We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed everything about this hotel..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Meritage Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 hotels in Napa
Oregon, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We enjoyed everything about this hotel..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

From the moment we arrived we enjoyed our stay. Arriving late in the afternoon we got there just in time for the free wine tasting offered in the wine cave at 5 pm. Along with the wine tasting was unlimited amounts of gourmet cheeses, fruits, and crackers. It appeared as much tasting as one would like to do was accommodated. Back at the room we were given a wonderful bottle of red wine that is now one of our favorites and we will look for this wine for purchase in our home state. Two bottles of complimentary water are left in the refrigerator for guests each day and valet parking is free (or should I say included in your $15 a day resort fee). Our room was lovely, every inch decorated beautifully and not one speck of dust or anything out of place. Our bed was comfortable and the pillows just right! The furniture was lovely, the closet and bathroom space were more than ample. I particularly loved finding this hotel is savvy enough to accommodate women by providing a wall mounted magnifying make-up mirror in the bathroom- WOW. We opted for no view thus had the new building under construction outside our window but we weren't in our room much and we didn't hear any particularly unsettling noise from it. I LOVED getting up each morning and walking the paths around the vineyards and my husband found it easy to use the business center with free internet. The food in the restaurant was very good, we had my daughter's rehearsal dinner there and everyone was very happy with our entrees, especially the sea bass. The downside if any is that the gorgeous but very large wooden doors used to enter the double sinked bathroom shower area and then one more to enter the private commode area seem a bit in the way but doable to work around. I was confused why the shower fan was in the private commode instead of the large room accommodating the shower and it came on everytime one used the commode and it was loud enough to be annoying for those brief moments. To keep the bathroom steam free we left the bathroom door open to the bedroom area. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to friends. The shampoos, soaps, and lotions provided were butter based, very nice. It is only a short drive to downtown Napa and on into the wine country. The office park setting made zero difference to staying at this resort other than entering through it to find the resort. Some of our wedding party stayed next door at the Vino Bello when the Meritage became sold out and it was lovely too. We didn't use the pool but they had the most luxurious cushions on the pool furniture I have ever seen. The lobby and patio areas had drop dead gorgeous furniture and beautiful orientals. All staff were absolutely delightful every time we spoke to any of them. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageResort1, General Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Thank you for your staying at The Meritage Resort and Spa as we are happy you chose us as your destination in the Napa Valley. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay here and will look forward to your return visit. Our expansion will be opening up in March 2012 so the few rooms of which the views are affected will soon be beautiful courtyard views. Again, thank you for your positive feedback and we will look forward to your return!

Michael M. Palmer, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    436
    254
    122
    40
    27
See reviews for
98
364
11
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at the Meritage for a weekend away and would highly recomment the resort. The property is beautiful, rooms were immaculate, and service was great. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle to downtown Napa in the evenings and the concierge was very helpful in offering tips for eating and wine tasting. The hotel also hosts a free wine tasting in the evening. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This hotel needs some refining. Although the photos make it look spectacular, its in the middle of an industrial park, far enough away from the luxuries that Napa has to offer, however the hotel does run a shuttle service until 10:30pm @ night. When we arrived, we were told to see the concierge for our 'welcome package'. This 'welcome package' was actually a sales pitch for a timeshare option and if we joined a 90 minute meeting, they would give us a trip to Hawaii, etc. We thought it was a totally bizarre way for them to start us off at the hotel. No directions were provided as to where anything was. Room was spacious but we didn't realize it until the next day that they had booked us into a handicap room (which we didn't need). The shower and the makeup mirror were oddly strange heights. When we attempted to call down to discuss, we were kept on hold for almost 10 minutes and finally when someone answered, we were told a manager would speak with us...it is now day 3 and we still haven't heard from the manager and we've been to the front desk 3 times to complain about other issues we've had here. The customer service is lacking - although they are courteous and willing to help, they never actually resolve anything at all. We had booked a car service for the day and when they arrived to our hotel, they were told that we were not listed with the hotel as guests. When we discussed this with the front desk, again we were told management would get back to us and still nothing. They did offer to look into changing our room and suggested we pack up our stuff before we were to head out for the day, but due to the staff suggesting to our wine tour service that we were not registered here, we were unable to gather our items before we left since we were late. Also every time we tried to call the concierge from our room, we were directed to another guest's room who was getting call after call looking for the front desk. Obviously some glitches they need to work through. If you want a hotel that caters to large conference groups, this is the spot to go to. Its a nicely decorated Holiday Inn. With so many places to stay in Napa, keep doing your research unless you're into this kind of hotel. Not worth the value - spa is grossly over-priced and they also charge a resort fee daily which, given there are no immenities that warrant it. They even charge an additional fee of $25 to use the water therapies at the spa - which is a joke. Although the spa is nice, the writeup of what is available makes it sound over the top. This is a hotel posing as a resort. Don't be fooled. The beds are also lumpy and way too soft. When I went to the spa for a massage, my therapist told me that the number one complaint from guests is the mattress and poor sleep due to terrible mattress quality. This place is over-rated and over-priced for what you get and the location.

