We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a prime location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Napa Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Napa Discovery Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a prime location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is older than it looks like on the web. Location is a bit off. It is near by an auto repair station, surrounding by many banana trees.

I couldnt ask much for the price but overall didnt feel great when staying there.

Also, it isn't a great idea to visit Napa in December either. All the vine trees die so it is not beautiful as you see in the brochure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    56
    33
    16
    41
See reviews for
17
80
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The worst place ever!!!
Rude owners and they charged our credit card even though we left after finding another hotel! We smelled GOAT URINE! The bathroom was dirty with hairs around the sink and shower! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE read other reviews!!! This is exactly why we have Trip Advisor! Our eyes were burning and my wife wouldnt even step on the carpet! NASTY! The bedspread and the sheets and towels were old and stained. The refrigerator had someone elses old leftover food inside and there was a half eaten burrito in the microwave! We complained within our first five minutes, found another hotel and left and reversed our credit card charges!
THANK YOU TRIP ADVISOR FOR LETTING US USE YOUR WEBSITE TO WARN OTHERS!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This place had bed bugs and all kinds of insects....I got insect bites all over my face. The owner/manager of this place also doesn't acknowledge the fact that this place has bed bugs and insects. Spring was poking out of the spring mattress...which was harmful.

Stay away from this place...please!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

When we went to the Visitors Center in Napa, they didn't have this Inn listed in any of their books and the lady didn't know where it was located in Napa. When we asked the person at the desk at Napa Discovery Inn to show us the room before we paid, she wouldn't do it, just said "trust me it is clean" even after we asked several times she won't show it. It was clean but the Inn is old, the bed was comfortable but needed another lamp on the table beside the bed. The internet picture showed two lamps we only had one lamp. The only lamp was broken but when reported the next day, it was fixed. Lights in center ceiling of room and bathroom. The bathroom was large, lots of wasted space, it needed lights above the mirror over the vanity. No kleenex box available, had to buy our own. The small refrigerator was noisy. I'm glad we didn't have to use the air conditioner or heater, not sure how that unit would have done the job. Within the week after we left we notice my husband was missing his "Tilley" hat. Called the Discovery Inn and said "yes, they found it and have it, said to send a self address and stamped mailer they would mail to us. We did send a mailer, self addressed and postage.
Well that didn't happen, never received it. Called them again, said they didn't receive the mailer and it was over 30 days and they weren't responsible. We called at exactly 4 weeks of the day we checked into the Inn. I don't recommend this place as it was a bit expensive, floors slanted and was very basic, should have been cheaper. In fact on the internet I was quoted one price and got there to pay and it was approx. additional $80.00 more. Almost left and wished we had and gone back to Napa Visitors Center. At this time we are out of a "Tilley hat"!!They are not cheap!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Second time I've stayed here in the last month and both times were great! This charming little place is perfect for Napa area adventures. We took the wine train and this location was very convenient, less than a mile away. This location is great because its right where Highway 29 meets Silverado Trail. Rooms are clean and newly remodeled. The area is quiet and peaceful. Parking is right next to your room! The continental breadfast is "just enough" to start your day. I would stay again and recommend this place if you are looking for a nice, clean place to stay at night while adventuring in the Napa area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I travel a lot for my company and stay in the Napa/Santa Rosa/San Francisco area quite a bit. I do no book my hotel stays myself, my company does this through websites like priceline and hotels.com, so I had no prior knowledge of any reviews/recommendations of my hotel. I had heard from locals that the Napa Discovery Inn was not the best place to stay. However let me tell you is was a great overall stay. I only stayed two nights (week nights). The rooms were very clean and newly remodeled. The room appeared to have new carpet, painting, bedding and even the bathroom was very modern. Large new TV with dish channels (though not many were available, just the basics). So whatever may have been said about this place is definitely not true today. I would and do recommend this place. My company will continue to do bookings with this establishment. I was completely satisfied and happy with my stay.

Room Tip: If your internet isn't working, just let the owner know and they will give you a different acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent a night at the Napa Discovery Inn and it was one of the best night's sleep we've had! We've stayed in a LOT of motels in America and this is definitely one of the best.
It's right on the SIlverado Trail so it's perfect for wine tastings - the manager was really helpful, letting us check in early and helping us to sort out bike hire/the best wine-tasting routes to take.
The room was small but had everything you need, was well laid out and most importantly it was CLEAN. You could eat your dinner off the floor! The bed was lovely and comfortable, fresh linen and we had the best night's sleep - even though the accommodation is on one of the main roads, it's set far enough back that you don't hear any traffic noise at all. Perfect.
There's free WiFi (great for researching the many nearby wineries) and the contintental breakfast hit the spot too. Yes, it's not palatial (how much time do you plan to spend in your room anyway when you're in Napa??) and the breakfast isn't massive, but it definitely did the job and we were more than happy with the service and the room. Great value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room nine - I heard a guy in Reception raving about room sixteen too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Discovery Inn

Address: 500 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Napa Discovery Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Discovery Inn is located just just minutes from the action. This Napa hotel was remodeled in 2007 and is located 1 mile from downtown Napa, the Wine Train & dozens of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Napa Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Discovery Hotel Napa
Napa Discovery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.