We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Save Saved
You added Napa Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napa Discovery Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 27 hotels in Napa
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Value and Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went wine tasting in Napa and needed a place to stay cheap. Price was very reasonable compared to other motels in area. Owners said that they have owned it for 25 years so it is dated but my room was kept up and clean and decent carpet.Had satellite TV which was a plus over other more pricey hotels with basic minimum channels. No snack machines except Pepsi and ice. Rooms did not have in room coffee which I think is a must. Breakfast was very basic with wrapped rolls, bagels and bread. Had 2 cereals and instant oatmeal, bananas and coffee and tea. But hey with something to get you started early it was OK. You can always go to a fancy restaurant and pay plenty for the same type of items. It did have a lot of covered parking which was nice. In the back of the motel I saw a wild deer grazing which was a treat. It is at the start of the Silverado Wine Trail so that was a plus. All in all i would stay there again for the price and convenience. When done wine tasting and eating all you want to do is sleep anyway.

Room Tip: Stay here and save your money for good wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    54
    28
    16
    40
See reviews for
15
76
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This place is a great find. My husband and I came to go up in a hot air balloon and we needed 2 nights. Not many rooms available so he booked us at Napa Discovery Inn. Really cute! It isn't a palace...it is small. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable. Satellite TV was an unexpected bonus. Refrigerator with freezer compartment, microwave...all good. We loved the fact that our car was right outside the door. No shared walls with other rooms so it was quiet. The manager was very personable and I am sure if we had a problem he would have been eager to solve it...but we had no problems! Only thing I think was missing was a bathtub (shower only - but it is a spacious shower) but I never use the tub anyway. Very good value. Good for newlyweds (no shared walls -wink, wink)!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I had to stay near by for work in Napa, and I booked this place through hotwire; I really only need a place to lay down my head, so I was not picky. The fee for the night was $150, which is very pricey considering what you actually get: a dingy, smelly, moldy hotel room, and the complimentary breakfast is more like ready-bought pastries.

What happened was, I accidentally left my valuable Tempurpedic Pillow - also worth $150 in the room and the problem is, I live over 2 hours away and will not return until July. I contacted the owner/manager/rude person Andy and tried to arrange a pick-up through USPS, UPS, FEDEX - all in which did not work because Andy refused to cooperate with me. I even offered to Pay for it to be shipped just to have my pillow back because I get back pains and neck pains.

After numerous failed attempts and frustration, the only thing I got was bad attitude and rudeness from Andy. I got busy with work, so I didn't get a chance to arrange the pick up planned for July even though I told him I would be back in July. He probably didn't hear this because he was too busy arguing on the other end. Never during our exchange did he mention that the Housekeeping are instructed to throw away items after 30 days. He never called to notify me that he would throw away my pillow. He threw away my $150 pillow.

When I phoned today, he said: "I don't have any pillow" and tried to pretend he forgot all about this.

Please save yourself from being abused by a petty, cheap, inconsiderate inn owner.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We paid $77/nite for a place near lots of wineries and near middle of town (<1-mile). The motel room itself was a 2-star level, but the price plus lcation plus nice manager made it worth recommending. No real amenities to speak of othe than free Dish TV. But then agin, we spent 8am to 8pm wine tasting and dining that all we needed was a quiet place to crash.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of wine tasters. I had 2 double beds in my motel style room. The beds were comfy but would have benefitted from a quilt as it was a little chilly at night. The reception had fresh tea and coffee and water and bagels and cereal that you could help yourself to for breakfast. Nothing fancy but clean and a good nights sleep. Loved watching the deer round the back of the place. About 10 minutes walk into Napa town and right in the heart of the vineyards.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

After reading the previous reviews, I was nervous about staying here. Turns out they have remodeled, replaced all carpet, and no longer accept pets. The room did not smell at all, but the bathroom had chipping paint and an older feel. Rooms are duplex style, so you only have one room next to you. I'm 5'11" and had to duck to get through the doorway into the bathroom in unit 14, and had to bend over to wash my hair. The ceiling in the rest of the room was taller. Air conditioner worked fine and the TV has Dish. Microwave and mini fridge in the room were convenient. The office has a water dispenser to fill up water bottles and bagels, pastries, toast and cereal are included for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is basic and functional, reasonably centrally located about a 20 min walk into the centre of Napa. If all you need is a bed for the night in a clean room and don't want to pay much then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napa Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Discovery Inn

Address: 500 Silverado Trail, Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Napa Discovery Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Discovery Inn is located just just minutes from the action. This Napa hotel was remodeled in 2007 and is located 1 mile from downtown Napa, the Wine Train & dozens of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Napa Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Discovery Hotel Napa
Napa Discovery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.