We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First tour of Napa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Meritage Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Meritage Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
“First tour of Napa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had a wonderful introduction to the beauty of Napa and all its fantastic wineries at the Meritage. We enjoyed fun and interesting tastings in the Trinitas tasting room with knowledgeable staff, plus one of the best massages I ever experienced in the Spa Terra, complete with an unexpected glass of champagne at the conclusion. Staff was very accommodating, our room overlooking the pool and vineyard was relaxing. All on all a fun time for all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your first time in Napa, and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    344
    166
    57
    44
See reviews for
138
477
14
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We prefer bigger hotels with lots to offer over a B and B. Our last trip to Napa was at a B and B and this time we were traveling with other couples and thought the Meritage worked out perfectly. There was a nice pool/hot tub, spa, bocce court, on-site vineyard and tasting room. We enjoyed lots of outdoor areas to sit/lounge. The location was a bit far south, so if you are looking to be more central, this isn't it. We enjoyed the hotel shuttle and used it many times into downtown Napa for dinner. You have to drive to go elsewhere. The restaurant service at breakfast was slow most days, but very curteous. Our room usually wasn't cleaned until late in the day, but it seemed like they were cleaning the empty rooms first, so makes sense, I guess. We had a patio room with an amazing view...highly recommend! It is located in an office park, so know that before booking...there is nowhere to walk to, although I did run along the windy road of the office park. The spa was very, very nice.

Room Tip: Book a Superior King Patio room for an amazing vineyard/pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us! We apologize for any inconveniences you may have gone through while staying with us. Please check out our hiking trails through our vineyards the next time you want a place to run; they are stunning! Also, we are looking into the Housekeeping issues you mentioned, so thank you for pointing that out. We hope you choose to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

In the past, pet friendly options in Napa Valley gave been limited to bad rooms at Embassy Suites, a few rooms in B&Bs, and hotels with very expensive pet fees. The Meritage fills this void with nice rooms at a reasonable price for Napa and a $50 per stay fee.
The Good:
South Napa location makes it an easy commute from the bay area.
Siena restaurant was nice and tasty.
The hotel is surrounded by vineyards.
Large conference facilities.
Staff is super friendly.
Beds are comfortable and patio is nice.
Pet friendly.

The bad:
Our "vineyard" view room directly overlooked a draiage ditch (see pic).
Currently the hotel is adding wings, so it is under construction. In rooms facing construction, you may awaken to the noise.
Room felt small for the cost.
$50 pet fee is charged regardless of size of dog or length of stay.

The Ugly:
The layout of the room is poor. The closet and bathroom open out, so you are constantly dodging doors. The separate toilet room door also opens outwards so if bashes into anyone using the right sink.


Overall, a pleasant stay with fantastic staff.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for this excellent review! We truly appreciate the time you took to comment and provided your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had a great time at the Meritage....nicely appointed room with a balcony overlooking the pool, wineyard and spa. Had a delicious dinner at the Siena Restaurant (far exceeded our dinner the one night at The Fish Story). The couples massage at Spa Terra was definitely a highlight, from the service to the tranquil and luxurious surroundings...the service everywhere was excellent...every person we dealt with was friendly and helpful...The location was perfect to wine tasting in every direction. The hotel also has a shuttle service in the evening to Napa so you can enjoy all the wine you want!
There is a lot of construction going on right now as they enlarge...but since are room was well away from it we were not effected at all....anxious to see the new addition when it is finished.

Room Tip: Choose room with balcony overlooking pool and vineyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are elated to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. Our Spa Terra couples massage must have been such a treat, and we are pleased you enjoyed the grounds as well. We hope to see you again soon, and cannot wait to share the new additions with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Brought my wife here for her birthday and our anniversary. My first discussion with concierge, she asked me "What do you want?"
At breakfast next morning there was mold on our grapes. After 8 hours of wine tasting we returned to our room at night and it was not cleaned. This appears to be a great place for a corporate outing because it is located in a business park, 15 minutes outside the town of Napa, so inconvenient to everywhere in the Valley. At least they offer shuttle service to Napa in the evenings.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageResort1, General Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thank you for choosing The Meritage Resort to celebrate your anniversary as well as your wifes birthday. I am disappointed our service levels weren't up to our standards and greatly apologize for compromising your stay with us. Your experience alarms me and I am addressing these issues immediately with all appropriate management to make sure this doesn't happen again in the future. I would like to speak with you personally regarding your stay so if you could please call me directly I'll be looking forward to speaking with you.

Michael M. Palmer, CHA
General Manager
(707)251-1901
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We had a fabulous time in Napa for our girlfriends birthday. We love the hotel and bar area!

Room Tip: Pool with vineyard view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your return. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I can't begin to tell you how much I love the Meritage. We stayed for 4 nights on September 11-15th. We had wonderful weather and our room with a balcony view over the pool was just what we booked back in April. We had many choices and decisions to pick another hotel but my husband and I fell in love with this place and really wanted to visit. From the bed linens and comfy beds to the atmosphere outside by the pool and the wine cave....We did not have robes in our room and when we called the front desk -the robes were delivered still warm and comfy from the dryer immediately. My husband purchased a spa treatment and what an experience that was in the Spa Terra for my birthday...Wow -you have to try it...First Class all the way....Very soothing and relaxing....My sister and her husband traveled here from NY and was very impressed with the atmosphere of the resort. I loved the exceptional service and how friendly everyone was - as they were 2 years ago. I just can't say enough of how wonderful this place is. ....I would love to come back when the new construction is done. My only complaint is I wish they had bagels or danishes with the morning coffee. But it was a great way to start your day and was very sad to leave. A quick suggestion is that the outside pool area have a bartender during the week. We really liked having that option when out at the pool area but seemed like it was closed during the week. I definitely recommend walking the pathway to the Wine Guy Statue..Very scenic and romantic. I cannot wait to revisit the new facility and be pampered and spoiled all over....

Room Tip: Book Early and ask for a balcony room ....beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageResort1, General Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback as well as your loyalty to The Meritage Resort and Spa. We realize there are many choices in Napa and are thankful that you choose to stay with us. We hold ourselves to the highest of standards when serving our guests and it’s helpful for us to hear when we’ve done things right. I will pass this on to all managers so they can in turn review it with their staff, and commend them for a job well done.

We’ll look forward to your return to The Napa Valley for yet another memorable experience.

Michael M. Palmer, CHA General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.7 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 27 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
11.8 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meritage Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.