We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Walking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Terrace Inn

Save Saved
You added River Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Terrace Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% OFF
Ranked #11 of 27 hotels in Napa
Norfolk, VA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for Walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We did not book our stay in Napa until a week prior and found this hotel. We found it very convenient for walking to downtown (if you do not mind walking) and also for driving through Napa Valley and over to Sonoma. We were aslo about 1 hr and 15 min from San Fran to catch our flight back to VA for a 9am flight. The hotel was very clean, very comfortable bed, free parking, free wifi, and overall met our expectations. We intentionally did not book a spa/resort type of hotel because we knew we were going to be out most of the time and it was expected the hotel would be a bit more b/c we were in Napa Valley. However, we paid a bit over $200/night (less that some other postings here) and were not disappointed at all. The staff was very friendly and courteous and gave us printouts and information for anything that we needed. The AC was noisy but was fine with us as we like the "white noise" to sleep - the con on the AC was that if we wanted to sit on the balcony, it blew out hot air on us and it was warm during our visit so the heat and the noise made it difficult to enjoy a quiet sit on the balcony SO we just opted to go downstairs and sit outside on the patio. I do think the water should be included BUT we had brought on own and refilled as necessary or bought elsewhere. No worries for us. I would recommend if paying the lower price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for being a guest of River Terrace Inn. We thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Due to our location, it does allow our guests to explore quite a bit of Napa and we are glad you took advantage of this. We invite you back for another stay should your travels bring you back to the California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    436
    346
    104
    37
    20
See reviews for
92
507
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at the River Terrace Inn in June with my mother. We stayed only one night before heading out to Healdsburg for a weekend trip. The hotel room was great, the staff incredibly nice, and we were only a quick drive to town which makes this hotel great for staying "in town."

Unfortunately, after we checked out and drove away I realized I left my blouse in the closet. I quickly phoned the front desk and the lady who answered my call confirmed that there was a blouse and asked me to describe it. I described it and she said she could mail the blouse and bill it to our card. I gave her my address and said thanks and my mom and I were off on our next adventure.

That was in June. After countless calls (I think actually it's been about seven calls at this point), an email to the manager, and finally getting a hold of he manager, I still don't have it. The last time I spoke to the manager, he confirmed that the hotel did say they had the blouse, but he could find no evidence of whether or not it was actually mailed. The manager apologized and said he would refund the room, and would give me a call back. He never called back, and our card was never refunded. The blouse cost about $180 retail value and was brand new.

If I lost the blouse that's one thing, but I didn't. And it's the actual manner with which I've been treated that I want to warn others about when staying here.

