We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Great Discovery” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Napa Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Napa Discovery Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Calgary, AB, CANADA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not a Great Discovery”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed at the Discovery Inn one night during a four day bike tour through Napa and Sonoma Valley. I booked this place based on two fairly recent positive reviews on this site. The reviews neglected to mention that the Inn is located about 100 feet off the busy Silverado Trail and it sounds like traffic is running directly through your room. But, the room was clean. I would not stay here again- for a few dollars more, you can have a quieter, more pleasant stay in the town of Napa.

  • Liked — Reasonable Room Rates
  • Disliked — Proximity to noisy highway
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    55
    30
    16
    41
See reviews for
16
77
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2006

So much has already been written about this motel it is hard to think of something new and useful, but here goes!

If going to Napa, book your accommodation well in advance so that you do not have to stay in a place like this. Myself and my wife having motorcycled across the States we can confidently say that this was by far the worst accommodation we have had the misfortune to experience. After complaining about the room we were initially allotted the owner agreed to relocate us to a better room, which it was but not worth the $150 pn (more like $40) the excessive use of air freshner was also a little suspicious.

The owner seemed overly ambitious for me to write a review of his accommodation and when I read the other reviews I can understand why.

I suspect under the current management this motel's days are numbered and not before time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2006

The Discovery Inn is by far the worst place to stay in Napa; I was forced to get a room there because we had failed to make reservations and everywhere else in the town was full(no exaggeration). The owner/manager was exceptionally rude, he actually told us (myself, my husband and my 6-month old son) that we better not have a party or he would call the cops. The room we were in (supposedly the largest available) was tiny, dark, far from inviting, and had this strange musty kind of smell. When my husband walked back up to the office to see about the crib that the owner said he would send to the room, the owner glared and told him that we should have brought our own and that they didn't have one. So my husband very politely asked for a few more blankets & pillows, and told the owner that our son could sleep on the bed with me and he would just sleep on the floor. The owner told him no, that he wouldn't give him any more, because more blankets would mean more people. We finally managed to get one of the "housekeepers" (I use the term very loosely) to give us a pillow and a blanket that looked like they belonged to a homeless shelter. Then we made the mistake of moving a nightstand so that my husband could sleep right along the edge of the bed that my son would be on, for extra safety, and to our extreme horror we found a half-empty bag of what looked like crystal meth, and some hypodermic needles. Needless to say, we left right then and there without even inquiring about getting our money back, and drove for 45 minutes to Solano County to find somewhere clean and decent to stay.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2005

I am 56 years old and have traveled extensively. Believe me when I say this was the WORST room I have ever stayed in. Upon entering the room it smelled like....... I’m not sure but it wasn't good. There was a half consumed paper cup of coffee someone had left on the bathroom windowsill, long black hairs stuck on the bath wall and grout that looked mostly black but was originally white silicone. It appeared that the cleaning person regularly swept everything under the beds (popcorn, etc). The sheets looked clean and it was late so I just folded down the disgusting bedspread, took a sleeping pill, curled up in the fetal position and went to sleep. Couldn’t quite bring myself to take a morning shower under the conditions so packed the car and left for home. I suggest you pay an extra $25.00 bucks and stay somewhere else!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2005

This was the most disgusting motel room I have ever stayed in. There was gum stuck to the wall, mold on the walls, dirt and dust all over the window sills and heater vents, the table lamp was cracked down the middle, and the TV and remote control were a joke. The room was supposed to be non-smoking but reeked of smoke and mildew. This place was like staying in a third-world country- avoid it at all costs!

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2004

you want to pay over $100 to stay in a dark, dank, dirty room with a VERY noisy air conditioner/heater combo. I dropped an earring near the bed and was disgusted to see the dust bunnies and dead spiders underneath the bed. The manager asked an extra $10 for our well travelled dachshund to stay there, and then ran to check the room before we left, as if it could get any worse. To date our worst ever motel stay.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Discovery Inn

Address: 500 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Napa Discovery Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Discovery Inn is located just just minutes from the action. This Napa hotel was remodeled in 2007 and is located 1 mile from downtown Napa, the Wine Train & dozens of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Napa Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Discovery Hotel Napa
Napa Discovery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.