We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Meritage Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Meritage Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I recently spent two nights at The Meritage Resort in Napa. I'm a local writer, and have had the opportunity to experience some of the finest resorts in Napa Valley over the years. The Meritage was above and beyond my expectations.

My family came in from out of town for a wedding. My father, who recently had a stroke and is diabetic, made the trip. The staff went out of their way to accommodate him. Both mornings I ordered room service for him, and was told there was an hour's wait. When I explained his medical situation, his food arrived within minutes. Amazing!

My husband and I arrived at the hotel early on a Friday morning to visit with family, and planned to check in at 4:00. The front office staff found a room that was ready and we were able to check in before noon. And we were in a room just down the hall from my father's!

Staff members on every level seem to genuinely enjoy working at the resort. It was refreshing to walk through the beautifully appointed resort and receive gracious smiles from everyone. Free coffee service in the morning was delightful!

I didn't have time to take advantage of the spa in the caves, but being local, I plan to secure a massage appointment soon.

Everything about the resort was five-star. I hope someone else gets married or visits soon so I have the opportunity to stay there again. A true vacation.

Room Tip: Some rooms have vineyard views, some overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review! We truly appreciate the time you took to review us, and being an expert you opinion is highly valued. I am glad we were able to assist you and your father with breakfast and any special needs he may have had during his stay. Please join us again soon, so you may experience our tasting room or the spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    344
    166
    57
    44
See reviews for
138
477
14
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

when you check in, the front desk gives you a card to pick up your "packet" at the conceirge. sounds nice, eh? nope, just a scam to try to sell you a time share. We quickly refused and the conceirge was ticked. Really silly - made us feel unwelcome. So beware! Don't fall for that trick.
it is in an office park and if you like to run, drive somewhere b/c running is almost impossible with no sidewalks.
pool is great and so is hot tub. work out facility pretty nice too.
breakfast - try the eggs meritage or granola and yogurt. maria, the server is best. get coffee first at elevators - then you don't have to pay for it at breakfast.
best thing we did - got a limo driver for the day - Woody from Beau Tours. Awesome awesome fun. took us to Pinot Noir area of Sonoma County - Gary Ferrel was incredible - views and server, and for lunch, don't miss Aioli west of Santa Rosa. Deviled eggs and burger were the best we had during our stay.
Avoid the wine train - chees-E!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize for the annoyance regarding the time shares. Because we share our property with the Vino Bello Resort we like to inform our guests of all the options available to them while staying with us. Our vineyard has a lovely hiking trail that you could certainly run along, and what a beautiful site on the way! We are pleased you had a wonderful time on your wine tour, and hope that the next time you are in Napa you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

It's a great hotel for those visiting the wine country, it truly feels like you are in wine country resort. The hotel is beautifully decorated with many amenities. Pool area is relaxing and rooms are spacious. I love the vineyard in the back. We took the self guided tour around the vineyard one morning. Service was amazing, especially Joe at the front desk. We had a problem with the check-in date but he fixed the problem for us. He was really courteous and offered us water while we were waiting. He went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. They also offer a free shuttle service to downtown Napa. It was a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review! Experiences like yours are what truly makes our jobs worth it. Joe & the rest of the team who helped you will be recognized for their outstanding efforts. We hope you'll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The internet connection in the room did not work and the staff told me they could fix it. They said work in the lobby and that was barely above poor. I lost a lot of time to work in the room with no connection. They staff did send someone to the room, but they did not address the problem. I had the same problem last ime I stayed in April, they told me they were working on it and it would be fixed. That did not happen, actions speak louder than words!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us! We sincerely apologize for the internet not working as you mentioned. We are looking into this matter, and intend on finding a permanent solution. I can assure you we will not ignore this issue. We hope you'll join us again, and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hotel is average at best. My first morning there I awoke to someone power washing right outside out bedroom window at 8:30 am!! it lasted for several hours and after calling the front desk to complain they still kept going. Our room must have been connected to a smoker's room because it stunk of cigarettes. Construction was going on next door too. The location is really not idea either. It's 20 min for Napa valley and all the good restaurants...It's sort of off of the highway. Feel bad giving anyone a bad review but this place really earned it. If we had to do it over again we would definitely NOT stay at the Meritage Resort!

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor near the pool..no privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageResort1, General Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Meritage Resort and Spa. I am disappointed to hear that your stay was average at best and would like to speak with you regarding your experience. It's obvious our best judgment wasn't used when up keeping our amenities, and 8:30AM is definitely too early to be power washing. On top of that, the response from our front desk disappoints me as taking ownership is one of our service standards. We are a 100% non-smoking property and no guest is ever allowed to smoke in a guest room. I will find out why that room got released, and make sure it doesn't happen again. Please give me a call when you get the opportunity so I can do my best to rectify the situation.

Michael M. Palmer, CHA
General Manager
(707)251-1901
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weatherford, ok
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was our first trip to Napa. Just my husband and I. We stayed 4 nights. We ate in the restaraunt for breakfast and had two dinners. The food was good. The rooms are clean and nice. There is only wifi in the lobby but there is internet in the room and cables to connect in the desk. The pool area and hot tub were nice. Cute little lime trees around the pool. Didn't use the spa but did pop in to check out the wine cave. The guys there are nice and if you buy a bottle or bring the free bottle from your room to the restraunt there is no corkage fee. The staff is very friendly and service oriented. Room was ready on arrival. Concierge was very helpful with directions and booking us a reservation at the Chop House restaraunt. That place is FABULOUS!! Had drinks in the lobby bar while waiting for the shuttle to take us downtown. Great service. The shuttle runs from 5-10pm every night and it is free. It is a few minutes from downtown but a very convenient location if you are driving to visit wineries. It is a resort hotel, it is not a cute bed and breakfast. So if you are after cute and nostalgic this place located near a business park may be a disappointment
We had a wonderful stay here and can't say enough about the great staff here. Oh, little tip: There is free coffee in the lobby area and $7.00 coffee in the restaraunt It is the same great coffee. .

Room Tip: The coffee in the restaraunt is $7.00 but down the hall in the lobby the same great coffee is free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We really appreciate you honesty in providing your feedback. It sounds like you got to truly experience the Napa we know and love, and we cannot wait for you to return to experience it again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Meritage Resort is perfect for those looking for a true resort versus a B&B or economy hotel in Napa. The resort is pristine, the rooms are comfortable, and the bed and pillows were like sleeping on a cloud! Our room overlooked the vineyard, the pool area was so relaxing and we had two meals - breakfast and lunch, both were delicious. We plan to visit again so we can try the spa and have dinner at the restaurant!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator as there are many hallways/corridors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for this excellent review! We appreciate the time you took to review our accommodations and location. We look forward to your return, and for you to experience the Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.7 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 27 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
11.8 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meritage Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.