We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the vegetarian tasting menu!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Toque

La Toque
1314 McKinstry Street, Napa, CA 94559
(707) 257-5157
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Toque is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 249 Restaurants in Napa
Price range: $40 - $125
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Soscol
Description: La Toque is located at the Rancho Caymus Inn .
Maine, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved the vegetarian tasting menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The vegetarian tasting menu was one of the best dinners I have ever had in my life! It was absolutely fantastic, if I am even close to this area again I will definitely be back for more. It was incredibly enjoyable.

Our table overlooked the kitchen and this was a lot of fun. It felt like an episode of Top Chef so that was great for entertainment.

The service was fantastic and every server we talked to was super friendly. This definitely enhanced the experience.

Loved it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    39
    37
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked in at La Toque after seeing they had an interesting wine pairing menu that we wanted to try and frankly it just didn't live up to it's promise.

Firstly, some good points, the room was pretty, the service was decent and friendly (if a little quick), the atmosphere was good, but it ends there...the food was extremely poor.

I began with carpaccio of beef, which included a garnish of mushrooms and bacon, the beef was sliced so thinly it had no taste and was completed over-whelmed by the flavour of bacon. The wine pairing was ok but not spectacular (on any course) and was very mean in terms of the serving, it was definitely a 'taste, not a glass. Second course, white asparagus, was again sadly wrapped in bacon so had no light, fresh taste that asparagus should....just bacon. The final and most in inedible course the veal with morels, although the meat was cooked well it was so salty it tasted like it had been for a swim in the ocean. We skipped dessert, quite frankly we'd had enough!

Although this restaurant appears to have lots of glowing reviews it is really a case of style of substance the food looks great but tastes terrible and for the price quite a lot more thought for the cooking us required!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Still Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our second visit to La Toque, since they moves to the Westin. Service and cuisine wonderful. We especially loved the monk fish, beef dish and cheese course. The wine pairing really enhanced the enjoyment of the food. The Sake was the only turn off...bit to much for me! We had a leisurely dinner in quiet surrounding, with excellent service. If you go ask for a booth...for that special birthday or anniversary dinner or to really impress...this is your spot in Napa. If you are a foodie you must try La Toque. Also have enjoyed Bank for more casual dining..tho the noise in the lobby can come into play...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Service spotty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have eaten here a few times over the past 3 yrs. We have dined alone and with groups of up to 15. We always do the Wine Pairing menu. And the meal is always plagued by spotty service. One server will be great and the next one is below fast food standards! I've given up trying to understand this ongoing problem. You would think the prices they charge (it adverages out to about $250 per person) would help in hiring and maintaining a reliable and professional staff - but it doesn't.

If I wasn't paying top dollar I wouldn't mind the substandard experience.

There are other less expensive restaurants in Napa that provide a better experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yet another fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Organized a group of six couples to dine here for my bday. This was our third time dining at La Toque and once again I was really happy with the food and service. Even though its attached to the Westin it feels like a separate high end restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Toque also viewed

Napa, Napa Valley
Napa, Napa Valley
 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to La Toque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Toque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.