A vineyard planted up the hill provides a walking path and some ambiance, but I never felt as if I were truly in the Napa Valley. Nice rooms with balconies, outdoor seating areas around fireplaces, and a pretty pool were excellent amenities for those who wish to spend a lot of time at the hotel. The catering service was the best I've EVER experienced at a conference: superb food. And a very expensive bar. Our room was not cleaned until 3:30, however, even after a 2:00 call to the desk, which dampened my enthusiasm somewhat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us! We apologize if we were unable to meet or exceed some of your expectations. We hope the inconveniences you experienced were remedied easily, and want to assure you that they are not typical for our resort. We look forward to your return, and maybe some wine tasting at our Trinitas Cellars. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Upon our arrival at around 3:15pm, we checked in but they would not allow us to our room yet. Their policy does state 4:00pm check in. We sat outside on the deck and went back at 4:00. They turned us away again. After 4 attempts, at around 4:30, we were upset. They gave us keys to a room which was a double. I had the print out of my reservation which was a king room, took it back to them and they still did not have our room. We had early dinner reservations, so we had to leave our luggage in the double room where they promised to have it moved to our correct room by the time we returned. Of course, when we returned - still not done. This set the tone for the remainder of our stay. The manager did attempt to correct the mistake with a small discount and a bottle if champagne. The problem was more the attitude of the staff at the front desk however. I would have rather had good service, the correct room and a relaxing trip with my husband than the discount and frustration.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations, and for any inconvenience we cause you during your stay. We want to assure you that the service you received is not indicative of the type of service we want to provide every guest. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a relaxing massage at Spa Terra or some bowling at the Crush Ultra Lounge. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We set out for a couples weekend with us and another couple. Checking in was a flash and staff was very informative. Our rooms were brand new and updated. The concierge booked a car for our party of 4 to a restaurant called Brix north of Napa. (also wonderful) Later that night after dinner we wanted to continue hanging out and drinking so The Meritage has a bar with a BOWLING ALLEY! We had a blast bowling and playing other games till almost midnight what a day! We booked spa reservations prior to dinner so woke up at 8 to two 90 minute massages and a relaxing morning in the spa cave. Overall this place was a perfect retreat with so much to offer and we will be definitely returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and your time in Napa. Crush Ultra Lounge is definitely a fun place to get drinks and do a little bowling. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a relaxing massage in the Spa Terra or some wine tasting! We look forward to your return to the Meritage Resort & Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The facilities and rooms are great! The spa experience is the best I have ever had. Shuttle service to Napa downtown restaurants is convenient. The location is great for a wine tour of Napa and Sonoma. Highly recommend this resort as the staff makes you feel special.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we anxiously await your return. Join us in Spa Terra for a relaxing massage next time. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We read the reviews and were concerned that it would not have the cozy, unique, bed and breakfast feel a lot of people look for in the Napa Valley experience. We took the plunge and discovered it wasw a grat place to call home base especially since we love the winses from the Stags Leap District. The room was clean and comfortable and the concierge would bring us back. ANything and everything we needed he set up perfectly. He made us feel like he wanted to help us with everything we requested.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Meritage Resort and Spa, and Napa Valley. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a bite in our Siena Restaurant. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The resort is beautiful, but you quickly become a captive audience. Upon checking in, you are given a card to take to the concierge for your “welcome package”. After a brief intro to Napa wineries, restaurants and given a couple of wine tasting coupons, the sales pitch to attend a time share presentation starts. We did not want to be just rude and walk away, so we listened for a few minutes. It went on and on and we had an appointment elsewhere so we agreed to attend with the coaxing of $100 in vouchers to be used at the hotel or at select restaurants. It turns out the restaurants listed on the vouchers were fully booked for days and the only restaurant selection was at the hotel. The actual presentation was 90+ minutes for a ridiculous daily time share scheme. We could not wait to get out of there. The fact that a high dollar resort has to stoop to such tactics, forces me to give this place a negative rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if you were made to feel uncomfortable at any time during your stay. We hope to be able to make this up to you upon a return visit. We can assure you that we will address this with our team, and truly thank you for your comments. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#10 Business Hotel in Napa
#13 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination unto itself The Meritage Resort and Spa has a lot to offer! The resort lies against its own vineyard with walking trails and offers over 300 Tuscan inspired guestrooms and luxury suites. Guests are treated to accommodations featuring oversized terraces, granite counters and plasma TVs. Chefs in the award winning Siena restaurant use local, seasonal and sustainable ingredients. The new Crush Ultra Lounge features six luxury bowling lanes, a full bar, shuffleboard, a pool table and darts in addition to lunch and dinner items. In true Italian fashion, Blend Café offers espressos, café lattes and teas plus fresh pastries, baked goods, savory items and gelatos.Regain a healthful balance with curative treatments at Spa Terra – a lavish underground Napa lavish spa with steam grottos, soaking pools, 12 treatment alcoves and tranquil walls of water. Guests can also enjoy the Trinitas Cellars Tasting Room or host an intimate event in the Estate Cave. The resort has the most comprehensive event and meeting space north of the Golden Gate Bridge and west of Sacramento with 50,000 square feet of meeting space including the two largest ballrooms in the Napa Valley.The resort also features Our Lady of the Grapes, one of the only private wedding chapels in the Napa Valley, bocce ball, outdoor fireplaces with seating areas and a state-of-the-art fitness studio that opens onto a patio with views of private vineyards and olive trees. The Meritage Resort and Spa. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meritage Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.