We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property and convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Terrace Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added River Terrace Inn to your Saves list
River Terrace Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% OFF
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Nice property and convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This property is centrally located and nicely maintained. The staff is very friendly and the lounge and bar area is cozy and comfortable. The terrace area overlooking the Napa River is a nice spot to enjoy a nice glass of wine from the bar.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are quieter but the hotel is set nicely away from the main drag so even fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Jeff, we appreciate you being a guest of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant and comfortable stay. We thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and hope you join us again next time you are in Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    378
    115
    41
    22
See reviews for
101
555
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a nice hotel located within 10 minutes walk to downtown. It felt a little like a ski lodge inside, comfy. My only issue was that the hotel was empty and they stuck someone in the very next room who was horribly noisy. Seemed to be having a party at 4am... then talking so loud on the phone in the morning that I could hear him through the wall. Not sure why they have to do that.

Room Tip: There are no bath tubs in the rooms without a spa tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Whenever you visit us, please don't hesitate to speak with our staff if there is ever anything we can do to make your stay a better one. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The river view room was comfortable and quiet. Slept with the window open and the only sound was birds chirping in the morning. Breakfast by the lobby fireplace was delicious. You can walk to down town Napa if your ambitious.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Tom, we are pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our accommodations and got to experience the ambiance of our area. Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope you will be back to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The place was average for the price. We didn't plan ahead so we didn't shop around for a great deal. The standard room over the parking lot isn't worth the $219 they quoted. But the suites overlooking the river with a jacuzzi bath was great! It has a nice balcony with chairs. Too bad our neighbors were smoking on theirs though. :( the bed was super comfortable with fluffy pillows. The gym had only two treadmills and one elliptical, a bike and a rake of weights. We didn't use the pool but it looked small. We had a mix up on the type of room we requested so we moved twice but really liked our final room #305. The manager fixed the situation and we were very grateful!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are glad we could make sure you were pleased with your room and hope you had a fantastic time with us on your girls weekend. We appreciate you being a guest and look forward to your future travels to Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

In a hurry to check out early one morning, I stupidly left an outfit hanging in the closet. When I got home and realized my mistake, I immediately called the hotel. The girl at the front desk checked my room, found the outfit, took my address and credit card number to cover shipping and said she would send it out to me immediately. 10 days later and no package arrived. I called again and was told they would have to look into it and get back to me. Three more calls exactly like this got me the same response and when I asked each time to speak with the manager, there was a new excuse as to why that person was not available. Finally I got mad enough that they put me through.

Working back through the schedule and timing of my original call, the manager was able to figure out who I had spoken to. That person was not due back to work for another couple of days but he would try to contact her or get back to me upon her return. Another week and no return call or email. So i called again and again over the next two weeks, leaving messages for the manager on his voicemail to no avail.

Finally I looked up the general manager's contact information on the website and gave him a call -- only to leave another message on voicemail. He did get back to me within 24 hours saying that he didn't know anything about the situation but would have the front desk manager follow up with me. Two days later I got a voicemail saying they were unable to locate my outfit.

Two months and at least 14 phone calls to handle what I am sure is a common customer service issue at a hotel with no results. Heed my warning, there are far better hotels to stay at in the valley dedicated to providing a much better customer experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We apologize for any frustration and inconvenience you felt regarding the follow-up of us mailing your outfit to you. We always invite our guests to reach out to our management team directly whenever a problem arises, so that we may have it resolved as soon as possible. We appreciate you sharing your concerns and feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the river. Besides the king sized bed and couch, the jacuzzi tub was really a great feature. Perfect location since it was easy walking distance to the Oxbow Public Market. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you, Sharon for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the amenities our hotel has to offer and that you had a chance to explore our area as well. We thank you for being a guest of ours and hope to see you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

If you come here for the river view you're going to be disappointed, but if you want a really comfortable bed to sleep in and a big whirlpool bath for you and your honey to soak in, you're going to have a good stay here.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra on a river view. The river here isn't at all scenic. But by all means get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, Frank. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities we offer. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and hope you will be back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#10 Family Hotel in Napa
#14 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful Napa river side escape. Less than an hour’s drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn offers an elegant Napa Valley retreat. Our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. -No-Charge Cruiser Bike Rental-Pool-Fitness Center-In-Room Spa-Cuvee Napa Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your River Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.