We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience Overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Save Saved
You added Napa Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Napa Discovery Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 25 hotels in Napa
Spokane
2 reviews
“Great Experience Overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Napa Discovery Inn is well maintained and clean. The continental breakfast was good and the coffee was excellent. It was an easy hotel to find and is close to downtown Napa. The free high speed wireless internet and free local phone calls were a bonus! Our two day stay was pleasant and comfortable. I would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    50
    28
    16
    40
See reviews for
15
72
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I booked this hotel at the last minute because most hotels in Napa were already booked for Friday night. Shortly after booking a room I read a scathing review, with pictures of the Discovery Inn. Due to the horrendous pictures, I was not expecting much at all. Hoping for a bed with no bugs, etc.
When I arrived at the hotel, I was pleasantly surprised. The grounds were neat and clean and nicely landscaped. The room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. I had a refrigerator, microwave, TV with lots of channels and even an ante room to spread out, if needed. The only con I experienced was the shower leaked a bit and after showering, there was water all over the floor. We just put towels on the floor and it took care of the problem. I don't know what the other reviewer was expecting when he gave his review but we were pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Don't know about the other rooms but we had room 16 and it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Recently made trip to Napa CA. Made reservation at the Discovery Inn. Do not go here! The rooms are run down, no heat, a one man operation and it appears to be a converted warehouse. We checked in and checked out in 10 minutes. We did not get our money back however, well worth the loss and went to the Hilton. This place is so bad they owe me stars for rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is older than it looks like on the web. Location is a bit off. It is near by an auto repair station, surrounding by many banana trees.

I couldnt ask much for the price but overall didnt feel great when staying there.

Also, it isn't a great idea to visit Napa in December either. All the vine trees die so it is not beautiful as you see in the brochure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The worst place ever!!!
Rude owners and they charged our credit card even though we left after finding another hotel! We smelled GOAT URINE! The bathroom was dirty with hairs around the sink and shower! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE read other reviews!!! This is exactly why we have Trip Advisor! Our eyes were burning and my wife wouldnt even step on the carpet! NASTY! The bedspread and the sheets and towels were old and stained. The refrigerator had someone elses old leftover food inside and there was a half eaten burrito in the microwave! We complained within our first five minutes, found another hotel and left and reversed our credit card charges!
THANK YOU TRIP ADVISOR FOR LETTING US USE YOUR WEBSITE TO WARN OTHERS!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This place had bed bugs and all kinds of insects....I got insect bites all over my face. The owner/manager of this place also doesn't acknowledge the fact that this place has bed bugs and insects. Spring was poking out of the spring mattress...which was harmful.

Stay away from this place...please!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

When we went to the Visitors Center in Napa, they didn't have this Inn listed in any of their books and the lady didn't know where it was located in Napa. When we asked the person at the desk at Napa Discovery Inn to show us the room before we paid, she wouldn't do it, just said "trust me it is clean" even after we asked several times she won't show it. It was clean but the Inn is old, the bed was comfortable but needed another lamp on the table beside the bed. The internet picture showed two lamps we only had one lamp. The only lamp was broken but when reported the next day, it was fixed. Lights in center ceiling of room and bathroom. The bathroom was large, lots of wasted space, it needed lights above the mirror over the vanity. No kleenex box available, had to buy our own. The small refrigerator was noisy. I'm glad we didn't have to use the air conditioner or heater, not sure how that unit would have done the job. Within the week after we left we notice my husband was missing his "Tilley" hat. Called the Discovery Inn and said "yes, they found it and have it, said to send a self address and stamped mailer they would mail to us. We did send a mailer, self addressed and postage.
Well that didn't happen, never received it. Called them again, said they didn't receive the mailer and it was over 30 days and they weren't responsible. We called at exactly 4 weeks of the day we checked into the Inn. I don't recommend this place as it was a bit expensive, floors slanted and was very basic, should have been cheaper. In fact on the internet I was quoted one price and got there to pay and it was approx. additional $80.00 more. Almost left and wished we had and gone back to Napa Visitors Center. At this time we are out of a "Tilley hat"!!They are not cheap!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Napa Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Discovery Inn

Address: 500 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Napa Discovery Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Discovery Inn is located just just minutes from the action. This Napa hotel was remodeled in 2007 and is located 1 mile from downtown Napa, the Wine Train & dozens of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Napa Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Discovery Hotel Napa
Napa Discovery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.