Room Tip: Unless you need a handicap room, please specify that you don't require one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and apologize for any inconveniences you went through. Because we share our property with a time-share resort, we like to inform our guests of all of the options they have while staying with us. The service issues you mentioned are being addressed as they are not the norm. Our spa, while pricey, is one of the best spas you'll come across however we do apologize that it did not meet your expectations. We truly hope you'll give us another chance to show you the true service and hospitality of our resort that we take great pride in. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We loved the setting. Our room was deluxe in every respect. We found the room very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for this excellent review! We are pleased to hear you had a memorable time, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I was here for a girls weekend of wine tasting. We originally booked a room at the Vino Bello resort next door since it was less expensive, but we were upgraded to a room at the Meritage at check in. We enjoyed the breakfast and concierge services. Also, on Friday afternoons they have wine tasting in the lobby. We went to the Meritage spa on Sunday morning and we found it to be very overpriced for the massage that each of us received. The Meritage is located about 7-8 minutes from downtown Napa and the resort runs a free shuttle bus in the evenings. Overall, it was a really nice hotel, but we weren't really there that much, so I wouldn't stay here again unless I got a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and the surrounding area. Please join us again, and give our Siena restaurant or our Crush Ultra Lounge a try. You can sip on a glass of wine or enjoy a game of bowling right in the resort! We hope you'll try us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I was at the resort for two meetings and enjoyed my stay. The room was spacious, the bathroom was huge and all of the amenities were great. They even had a bottle of wine and a couple bottles of water for me to enjoy in the room which was a very nice treat. I had breakfast and dinner at their restaurant, Siena, and had great service during both meals and was made to feel welcome and comfortable even when eating dinner by myself. The resort also features a pool, spa, wine tasting room and has vineyards. I took a few minutes to walk around the vineyards and read about the different grapes they grow on the property and even jumped in the pool right before a meeting. When I go next time I want to play bocce ball. In addition to all the great services they currently have they are expanding and adding more rooms and will even have bowling!

I look forward to my next visit to Napa and The Meritage.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review! We are thrilled to hear that you felt at home while staying with us, and we look forward to being your home-away-from-home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I was at the Meritage for a week on business. My husband joined me late in the week. This is a very nice hotel. The doors in the guest rooms were a litlle odd. There were many doors and they all seemed to swing in the wrong direction. The room was quiet and comfortable though. The pool has amazing views of the vinyard. A free bottle of wine, free bottled water and free internet were all very nice amenities. The hotel is south of everything and in a business park setting. The hotel staff is very accomodating. Being in Napa, Ca, there is very little to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! My apologies if the layout of the room was not convenient. We are happy that you enjoyed your in room amenities, and the surrounding Napa area. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#9 Family Hotel in Napa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination unto itself The Meritage Resort and Spa has a lot to offer! The resort lies against its own vineyard with walking trails and offers over 300 Tuscan inspired guestrooms and luxury suites. Guests are treated to accommodations featuring oversized terraces, granite counters and plasma TVs. Chefs in the award winning Siena restaurant use local, seasonal and sustainable ingredients. The new Crush Ultra Lounge features six luxury bowling lanes, a full bar, shuffleboard, a pool table and darts in addition to lunch and dinner items. In true Italian fashion, Blend Café offers espressos, café lattes and teas plus fresh pastries, baked goods, savory items and gelatos.Regain a healthful balance with curative treatments at Spa Terra – a lavish underground Napa lavish spa with steam grottos, soaking pools, 12 treatment alcoves and tranquil walls of water. Guests can also enjoy the Trinitas Cellars Tasting Room or host an intimate event in the Estate Cave. The resort has the most comprehensive event and meeting space north of the Golden Gate Bridge and west of Sacramento with 50,000 square feet of meeting space including the two largest ballrooms in the Napa Valley.The resort also features Our Lady of the Grapes, one of the only private wedding chapels in the Napa Valley, bocce ball, outdoor fireplaces with seating areas and a state-of-the-art fitness studio that opens onto a patio with views of private vineyards and olive trees. The Meritage Resort and Spa. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Amex, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meritage Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.