We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great location! Steep price though!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Terrace Inn

Save Saved
You added River Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Terrace Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% OFF
Ranked #12 of 27 hotels in Napa
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice place, great location! Steep price though!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We needed one night and boy did we pay for it! That being said....we had a lovely room on the first floor with no view. We only slept in the room though so view didn't matter. We walked to the Oxbow Market and truly enjoyed that experience...we ate at the Mexican Restaurant and had cupcakes from the cupcake place. It was a really good experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi, we thank you for being a recent guest of ours. We are happy you were able to benefit from our great location and enjoy the Napa area. We appreciate you taking a moment to leave us a review and we hope to have you join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    436
    346
    104
    37
    20
See reviews for
92
507
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were so happy we chose this hotel. Our room was perfect. It was clean and spacious. I had my own vanity to get ready at that was separate then the bathroom which was perfect. We had a terrace that overlooked the Napa River. We would sit outside and watch the sunrise in the morning. It was beautiful. The staff of the hotel were great and we loved the free wine tastings in the lobby. Quick 10-15 minute walk to Downtown Napa at night. Would defintely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi Jess, thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you loved the room accommodations and joined us for the free wine tastings. We are also glad you were able to benefit from our location and had a chance to explore downtown Napa. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the future as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Really nice hotel a good room size with fridge in the room a d rose to ox bow market. Nice walk out back and staff helpful, good coffee in room. Pool a little s.all but clean and good beds. Breakfast in reception area to take to room .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Alison, we are happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking a moment to leave us your kind review. We are glad our accommodations met all of your needs and we hope you join us again should your travels bring you back to Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed two nights here as we had booked a tour of local vineyards with Petra. The hotel room had everything we could have wanted. The bathroom was great with good toiletries. What I really liked was a special corner with a big mirror and magnifying mirror for drying hair and makeup. (not many hotels have this and I often struggle to find a power point with a mirror located above it). We were able to relax by the pool when we arrived which had very comfortable sun beds. The bed - King Size was extremely comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean. The complimentary breakfast at cuvee was of very good quality. We actually thought the room had the edge on the Bellagio where we had stayed in Las Vegas because of the coffee making facilities that were provided - that first coffee is a must! Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi Alison, thank you for your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our accommodations and that you were able to dine with us as well. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughtful review and hope to see you as a guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband on our honeymoon. We absolutely LOVE it. The room was clean and charming. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The fire pit in the back with the view of the river was so nice.. I could sit out there all day! The breakfast that they offer in the morning is also very convenient and also very good! I feel like this hotel is more personable than the big name resorts. We felt very comfortable here. The concierge was also very nice and booked a Limo Wine Tour for us that was absolutely amazing! They also gave us passes for free wine tastings at some of the different wineries. The hotel restaurant which is right outside the hotel- called Cuvee' is also fabulous. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was even better.. the courtyard with the trees and the fire was so relaxing... I did not want to leave! We are already planning our next trip back to Napa and we will definitely be staying at the River Terrace Inn again! Can't wait!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony! And I recommend the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello, thank you for your kind review. We are happy to have been a small part of you and your husband's celebration. Our staff always wants to make our guests feel comfortable, so we appreciate your compliments. We are glad you had a chance to dine with us as well and we hope to see you again soon for your trip back to Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights as a central base for the area. Hotel is lovely, with large rooms, king bed very comfy. Reception staff where very helpfully with directions, etc. Pool was a good size and clean, but has no hot tub. Great location for wine train in next street 5 min walk, also good for Napa town centre, and touring the vineyards up to Calistoga.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello, thank you for being a recent guest of ours. We are happy you were able to benefit from our fantastic, central location. As you found, there is a lot to take in and enjoy throughout our area and we are glad that we could be of service to you during your 6-night stay. We thank you for taking a moment to leave us such a nice review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, CO
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have stayed at this property numerous times over the last 10 years. Something's has gone dramatically wrong in the last year. I believe the property has been sold. It is not being kept up as it had been previously. It is not at the same level of cleanliness either. Worse the front desk staff is not at all well trained! Previously, the front desk staff was helpful and knowledgeable. It is obvious the new staff is not receiving appropriate training.

Room Tip: Room was nice, but not as clean as it should have been. The entire hotel needs a good, deep cleani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi, we sincerely appreciate you for being a return guest over the years and we definitely appreciate your feedback. We apologize that you feel that the level of service was not up to par on your last visit. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our top priority and we take every effort to train our staff accordingly. We thank you for your stay and do hope you will continue as a guest of ours in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#11 Family Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful Napa river side escape. Less than an hour’s drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn offers an elegant Napa Valley retreat. Our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. -No-Charge Cruiser Bike Rental-Pool-Fitness Center-In-Room Spa-Cuvee Napa Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your River Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.