We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Terrace Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added River Terrace Inn to your Saves list
River Terrace Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% OFF
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I recently stayed at The River Terrace Inn after spending a night at a less than desirable hotel in Sonoma. I lucked out with a last minute booking from Priceline at a reasonable rate, particularly for Napa. The hotel is located near the Westin in Napa, but sits further back along the river. It is a busy hotel, but both the staff and guests were friendly, and outside of the high traffic lobby /bar/patio areas, I found the hotel to be very quiet. Overall, I thought it was a lovely hotel and my only complaint was that after booking the room on Priceline, I called the hotel and specifically requested 2 Queen beds and a bathtub/shower combo, as I had read that some of the rooms only had showers and I was traveling with my mother who prefers a bathtub. I was assured that this request would be accommodated. Upon arrival, this wasn't the case, and I ended up having to rent a 2nd room. Upon check-in, Shari was great about finding a 2nd room, as the hotel was almost sold-out, but said the best that she could offer was the AAA rate on the 2nd room. The next morning, I spoke with Marlena, the front office manager, and while she couldn't adjust the room booked on Priceline, she did further discount the 2nd room, apologized for the inconvenience, and offered a discount on a future stay. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The rooms were beautiful and very clean. The staff was professional and the hotel was located in a great location. I will definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Stay on the river side of the hotel. It's very serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you, Amy for your thoughtful review. We apologize for the booking confusion and were more than happy to help accommodate you and your mother as best we could. We are happy to hear you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere we provide our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and we thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    380
    115
    41
    22
See reviews for
102
555
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Clean. Good Location. Better than average rooms, only 3 story property. If the prices are north of $200 per night I would spend the time to look elsewhere. Nice starting point for a visit to the valley.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the property face a walkway and river. Front is the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi JR, we are pleased you chose our property for your recent visit to Napa. We are pleased to hear you had a nice stay with us and hope you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for taking a moment to leave us your review. We hope you will schedule another stay at our property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Overall a great stay. Nice hotel in a great location - room was as described and very comfortable and I was in the quiet part of the hotel (Rm 128, ground floor - it's called a Quiet Village Side room overlooking the side car park). Nice pool (small) and a lovely terrace to eat breakfast or have an evening drink. About 10 minutes walk to downtown Napa along a busy road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you stayed, too! We are happy to hear you had a quiet and relaxing stay and hope you will join us again next time you visit Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here back in April and it was OK. I must have looked at fifty different properties, but they were either too expensive or they didn't offer two beds. The biggest problem with this place was the shower. There was a problem with the drain and the water would back up and was awful. We had never stayed anywhere with this problem before. The main reason we stayed here was because it was close to downtown Napa and they offered two beds. We heard some noises from the floor above even though I was wearing an ear plug.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We are sorry to hear about the condition of your bathtub/shower and we appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention so that we may look into it. We hope that you still had a nice visit while in Napa and will think about visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

If noise bothers you avoid room 319 and the ones below it as the vent fan for the kitchen runs up though the walls next to the bed and comes on at 5 am adding to the already noisy air conditioning unit in each room. Also 319 is directly above the patio area for the cafe.

Room Tip: Asking for a quiet location did not help as we did that and still were given on of the noisiest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Phylly, thank you for being a guest of our hotel. While our rooms typically provide quiet and relaxation for our guests, we are disappointed to read that this was not your experience, even after the accommodation of a room change. We are sorry you do not enjoy a 5-star stay and we would like nothing more than to have you visit us again, so that we can show you the level of comfort and service we are typically known for providing our guests. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us and please know will take your comments under consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOLD RIVER
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel is back from the street and very quiet. The staff was friendly and abundant. Our room had a balcony facing the river and a whirlpool bath which I didn't try. The TV was up to date. Live music was played on the terrace the night that we were there. The pool are appeared to be small but we were not there to sunbathe. The town was a few miles away with lots of parking.

One odd item in such a classy place were the small bottles of water for sale for $4-$6.

All in all, it was a great experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Raylee, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Napa. We thank you for leaving us your kind feedback and hope to see you again for another stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The River Terrace Inn is a great little find very close to downtown Napa. We stayed in the King Whirlpool Riverside View with a balcony. It was great.

The bed was very comfortable. The room was clean and spacious. The view of the river is nice. The customer service is really lovely. The room service breakfast not only tasted great but it was delivered in record time. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 319. It was a great room. It was very quiet. If you aren't going to use the wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review, Eliote. Your comments are much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we invite you back again next time you are in Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#10 Family Hotel in Napa
#14 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful Napa river side escape. Less than an hour’s drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn offers an elegant Napa Valley retreat. Our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. -No-Charge Cruiser Bike Rental-Pool-Fitness Center-In-Room Spa-Cuvee Napa Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your River Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.