We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place, just don't expect much.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Napa Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Napa Discovery Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Western Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not a bad place, just don't expect much.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Napa Discovery Inn is not a bad place to stay. Just don't expect five stars at two star prices. The room was just good; relatively clean and neat. The air conditioner was much too loud, one could almost not sleep. It also did not do a good job of cooling the room. Breakfast was just OK - not much in the way of offerings. We found the location to be convenient to most wineries, which is what we were looking for. Would have liked to be closer to downtown Napa, but that was our fault.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    55
    30
    16
    41
See reviews for
16
77
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

We used hotwire to get this hotel in Napa. I wouldn't highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are a little dingy and relatively clean. The towels had some stains and I thought they could have been a bit cleaner. The breakfast "nook" is a joke - some vending food type pastries, coffee and water cooler is all you will find in this tiny corner near the check in desk.

The biggest issue I had with the place was the location. It's right on the Silverado Trail, but wasn't super close to anything in downtown Napa despite saying that it is within walking distance to COPIA and other locations. There are no sidewalks on the street to town, which made walking to dinner seem like a bad idea.

Honestly, stay in the Travel Lodge. It's closer to everything and should be about the same price.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

I commute alot, from my home to Napa, and with the price of gas these days it was just easier and more affordable to say at a hotel in napa a couple nights a week to save on gas, commute time, wear and tear on my vehicle, and lets not forget to mention the lack of sleep. Discovery Inn has cute little cottage like rooms, you have your own private parking stall, it's almost like a home away from home. The rooms are always clean, the setting is far enough off the main road that you don't get all the road traffic sounds. I really enjoy my stays at Discovery Inn, and I highly recommend them to people who like nice places to stay.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Discovery Inn. The location is in a somewhat run down section of Napa, but for the adventurous it is possible to walk/bike downtown. We were given a fairly large room that was clean. My major complaints are the lack of pillows (one this pilow per person) and a very loud air conditioner. The price fit the accomodations very well in this case.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

I wish I had read these reviews before I booked my room. I can't understand how anyone would rate this motel as a good experience.

The morning of the day I was to arrive at the Inn, Mina contacted me and said that she did not have a room for my group of 4 adults. I said that I had contacted the Inn a week ago and that my reservation had been confirmed. She replied that since I had not talked to her directly, I did not have a room. She then informed me that I could have 2 rooms for my party of 4. I asked that she charge me the price of one room because the Inn had made an error. She replied that I would be charged for 2 rooms. She then said that she could give me a room with a king size bed and charge me for a cot. She said that 3 of us could sleep in a king size bed. I said that was unacceptable and later she called back with a room with 2 queen size beds.

Arriving at the Inn late that evening, I was more than disappointed. Don't be fooled by the photos on the Inn's website. The photos have obviously been enhanced. Rather than a beautiful Ca. sky in the background, picture the industrial section of Napa. Click hybrid on the map on the Inn's site and you will see the true surroundings of the motel. This is not the Napa that is alluded to on their site. I wish I had been more thorough before I had booked my stay.

The Inn is an old Ca. motel that has been "spruced up" on the outside. Before checking in, I peeked through a window and saw that the original furnishings were still there. It looked old and run down, definitely not worth the price being charged. Don't be fooled by the website's description of the tasteful remodeling.

Having seen the room I promptly called Mina and cancelled my stay. She was extremely rude(as she had been earlier that day) and replied that she would charge me for the room. In retrospect, I should have not asked for her to honor my reservation that morning.

Mina did charge me $180 for the room that I did not stay in. After seeing the accommodations and reading the negative reviews on this site, I am glad that I did not stay at the Discovery Inn.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the owner is rude and dishonest.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Discovery Inn

Address: 500 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Napa Discovery Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Discovery Inn is located just just minutes from the action. This Napa hotel was remodeled in 2007 and is located 1 mile from downtown Napa, the Wine Train & dozens of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Napa Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Discovery Hotel Napa
Napa Discovery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.