We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On First

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn On First to your Saves list
The Inn On First
1938 1st Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Napa B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and had a great time. The food was always excellent, and Jim and Jamie were always very personable and helpful. Jamie helped me with restaurant reservations and generally just ensured that our itinerary was full and went off without a hitch. I highly recommend them for not only the amenities and friendly reception, but also the location. We were able to walk everywhere in downtown Napa, and really added to the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Kevin N: Honeymoons are a big deal and we're thrilled to know you both had a great time! It truly is our pleasure to help all our guests make the most of their stay here in Napa. "Without a hitch" we'll take as a big compliment, so thank you very much! Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    20
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
815
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights in the Napa region and stayed at the Inn on First. We couldn't be more pleased with our stay. The Inn instantly felt like home (or what I wish my home looked like!) with a great contemporary spin on a traditional home with character. We enjoyed a complimentary split of Mumm champagne upon arrival in our room, and an Ipod was already playing a wonderfully designed playlist which made us instantly relax. The rooms were very clean and nicely designed, with a little sitting area to enjoy. The bath products they provide are amazing and made only with food-grade ingredients. We hadn't planned much in advance...so we sat down with Jamie at breakfast and asked for his recommendations in the area, both for wineries and food. He took our budget into consideration as well as the type of wine/experience we preferred, which he varies per guest based on what they're looking for. Jim's breakfasts were wonderful and really filled us up to prepare for a day of wine tasting! The location was great and walkable to the downtown bars/restaurants. Ah, i had only wished we had stayed more nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Jenna D: This old house, with construction completed in 1905, does a fantastic job of presenting our contemporary furnishings... but the again I think you can get away with that in all kinds of older properties. The guy who built this place knew what he was doing. So happy to hear you enjoyed it, and especially good to hear I made the right recommendations on the wineries. Sometimes guest think the portions are too large, but too often people kinda sorta forget about lunch! Then the breakfasts look like a good idea! We want everyone to start their day with plenty of sustenance! Thanks for posting your review, we appreciate it very much... and since you didn't stay long enough this time perhaps we'll see you again soon. That would be lovely. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn of First for our 10 year Anniversary. We were just excited to have 3 nights away from our kids but...Jim made this trip so much more for us. From the gourmet breakfasts, late night cookies, dinner/winery recommendations and our amazing room, this was a highlight Anniversary. My wife has already made me promise to come back to the Inn on First next year for our Anniversary. I would recommend this jewel of a B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Scott H: Again we thank our guests who stay with us for significant anniversaries! We're honored, and we look forward to seeing you again next year. I'm really happy my recommendations worked out so well. With Jamie away I was charged with "double duty", but I'm not just a chef, I'm a concierge as well! See you next year! Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Inn on First is the perfect place to stay in Napa. The rooms are exquisite. The breakfast is delightful and the wine hour in the evening is just terrific!! The location of the Inn on First gives you the opportunity to walk to the great restaurants in downtown Napa and also spend the day driving around Napa Valley and returning to a place of serenity. Don't miss the beautiful gardens. Grab an afternoon cookie and sit outside!! That's heaven! If you want the best B&B experience in Napa, don't miss the Inn on First,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mountaingirl2501: You are so right... grab a cookie and sit outside! What great advice to offer to the tripadvisor community. Thanks, also, for sharing with everyone our proximity to the wonderful restaurants here in downtown Napa. We are so fortunate to partner with the creative culinary talent only a short walk from the inn. Thanks for posting your review, and we hope to host you again one day. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you are going to be visiting the Napa / Sonoma area, you just have to stay here. Jim and Jamie are incredible and really make you feel right at home... if you're house constantly has fresh baked cookies on the counter that is! Breakfast was wonderful, the cookies were brilliant, and Jim's homemade crackers with the cheese plate are just over the top good -- I highly recommend them. The room itself was very comfortable, spacious and nicely appointed with things you would expect, but it's the extras like an iPod filled with great music already set up for you that pushes Inn on First from good to great. The oversized bath in the room doesn't hurt at all either! ;)

But what shines most for me about our all too short stay here were our wonderful hosts Jim and Jaime who go out of their way to make you feel welcome and ensure that you get the most out of your trip with great recommendations and local hints you would never know about (like advising us that there's a great little market to get lunch at, but you need to park on a side street and walk or you will be stuck in their parking lot forever).

