We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but I wish the food was better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Compadres Rio Grille

Compadres Rio Grille
505 Lincoln Ave, Napa, CA 94558-3610
707-253-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 249 Restaurants in Napa
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Silverado Trail and Soscol
Kemah, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service but I wish the food was better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten Mexican food all over the world. Coming from Texas I eat a lot of it. This food was prepared with fresh ingredients but just did not have great flavor. The taco shells were greasy and the chicken filling was runny. I would say the atmosphere was great as was our service.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Habra, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Sat on the deck which was fun. I would rate
the food just average.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WongRamirez, Owner at Compadres Rio Grille, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for visiting Compadres while you were in the area. I am glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere - we think that we have the most unique venue in The Valley.
I am concerned that you found our food to be only average as our in-house customer surveys are overwhelminly positive about what we call Western Cooking with a Mexican Accent. What did you have?
Thanks again,
Rick Enos
COMPADRES RIO GRILLE
(707) 253-1111
rmenos@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Right across the street !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We walked across the street from RiverPointe Napa Valley Condos for a delicious "Tuesday $1.00 Taco and Happy Hour beverages". The tacos, chips, salsa and beverages were delicious.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“If you like Mexican food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

some creative dishes here with lots of variety. I used to go when the steel drum band was playing on the patio, but I'm not sure they've been there in a while. You can get a table on the river which is quaint, or sit inside. Better than your average Mex restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
“Exceptional food and presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My husband and I had dinner at Compadres Rio Grille March 15, 2012, the last time I had eaten there was over 4 years ago and I was hopeful the experience and quality of food would be better. The food was incredible! Presentation was inviting and beautiful! Service was the best we have had in Napa in quite some time. The pollo con mole was perfectly done and very tasty, chile relleno and chicken taco were far bette than any other Mexican restaurant in Napa or Sonoma. We shall return soon, and often!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Compadres Rio Grille also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Compadres Rio Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compadres Rio Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.