We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Napa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added River Terrace Inn to your Saves list
River Terrace Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% OFF
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Napa
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Napa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights in Napa and 1 in San Fran. We didn't book this hotel until the day before we left. I found the reviews almost made selecting a hotel harder as some people appear to be divas based on their nit picking reviews although I will agree that the staff at the desk could be more educated on the area but they were very friendly. Aside from the price being high ($283/night AAA rate), there was nothing wrong with the place. I'm in the textiles industry and found the king bed comfortable and bedding clean and crisp. Jacuzzi tub was clean and spacious. Overall clean room, friendly staff, nice grounds. I let them know it was my birthday when I booked and when we arrived, they gave us a complementary bottle of champagne. Pool is small, but who goes to Napa to hang out in a pool all day? A bunch of small seating areas inside and out as opposed to one large one allow you to have more privacy. Benches along the river where we enjoyed the complementary happy hour tasting of wine with cheeses. Furniture was nice both inside and outside. Borrowed bikes one morning and took a nice ride. About a 20 minute drive to wineries. We didn't take a tour bc we wanted to be on our own schedule. Had breakfast at the Buttercream bakery, DELICIOUS. Dinner at Oenotri which was incredible--I don't typically eat in Italian restaurants because my boyfriend and I are Italian, New Yorkers who prefer our own cooking and have high standards for Italian food but this was a wonderful dining experience. Enjoyed a local street fair in town. Complementary coffee in the lobby and breakfast wraps and sandwiches were available at a charge, which was convenient so we didn't have to leave the hotel the second day and had more time for activities. Great lime or orange infused ice water in lobby. Fitness center nice but a bit small. Would have been nice to get complementary bottled water. Charging for a bottle of water when you're paying almost $300/night is a bit silly if you ask me. Overall, looked exactly the same as pictures. We got what we expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Stephanie, thank you for your recent stay with us and your kind, thoughtful feedback. We are happy we could serve as a small part of your birthday celebration and that you enjoyed your time here. It sounds like you really took advantage of all that we and the area have to offer. We hope to see you as a guest again in the future should your travels bring you back to Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    380
    115
    41
    22
See reviews for
102
555
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Overall just an average sort of stay. The front desk was very helpful with early check in and check out. It would have been nice if they gave a bit of info about Ox Bow market being an easy walk thru a back path etc. but no info.; I asked the concierge about going to Sonoma but unfortunately she didn't know anything about it-hmm. Positive-Balcony looking to river, spacious enough room. It was my birthday and there was a complimentary bottle of champagne and that was nice but no card or anything-I asked my husband if he ordered it, he could have claimed he ordered it but he didn't. Negative-Breakfast seemed not something I wanted, went to OxBow market and Model Bakery was great. Bed not comfy and air conditioner was either on and freezing and loud or off and hot.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi, thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the great view and a celebration bottle of champagne on us! We are glad you were able to explore the area a bit, but we are sorry to hear that your room was not comfortable as you would've liked. We do hope you join us again should you visit Napa in the future and we definitely hope you had a fantastic birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night trip to Napa. I am a true believer that you should get what you pay for. I have stayed at a lot of places, good and bad, and I think every traveler should be well informed in order to really make the most of their vacation and above all enjoy it. Based on what we paid for this hotel, we most certainly felt a bit cheated. (also stayed on Hotel Yountville for 2 nights-read my review there-amazing!)

We paid approximately $350 per night. Here are the things I had issue with:
The hotel is not in the center of downtown Napa. It is actually a bit of a walk and not through nice side streets. You must get onto what is a 4 lane road, cross a bridge, and then walk to the downtown area. Would not do this at night. It is on a busy street, with a Walmart kind of next to it. So while it might look like it is out in the country or somewhat isolated based on the pics, it is not.
The hotel appeared dirty. The front glass doors were so dirty you could not clearly see through them when the sun hit them. The mirror over the fire place is huge and fully smudged. The bar stools at the bar had cobwebs hanging from the bottoms of them. The windows in the hallways were filthy and had webs all over them. This made me question other areas of the hotel. The room was nice though. Nicely decorated, great bed and nice bathroom.

There is a fire pit outside, which based on the pics on the site looks nice but the picture is deceiving. The chairs and tables are arranged like they have been pushed here and there, the cushions look old and dirty, and the fire pit was not turned on the entire time we were there. Not sure what it is even there for.

The view of the river is nothing to look at (dont let the website pics fool you), and the pathway not really that interesting.

The pool is disappointing to say the least. Looks like something at a motel. Chain fence around it. Nothing at all nice about it.

