We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Napa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On First

Save Saved
You added The Inn On First to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn On First
1938 1st Street, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Napa B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Luxury in Napa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Inn on First is the perfect place to stay in Napa. The rooms are exquisite. The breakfast is delightful and the wine hour in the evening is just terrific!! The location of the Inn on First gives you the opportunity to walk to the great restaurants in downtown Napa and also spend the day driving around Napa Valley and returning to a place of serenity. Don't miss the beautiful gardens. Grab an afternoon cookie and sit outside!! That's heaven! If you want the best B&B experience in Napa, don't miss the Inn on First,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mountaingirl2501: You are so right... grab a cookie and sit outside! What great advice to offer to the tripadvisor community. Thanks, also, for sharing with everyone our proximity to the wonderful restaurants here in downtown Napa. We are so fortunate to partner with the creative culinary talent only a short walk from the inn. Thanks for posting your review, and we hope to host you again one day. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    919
    18
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
755
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you are going to be visiting the Napa / Sonoma area, you just have to stay here. Jim and Jamie are incredible and really make you feel right at home... if you're house constantly has fresh baked cookies on the counter that is! Breakfast was wonderful, the cookies were brilliant, and Jim's homemade crackers with the cheese plate are just over the top good -- I highly recommend them. The room itself was very comfortable, spacious and nicely appointed with things you would expect, but it's the extras like an iPod filled with great music already set up for you that pushes Inn on First from good to great. The oversized bath in the room doesn't hurt at all either! ;)

But what shines most for me about our all too short stay here were our wonderful hosts Jim and Jaime who go out of their way to make you feel welcome and ensure that you get the most out of your trip with great recommendations and local hints you would never know about (like advising us that there's a great little market to get lunch at, but you need to park on a side street and walk or you will be stuck in their parking lot forever).

What are you still readying for? Book it already!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Chrispy2day: Oh boy, am I chuckling about the market where you can become stuck forever! I completely forgot I gave you that tip! It's a great spot with a lot of history, but I do think the Oxbow Public Market here in town is a lot easier to navigate and has an incredible number of choices for our guests. Thanks for all the positive props for what we are trying to provide to our guests, and thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. We are grateful. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was the second visit to the Inn on First Street for my wife and me and we hope to stay there many more times in the future! Jamie and Jim really know how to run a B&B. Jim has a very large variety of gourmet breakfasts and takes prodigious care to make sure that his guests never have the same one twice. Jamie has extensive knowledge of the many wineries in the Napa Valley and spends time with each guest helping them plan their day's itinerary and making the necessary reservations for them. Among his recommendations from this trip we visited and loved Prager (for their Imperial Ports), Tres Sabores (for their Por Que No?, and 2011 Zinfandel), Tandeschi (variety of reds), Vincent Arroyo (Zinfandel, Petit Sirah, and Tempranillo). Both Jim and Jamie were also spot on with their recommendation of the Korean short ribs at the Kitchen Door restaurant in the Oxbow Market. We also liked the pickled vegetable salad that we had with it. A wonderful couple days in Wine Country! Thanks Jim and Jamie!

Room Tip: We have stayed in both a lower garden suite room and upstairs in the mansion. The attention to deta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear DerekNorton: First and foremost from us to you is a sincere thank you for returning for a second visit. Our guarantee to you is we will do our best to "do it" all over again when you return next! Those short ribs at Kitchen Door are pretty amazing, aren't they? And the mushroom soup? Whoa! We're really glad you made it there on this trip... next trip? More great restaurants and wineries! Thanks for posting again! Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Thanks to Jim & Jamie, we had a great stay at their Bed & Breakfast! The breakfast was excellent, Jim is so creative and makes the best breakfast and the afternoon cookies were awesome! Their knowledge of the area was exceptional - they provided top notch recommendations for restaurants, picnic places (using their picnic baskets) and especially the wineries. We loved their home, the rooms were clean and spacious and very comfortable. We definitely would recommend this place to friends and family.

Green Features: They are very environmental - from recycling to buying bulk cleaning products. It's so refreshing to stay at a place that is trying to help mother earth.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Chris S: You'd think everyone would offer picnic baskets here in the valley! More than half our guests use them when weather permits, and that means just about every day of the year unless it's raining! We never tire of hearing we've sent our guests to restaurants and wineries that were right for them. The affirmation is important to us. We can't thank you enough for taking the time to post your review and for recommending us to your friends and family. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E Providence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We finally experienced our first trip to the west coast to celebrate ten years together! Our stay at The Inn on First was more than we expected, as we were treated like family by owners Jim and Jamie. Their delicious breakfasts and pastries will not be forgotten. One of the highlights was to meet their adorable schnauzers! The beautiful gardens with it's peaceful waters made dining a very special experience. This is a contemporary B&B that we would recommend to all!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Jo-Ann D: We can't thank you enough for spending your significant anniversary with us! We're equally happy you enjoyed Jim's culinary treats, and isn't breakfast on the patio just wonderful? I wish we could be out there twelve months of the year instead of six. Sadly, we said goodbye to one of our cherished schnauzers two weeks ago. Oscar gave us 14 wonderful years and while we miss him terribly we thank him for unconditional love he gave to not only me and Jim, but to our guests as well. I'm glad you were able to meet him! Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The owners Jim and Jamie couldn't make this place any more welcoming! The property is beautiful, well maintained, great located and the rooms are amazing and full of delightful surprises. The breakfast is gourmet style made to order by Jim himself. The best Bed & Breakfast I ever stayed so far. I am definitely staying here every time I visit Napa :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Daniella C: I am considering this review a gauntlet thrown down in front of us! :) I am going to figure out a way to make The Inn On First more welcoming! We're just so happy you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to making your next trips here memorable as well. Thanks for posting your review, we appreciate it so much. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We traveled to the San Francisco area for a Packer game with another couple from California. We decided to spend a few days in Napa touring the wine country. We checked in and immediately felt the warm welcome. It was perfect and very genuine. We felt like we had stayed there before. Both Jim and Jamie (owners) were very gracious with setting us up with restaurants and travel and Jim is a chef so the breakfasts were phenomenal. The rooms were so quiet even on the street side. Best B&B I have stayed at. Looking forward to returning some day when the Packers can get a defense and stop the 49ers....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Lisa H: No one has ever said, based upon their visit, they felt like they had "stayed here before". Thank you for affirming what we're trying to do here, and please know how much we enjoyed planning your daily itinerary with you all. For you I am sorry the game was a disappointment, but that's all I can say because I do live in the middle of 49'er country! :) Thanks for posting your review, and we look forward to seeing you again. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Address: 1938 1st Street, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are setting the new standard for the American Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is not an inn for traditional B&B people. We are attracting the next generation who want great food for breakfast, well beyond the traditional omelets, frittatas, and egg bakes of old. This is where you get to experience a chef’s creative innovation each morning, one of his 110 recipes for breakfast, such as Corndog Omelets, Tomato and Egg Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons, or S’mores French Toast with house made Marshmallows.WARNING: we do not cater to people who want to stay connected to the television. We purposely removed all televisions so that couples can enjoy the intimacy of whirlpool tubs in the rooms with gas fireplaces, or sit out in the garden sipping on wine and enjoying great conversation. Yes, WiFi is available for those who feel they must stay connected to the outside world, but our hope is that you will learn to leave all that aside to enjoy great Napa hospitality here at the inn and at the wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn On First, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.