We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Meritage Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in Napa
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We had a company offsite at the end of October and Meritage was a great location. The food and guest rooms are wonderful! The only drawback is the sketchy internet service. But as I mentioned, this was a work event. If you ever need to plan a event at Meritage, hopefully you will get to work with Rosanna Hotchkiss. She is awesome!

Room Tip: The Patio Rooms are great. They offer a nice sized balcony with a view of the pool area and vineyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize about the inconvenience of the internet, and hope that we may make it up to you the next time you stay with us. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    241
    117
    39
    24
See reviews for
89
351
10
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The facility IS what appears to be in an industrial park area, but the grounds are lovely with plenty of FREE parking!
The lobby is luxuriously inviting.
The staff at check-in were friendly and efficient.
Our room was quite away from the elevator, but upon entering the room we loved it.
Our view from the window was off the pool area and vineyard. The room had everything you need; fridge, which had complimentary water, a coffee pot, cups, coffee, wine glasses, opener, and a complimentary bottle of wine. There were thick terry robes, plenty of towels.
There were double sinks and the toilet was in its own room w a door.
The shower was large w great water pressure. However, the shower-head must have been 7 ft high & when you are 4'11", is problematic trying to reach, but if you are tall you will LOVE it. The robe hook was just as high and the sinks felt higher than the norm....which is just an observation. They include a hairdryer and even cotton balls and swabs.
We ate breakfast at the Sienna one monring. The prices were moderate and the wait staff were great. One morning we wanted the newspaper and in minutes the paper was at our door. We visited the bar a couple of times and each time the staff were friendly and attentive, however prices a little high. 1-bottle of Lagunitas IPA, and a cup of tea was $13.
They have a beautiful pool area, a cave w Spa facilities, & wine tasting room.
Because they are a bit of a drive from downtown Napa, they have a FREE shuttle starting @ 5pm and leaves every 1/2 hour until 10.
The only thing we did not like was the concierge. We approached them to help with a place for dinner on our second night. All they focused on was they had been "trying to reach us" "they have this promotion" "when are we leaving".....well the shuttle arrived and we had to leave....without any names of places for dinner. After we checked out and were walking out the concierge again jumped to the "oh just checking in"? "we have these promotions". We said nope we just checked out. I really liked this facility and WOULD recommend it. I would love to go back in the summer to take advantage of the pool area.

Room Tip: I heard one side is adjacent to the new contruction, so may want to ask to not be on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We appreciate the time you took to review us, and provide us your feedback. We apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused you in regards to things being out of reach. I hope you enjoyed the shuttle service, and local Napa area as well. We hope that you'll join us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I recently spent two nights at The Meritage Resort in Napa. I'm a local writer, and have had the opportunity to experience some of the finest resorts in Napa Valley over the years. The Meritage was above and beyond my expectations.

My family came in from out of town for a wedding. My father, who recently had a stroke and is diabetic, made the trip. The staff went out of their way to accommodate him. Both mornings I ordered room service for him, and was told there was an hour's wait. When I explained his medical situation, his food arrived within minutes. Amazing!

My husband and I arrived at the hotel early on a Friday morning to visit with family, and planned to check in at 4:00. The front office staff found a room that was ready and we were able to check in before noon. And we were in a room just down the hall from my father's!

Staff members on every level seem to genuinely enjoy working at the resort. It was refreshing to walk through the beautifully appointed resort and receive gracious smiles from everyone. Free coffee service in the morning was delightful!

I didn't have time to take advantage of the spa in the caves, but being local, I plan to secure a massage appointment soon.

Everything about the resort was five-star. I hope someone else gets married or visits soon so I have the opportunity to stay there again. A true vacation.

Room Tip: Some rooms have vineyard views, some overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review! We truly appreciate the time you took to review us, and being an expert you opinion is highly valued. I am glad we were able to assist you and your father with breakfast and any special needs he may have had during his stay. Please join us again soon, so you may experience our tasting room or the spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