What are you still readying for? Book it already!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Chrispy2day: Oh boy, am I chuckling about the market where you can become stuck forever! I completely forgot I gave you that tip! It's a great spot with a lot of history, but I do think the Oxbow Public Market here in town is a lot easier to navigate and has an incredible number of choices for our guests. Thanks for all the positive props for what we are trying to provide to our guests, and thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. We are grateful. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was the second visit to the Inn on First Street for my wife and me and we hope to stay there many more times in the future! Jamie and Jim really know how to run a B&B. Jim has a very large variety of gourmet breakfasts and takes prodigious care to make sure that his guests never have the same one twice. Jamie has extensive knowledge of the many wineries in the Napa Valley and spends time with each guest helping them plan their day's itinerary and making the necessary reservations for them. Among his recommendations from this trip we visited and loved Prager (for their Imperial Ports), Tres Sabores (for their Por Que No?, and 2011 Zinfandel), Tandeschi (variety of reds), Vincent Arroyo (Zinfandel, Petit Sirah, and Tempranillo). Both Jim and Jamie were also spot on with their recommendation of the Korean short ribs at the Kitchen Door restaurant in the Oxbow Market. We also liked the pickled vegetable salad that we had with it. A wonderful couple days in Wine Country! Thanks Jim and Jamie!

Room Tip: We have stayed in both a lower garden suite room and upstairs in the mansion. The attention to deta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear DerekNorton: First and foremost from us to you is a sincere thank you for returning for a second visit. Our guarantee to you is we will do our best to "do it" all over again when you return next! Those short ribs at Kitchen Door are pretty amazing, aren't they? And the mushroom soup? Whoa! We're really glad you made it there on this trip... next trip? More great restaurants and wineries! Thanks for posting again! Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Thanks to Jim & Jamie, we had a great stay at their Bed & Breakfast! The breakfast was excellent, Jim is so creative and makes the best breakfast and the afternoon cookies were awesome! Their knowledge of the area was exceptional - they provided top notch recommendations for restaurants, picnic places (using their picnic baskets) and especially the wineries. We loved their home, the rooms were clean and spacious and very comfortable. We definitely would recommend this place to friends and family.

Green Features: They are very environmental - from recycling to buying bulk cleaning products. It's so refreshing to stay at a place that is trying to help mother earth.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Chris S: You'd think everyone would offer picnic baskets here in the valley! More than half our guests use them when weather permits, and that means just about every day of the year unless it's raining! We never tire of hearing we've sent our guests to restaurants and wineries that were right for them. The affirmation is important to us. We can't thank you enough for taking the time to post your review and for recommending us to your friends and family. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Address: 1938 1st Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are setting the new standard for the American Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is not an inn for traditional B&B people. We are attracting the next generation who want great food for breakfast, well beyond the traditional omelets, frittatas, and egg bakes of old. This is where you get to experience a chef’s creative innovation each morning, one of his 110 recipes for breakfast, such as Corndog Omelets, Tomato and Egg Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons, or S’mores French Toast with house made Marshmallows.WARNING: we do not cater to people who want to stay connected to the television. We purposely removed all televisions so that couples can enjoy the intimacy of whirlpool tubs in the rooms with gas fireplaces, or sit out in the garden sipping on wine and enjoying great conversation. Yes, WiFi is available for those who feel they must stay connected to the outside world, but our hope is that you will learn to leave all that aside to enjoy great Napa hospitality here at the inn and at the wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On First, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.