The hotel is not terribly bad, if you are not really interested in location. The management just needs to step up in regards to the cleanliness of this hotel. It does have the potential to be a nice place to stay, but for $350+ a night there are other places with a lot more character and better location (also, cleanliness).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi, thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met, but we do hope you had an enjoyable time while visiting us in Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed mid-week for 3 nights with third night was free. Napa is pricey, and at $200 per night, it was probably a decent value. But I'd have to agree that there's room for improvement. Staff should be more informed about local eateries, providing lists and maps. Thanks to trip advisor we found two wonderful restaurants close by. The Model Bakery is within walking distance and has great breakfasts and desserts. Allegria is also close by and has great Italian food with very affordable prices.
An afternoon by the pool was spoiled by two rowdy foul-mouthed teens that i'm pretty sure didn't belong at the hotel. Better security is needed. We had to change rooms after the first night because our neighbors were using their room as a conference room at 7:00 AM, and the staff graciously moved us to a new room right away. That said, in case you're sensitive to noise, the room walls are a bit thin and doors slam loudly.
The room was comfortable, but could have been a little cleaner. I had to clean a light switch and the shower doors could have been cleaner.
In spite of all this, we had a pleasant stay. With just a little more effort to detail, it could have been a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Andrea, thank you for taking a moment to leave us a review. We are happy that you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us and were able to dine at local restaurants in the area. We appreciate guest feedback, so we appreciate your comments. We hope to see you again in the future should your travels bring you back to Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to Napa for only two nights and booked about two weeks in advance. Most of the hotels were booked for the weekend so we didn't have many options. We wanted to stay in Yountville to be a little closer to the wineries we were visiting, but we settled for Downtown Napa - which turned out to be a nice area and wan't too far from wineries up north. The hotels in this area were all overpriced, but this hotel was a bit cheaper than most (but still overpriced in my eyes). The hotel was decent - nothing spectacular. The room was nice, but the sheets had a musty smell. That was my only real complaint. I would probably not stay here again mainly because of the sheets - it made me think the sheets weren't clean. But other than that the hotel was decent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi, thank you for your review and recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed the area and of course, the wineries. Our staff does always want to meet our guests' needs, so should you stay with us in the future, never hesitate to let us know how to make your stay more comfortable (including requesting new sheets). Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I travel a lot and review a lot of hotels, for, you see, I am a hotel appraiser. We read the reviews and booked into this hotel after a few local B&B's in Napa gave us too much 'attitude' (we will book your room, but if you cancel this MID week reservation, we will charge you for all three days). We booked a room with a river view, rear balcony and jacuzzi tub, all for a mere $350 per night plus $50 tax. This included the $20 that I added for a per-paid breakfast. Now, even for Napa, CA, $400 per night mid week is pretty pricy.

Our check-in was uneventful. The Staff was robotic; not rude, but less than helpful. When we came down to the desk to ask for dinner suggestions, Staff seemed to be bothered, rather than helpful (and there was nobody else in the lobby). Staff did not even orient us to the map with directions. We stopped over to the lobby bar, but at 7:30 PM, the bartender was on a.break, and the person standing in could not even pour a glass of wine. We waited 20 minutes and finally gave up and left.

The concierge was helpful, but biased, as his recommended dinner site was a place that he had worked. The adjacent Cuvée restaurant served a good breakfast; worth the extra $20 up charge for two. When we wanted to pick up one apple from the bar in the morning, Staff jumped in our face to add $1.50 to our bill (we paid for the breakfast upgrade). In the room, if you breathe on the wine bottle, you buy it; just pick it up, it is charged to your room. Want that 20 oz water bottle, no problem, $6.00 charged to you room.

This place knows nothing about service. They have a location in Napa and think that is enough reason to treat people like they could care lessmif they were there or not; all for your $400+ per night. I have been treated better in most hotels, even a $100 Holiday Inn Express, Best Western or Embassy Suites. I have stayed at dozens of hotels, both domestically and in Europe where rates are $400-$600/night. The service is impeccable. Here, all that you get is NO service and an over priced, routine experience that is akin to a limited service hote. I vote for you to skip this one.

Room Tip: The rear rooms have balconies that over look the Napa River. Unless you are goofing to sit in your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi, thank you for your recent stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We always want to ensure a pleasant stay for our guests and we are sorry to hear that you did not feel our service was up to par. This is definitely not indicative of the service we strive to provide on a regular basis and we apologize. We are happy that you were able to join us and were pleased with the breakfast at Cuvee. Thank you again for your stay and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

When planning my trip to Napa I had contemplated many places to stay. In the end I had no regrets staying at the River Terrace Inn. The location was ideal.....close to everything and yet quite and private enough away from the bustle of the crowds. The entire staff was gracious from the time we arrived to our departure. Both my wife and I were pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of Sparkling Wine and glasses. Somehow they remembered it was our 40th Wedding Anniversary..thank you for that special thought. The room we had was exactly what we reserved...a great river view balcony room. The rooms were nicely updated and yet maintained the look of elegance. We also took advantage of sitting out on their outside patio with a fire pit and of course with a favorite glass of wine from their wine bar. River Terrace will definitely be our place to stay in any future visits to Napa.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a River View whirlpool room with a balcony on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your lovely experience in Napa. We are so pleased that you chose the River Terrace Inn as your destination for your 40-year wedding anniversary! The pleasant staff and beautiful outdoor patio with a fire pit are wonderful for out-of-town guests that are looking for recommendations of the region and a relaxing night at the hotel. For your next visit to Napa Valley, enjoy our complimentary bike rentals for an easy ride into town or hop on the wine train to explore Napa's multiple vineyards and wineries. We look forward to your next stay with us at the River Terrace Inn! Thank you very much for choosing the River Terrace Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#10 Family Hotel in Napa
#14 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful Napa river side escape. Less than an hour’s drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn offers an elegant Napa Valley retreat. Our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. -No-Charge Cruiser Bike Rental-Pool-Fitness Center-In-Room Spa-Cuvee Napa Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your River Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.