Hopefully for other customers of this hotel, should something go wrong, they won't be treated so poorly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I did not get what I paid for at this hotel. I think great customer service should go with a $450 a night rate. When we arrived, our room had been downgraded without us being notified ahead of time. They did rectify the problem, but only by giving us another customer's room whom I am sure was disappointed when they arrived.
In the morning, I waited 25 minutes in the lobby, no staff member in sight, to request cream be put out with the coffee which was already there. They offer baked goods in the morning for sale. This was a very disorganized process, the food not getting out until 7:45. Then they did not have change so we waited for her to go find some. Then I requested butter, all they had was a frozen bowl of butter??!! So she went to soften it and came back saying it was now all melted. Come on even McDonalds has individual pats of butter for customers.
As many other reviewers have noted the walls are very thin, expect to hear people talking through them and walking on the floor above you.
Finally, be aware that although downtown napa is pretty nice, it is a 10 minute walk away. Right around the hotel are things like auto parts stores and walmart.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello, thank you for your recent stay with us. Service to our guests is our top priority, so we are sorry to hear that your stay was not more enjoyable. We hope you enjoyed downtown Napa and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the River Terrace Inn as part of a week-long CA trip. The hotel is approximately an hour and a half drive from San Francisco. We were surprised that it was right off the same busy road as the Walmart down the street. (That turned out to be handy...I went and bought some water and fruit when I found out it wasn't complementary.) Parking is free. Check-in went fine, but not friendly. [As an aside, I happen to be reading Danny Meyer's book, "Setting the Table," which is about the hospitality industry, so my expectations are very high compared to his standard.] Our room on the first floor was large and comfortable. I agree with other reviewers that there is something wrong with the AC; it runs in spurts and is pretty loud. I did like the ceiling fan. The wifi was free and worked well. We enjoyed the complimentary wine tasting on Friday night, run by a local winery. The reason I gave this a 3 was that we paid ~$1,200 for 2 nights ($450/night plus fees and taxes), and it just didn't seem worth it. I had read about the complimentary breakfast on TA, but apparently they started charging a few months ago. We paid $5.50 each for a prepackaged bowl of cereal. By comparison, the next morning, we went to the Model Bakery at the Oxbow Market (very close by) and paid about that for a delicious egg sandwich. Ditto with charging for the water. These things cost the hotel so little per guest (if you buy in bulk), but charging for them after such a steep bill seems petty and leaves the guest feeling unappreciated. We stayed at four hotels on our trip, and this one was the most expensive, but we felt it was the lowest value. I see others paid a lot less and that would have changed my perspective ...a bit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello, thank you for being a recent guest of ours during your California trip. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the space of your room and the convenience of our location. Also, we are glad you joined us for the free wine tasting. We do wish that we had met more of your expectations and we invite you back should you visit Napa again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The rooms were average for the price paid. The AC was a bit loud and we could hear partiers in the rooms beside us. It's a good starting point for people wanting to tour the wine country because you can tour wineries by day and spend an evening in downtown Napa. It is also close to the wine train depot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello, thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad you were able to benefit from our convenient location and got to explore the area of Napa including, of course, the wineries. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Inn was very nice. Rooms were clean, bed was good, pool was a bit small, but we weren't there to swim. The air conditioner in the room was ok, seemed to come on every 5 minutes, and it was a bit loud. As others have said, great location for walking to downtown Napa, and the Riverwalk. The breakfast package was great, the restaurant, Cuvee is a great place for food or drinks. It's across the parking lot, very close. And there is a bar in the lobby which is good too. We liked the outdoor fire pit too. We enjoyed our stay and would come back.

Room Tip: Go for the breakfast package. We usually skipped lunch while wine touring and just had a late break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for being a recent guest of ours. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to benefit from our prime location to tour different parts of Napa. We appreciate you taking a moment to leave us your kind review and we look to forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the River Terrace Inn. This trip was to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. I booked the hotel a few months ago and reserved a King River View room. The cost was fairly high, but I wanted this to be special so I opted for the more expensive room. I even called the hotel a month prior to our visit and told them that we were celebrating our 10th anniversary and would appreciate if they could give us the best view possible. We arrived at the hotel last Wednesday night after a very long and exhausting travel day. When we arrived we were told that we had been "downgraded" and would not be booked in our reserved river view room. She said that they had overbooked the hotel and the manager had decided to downgrade us! You can only imagine my disappointment and frustration!
The only concession they offered us was to take $20 off our booked rate! That was the normal rate for the parking lot room anyway! The manager was not available until the next day. He was less than sympathetic and did not geniunely seem to care that he had started our trip on the wrong note. I had initially asked to be moved to the river view room the next day, but decided against it because of the inconvenience of having to pack up and move. The manager said that he would stay in touch with us to make sure we were ok, but we never heard from him again. At the very minimum you would expect a bottle of wine to be sent to the room or some way of saying sorry that we "downgraded" such a special occasion, but nothing. In addition, my husband had emailed the hotel prior to our stay to ask about flowers being sent to our room, but no one ever responded.
It is a shame because this is a nice, clean hotel in a very convenient area. We would really have recommended this hotel had it not been for the poor customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Jennifer389, thank you for your review and thank you for choosing the River Terrace Inn. I sincerely apologize that your stay wasn’t up to your expectations. I know that although we did have the Riverview King on the second day of your trip, moving rooms can be an inconvenience. Not having your booked room type was our mistake and wish this would have never happened. At River Terrace Inn, customer service is our highest priority, and your comments will help us to improve. I do thank you for your comments about the hotel being “Nice and clean” and will pass this message along our housekeeping staff. I invite you back to our property in the future and apologize again for your experience. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#11 Family Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful Napa river side escape. Less than an hour’s drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn offers an elegant Napa Valley retreat. Our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. -No-Charge Cruiser Bike Rental-Pool-Fitness Center-In-Room Spa-Cuvee Napa Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your River Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.