when you check in, the front desk gives you a card to pick up your "packet" at the conceirge. sounds nice, eh? nope, just a scam to try to sell you a time share. We quickly refused and the conceirge was ticked. Really silly - made us feel unwelcome. So beware! Don't fall for that trick.
it is in an office park and if you like to run, drive somewhere b/c running is almost impossible with no sidewalks.
pool is great and so is hot tub. work out facility pretty nice too.
breakfast - try the eggs meritage or granola and yogurt. maria, the server is best. get coffee first at elevators - then you don't have to pay for it at breakfast.
best thing we did - got a limo driver for the day - Woody from Beau Tours. Awesome awesome fun. took us to Pinot Noir area of Sonoma County - Gary Ferrel was incredible - views and server, and for lunch, don't miss Aioli west of Santa Rosa. Deviled eggs and burger were the best we had during our stay.
Avoid the wine train - chees-E!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize for the annoyance regarding the time shares. Because we share our property with the Vino Bello Resort we like to inform our guests of all the options available to them while staying with us. Our vineyard has a lovely hiking trail that you could certainly run along, and what a beautiful site on the way! We are pleased you had a wonderful time on your wine tour, and hope that the next time you are in Napa you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

It's a great hotel for those visiting the wine country, it truly feels like you are in wine country resort. The hotel is beautifully decorated with many amenities. Pool area is relaxing and rooms are spacious. I love the vineyard in the back. We took the self guided tour around the vineyard one morning. Service was amazing, especially Joe at the front desk. We had a problem with the check-in date but he fixed the problem for us. He was really courteous and offered us water while we were waiting. He went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. They also offer a free shuttle service to downtown Napa. It was a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review! Experiences like yours are what truly makes our jobs worth it. Joe & the rest of the team who helped you will be recognized for their outstanding efforts. We hope you'll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The internet connection in the room did not work and the staff told me they could fix it. They said work in the lobby and that was barely above poor. I lost a lot of time to work in the room with no connection. They staff did send someone to the room, but they did not address the problem. I had the same problem last ime I stayed in April, they told me they were working on it and it would be fixed. That did not happen, actions speak louder than words!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us! We sincerely apologize for the internet not working as you mentioned. We are looking into this matter, and intend on finding a permanent solution. I can assure you we will not ignore this issue. We hope you'll join us again, and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hotel is average at best. My first morning there I awoke to someone power washing right outside out bedroom window at 8:30 am!! it lasted for several hours and after calling the front desk to complain they still kept going. Our room must have been connected to a smoker's room because it stunk of cigarettes. Construction was going on next door too. The location is really not idea either. It's 20 min for Napa valley and all the good restaurants...It's sort of off of the highway. Feel bad giving anyone a bad review but this place really earned it. If we had to do it over again we would definitely NOT stay at the Meritage Resort!

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor near the pool..no privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageResort1, General Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Meritage Resort and Spa. I am disappointed to hear that your stay was average at best and would like to speak with you regarding your experience. It's obvious our best judgment wasn't used when up keeping our amenities, and 8:30AM is definitely too early to be power washing. On top of that, the response from our front desk disappoints me as taking ownership is one of our service standards. We are a 100% non-smoking property and no guest is ever allowed to smoke in a guest room. I will find out why that room got released, and make sure it doesn't happen again. Please give me a call when you get the opportunity so I can do my best to rectify the situation.

Michael M. Palmer, CHA
General Manager
(707)251-1901
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Family Hotel in Napa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination unto itself The Meritage Resort and Spa has a lot to offer! The resort lies against its own vineyard with walking trails and offers over 300 Tuscan inspired guestrooms and luxury suites. Guests are treated to accommodations featuring oversized terraces, granite counters and plasma TVs. Chefs in the award winning Siena restaurant use local, seasonal and sustainable ingredients. The new Crush Ultra Lounge features six luxury bowling lanes, a full bar, shuffleboard, a pool table and darts in addition to lunch and dinner items. In true Italian fashion, Blend Café offers espressos, café lattes and teas plus fresh pastries, baked goods, savory items and gelatos.Regain a healthful balance with curative treatments at Spa Terra – a lavish underground Napa lavish spa with steam grottos, soaking pools, 12 treatment alcoves and tranquil walls of water. Guests can also enjoy the Trinitas Cellars Tasting Room or host an intimate event in the Estate Cave. The resort has the most comprehensive event and meeting space north of the Golden Gate Bridge and west of Sacramento with 50,000 square feet of meeting space including the two largest ballrooms in the Napa Valley.The resort also features Our Lady of the Grapes, one of the only private wedding chapels in the Napa Valley, bocce ball, outdoor fireplaces with seating areas and a state-of-the-art fitness studio that opens onto a patio with views of private vineyards and olive trees. The Meritage Resort and Spa. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meritage Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.