We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative!!! Good wine :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hendry Ranch Wines

Hendry Ranch Wines
3104 Redwood Rd, Napa, CA 94558
707-226-8320
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 148 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very informative!!! Good wine :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This tour lasts about 2 1/2 hours so be prepared. It is very informative about he wine making process and I enjoyed it thouroughly. You go through a sort of tasting drill at the end and learn about food pairings as well. This is a small and very lovely family owned winery and their wines are very good and they are very friendly. I highly reccomend visiting.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    15
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“the intellectual winemaker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

it is worth the 2 hours, even if you've been to dozens of wineries before. great variety of wines. both whites and reds and decently priced

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing wine education!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Tamra educated us on wine and the experience was amazing. Learned so much in a very short time. Loved it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Educational tour, fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

George Hendry leads the tour beginning by describing ideal growing conditions for grapes and how certain weather, soil, pests and type of land (hill, flat, shade, sun, etc.) impact the grapes and the type/cost of wine they are able to produce. If you are interested in really learning the ins and outs of wine making, this is definately the tour for you! Our tour ended in a wine tasting in which George helped us understand how each of our tastebuds work differently by having us try different tasting techniques. Highly recommended to take this tour & tasting either as a group or just a couple.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience -- AGAIN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I visited Hendry Ranch last September and enjoyed it so much we took a small group back this September. If you are really interested in grape growing conditions, how wine is made and how it affects your palate, this is the place to go. No pretense OR dog and pony show here! George is educated and passionate -- very down to earth and you can tell the winery is his life. Wonderful staff onsite and the time we spent was worth every penny we paid. We are not wealthy but we do know excellent wine when we taste it.

Every one in our group of 10 though it was tops! We joined the wine club during our previous visit and look forward to receiving EVERY shipment!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hendry Ranch Wines also viewed

 

Been to Hendry Ranch Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hendry Ranch Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.