We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, but thin walls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River Terrace Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added River Terrace Inn to your Saves list
River Terrace Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% OFF
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Napa
La Habra, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“nice hotel, but thin walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Upon arrival were assigned our room. When we entered the room, it was not cleaned yet. Went back up to the front desk where we were assigned a different room. Front desk did not even offer an apology... just changed the room like it happens all the time.

We could hear our neighbors on either side until they decided to go to sleep. For this reason, I will not stay here again.

The hotel is nicely located within walking distance to the Oxbow Market. This market is a great place for a meal, coffee or dessert. A redeeming factor, but I will still avoid staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Brad, thank you for joining us as a guest. We appreciate your feedback, and we are glad you were able to benefit from our location. We hope to see you again on future travels to Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    380
    116
    41
    22
See reviews for
102
557
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here 12/28-1/1/14 and would stay again. The location was great for going downtown or to Oxbow Market. We did have a car, but you could easily walk to either of these locations in good weather. It was also a good, centrally located "home base" to drive into Sonoma Valley or into Napa Valley.
We booked a king room overlooking the street but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to discover we were upgraded to a king room that overlooked the river and had a jetted tub. Upon first impression of the room, it is modern, nicely decorated, large and comfortable. Unfortunately, the jets in our tub were not working properly (only one jet was working), there was a large stain on the curtains, one of the curtains rods to pull it open/closed was broken off and sitting on the window sill, and one of the robes was stained as well. However, this would not deter me from staying again as the price of this hotel is very reasonable compared to others in the area and it really is a nice, modern hotel. Following our stay we stayed at Parc 55 Wyndham in San Francisco, and I was wishing I was back at River Terrace Inn because the Wyndham room just did not compare!
The staff we dealt with at check-in and -out were very friendly, and the bartender in the lobby bar was great (sorry, don't recall names). Overall, a nice place and would stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor room if possible. There were "heavy-footed" people above us which was bothersome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Jen, we thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. We are happy you had such a pleasant time while with us and hope you had a chance to explore the area. Any time you stay with us again, please feel free to reach out to our staff members regarding any of your concerns so that we resolve them accordingly. We appreciate you being a guest of ours and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel is the same standard as Marriot etc. but it is more personal. The location is close to down town Napa. We walked about 10 minutes for dinner to down town. There is no winerys close by, so you need to drive.
The hotel offers free wifi and heated swimming pool. Over all, we liked the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your hotel experience with us. We are happy to hear you were pleased with your stay and hope that you had a great time while in Napa. Our staff makes every effort to make our guests feel welcome, so we are glad you felt a more personal touch. We hope to have you join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I'll start off to say that initially this was my pick of place to stay in Napa, however it was sold out on every website I went on when trying to book. After weeks of looking I finally found a website that was selling it for a decent price. After arriving I was overwhelmingly pleased. The rooms are absolutely wonderful. They are actually luxurious! Definitely worth every penny paid. I would recommend this to anyone who is going to Napa!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, Micaela! Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. Nothing makes us happier to hear than when we've exceeded guest expectations. We hope you enjoyed your time in Napa and welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

stayed here in late November and got a good deal for the area. The rooms were nice and clean. Service was friendly, but not amazing. Location is very convenient for grocery/gas stations/target etc. and very close to downtown. It is definitely not as quaint as it may seem at their website. If you are going to go for sure do the 20% discount for pre-pay/no cancel for the best deal. If I were to go back to Napa I would look at Yountville (town out of Napa) small hotel or bed and breakfast or possibly a house rental if going again with friends. I think that would give more "wine country" feel.

Room Tip: do 20% discount for pre pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We thank you for being a recent guest of ours and hope you enjoyed your time in Napa. We are pleased to hear that you felt our property to be a good value and hope you had a chance to explore the downtown area. We do hope you will stay with us next time you are in Napa. We do value your thoughtful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
1,779 reviews 1,779 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 396 cities Reviews in 396 cities
1,050 helpful votes 1,050 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We got a deal on Expedia and enjoyed our stay here. Central to Napa - across the river from Oxbow Market - it is a nice hotel. You can either get a village or river view rooms. The rooms are nice and large; large bathroom; comfortable couch in our room (we had a king river view). Nice TV. Small porch area (we were on the 1st floor).

The inside and outside fireplaces were both nice (we spent more by the inside fireplace as we were there during the cold 30 degree evenings in early December).

Friendly staff - efficient and nice.

Free parking. Easy to get in and out of hotel. (Note: There is a large ramp to wheel your luggage into the lobby area- there are other easy to access side doors etc (with your room key).

We did not eat at Cuvee but it was nice to know there is a quality restaurant on site.

Morning paper delivered to your room.

Comfortable hotel with a great location in Napa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay in Napa and liked our accommodations. The fireplaces indeed come in handy during our chillier months, and we glad you could benefit. Thank you for being a guest of ours and we do hope to see you again on future travels back to Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was not our original hotel we were going to stay at in Napa. We changed our mind last minute because this one was a little closer and a little bit cheaper. The distance to downtown didn't bother us because we love to walk and be outside. It isn't a far walk to the oxbow market, which was so fun to go to! The hotel staff was plenty friendly and the room was very clean when we got there. We had a nice balcony which was fun to sip wine on in the evening before dinner. The walk to downtown was bout 10 to 15 minutes, but not a bad walk! We enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Laura, we are happy you ended up being a guest of ours and more importantly, that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you had a chance to get out and explore the area from our great location and hope you enjoyed your trip. We do hope you have a chance to visit us again should your travels bring you back to Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#10 Family Hotel in Napa
#14 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful Napa river side escape. Less than an hour’s drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn offers an elegant Napa Valley retreat. Our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. -No-Charge Cruiser Bike Rental-Pool-Fitness Center-In-Room Spa-Cuvee Napa Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your River Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.