We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Terrace Inn

Save Saved
You added River Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Terrace Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% OFF
Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in Napa
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A really nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are big and if you stay in the back rooms you have a great view of the river and the surrounding hills. The hotel didn't appear to be very busy during our stay, so it was very quiet and peaceful. There isn't much in walking distance, but downtown is only a short drive. Overall I would stay again if I'm back in Napa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. We are so pleased that our hotel lived up to your expectations. We do have nicely sized rooms with wonderful views of the Napa River. We also have rooms that come with a Jacuzzi in the room! Although downtown Napa is a longer walk, it is quite popular to take a little walk down to the Oxbow Market for breakfast or treats. Also, we offer complimentary bicycle rentals if you would rather bike there. We would love to welcome you back to Napa and we hope to see you back at the River Terrace Inn for your next vacation! Thank you again for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    340
    97
    35
    19
See reviews for
89
487
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great hotel with ten minute walk to downtown Napa. Nice fire pit over looking the river. Pool area was fantastic. The hotel offers bikes if you want to take a spin around the block.

Try out the Bounty Hunt menu when in downtown. Great food and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Tom,
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel as well as the surrounding area. At the River Terrace Inn, we have many great features such as free bicycle rentals, a fire pit overlooking the river, and a great lobby bar that is a hit with guests and locals alike. If you didn't have a chance to visit our restaurant, Cuvée, it would be another way to enjoy the ambiance of the River Terrace Inn and get a great sense of the hotel's culinary talents. Again, thank you for the excellent remarks. We hope to see you again soon for another business trip to Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here 3 nights and we had a marvelous time!. Everyone was attentive and genuine. We especially loved the use of the bikes. We had a blast. We also went for a jog in the mornings to Main street, and it was beautiful. The staff helped us with our limosine wine tour and napawine train tour reservations. We loved every winery, but the Castillo de Amorosa was truly a sight! We will definately go back and stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review, Maria! We are so pleased that the stay with us at the River Terrace Inn exceeded your expectations. A jog in the morning followed by a day in wine country is a phenomenal way to spend your vacation. We were happy to assist you with any questions regarding tours and reservations. Next time you're in Napa, please check out The Uptown Theatre--they always have live entertainment at night. Napa Valley is the perfect place for a getaway. We look forward to your next stay in wine country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel was nice. Great bathtub and shower, although room is a little small. Very close to Oxbow Market, Silverado Trail, and getting onto 29 for the main Napa attractions was easy as well. We went to Yountville mostly and that was a short 10-15 minute drive one way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We appreciate the thoughtful feedback. It was great to hear that your stay in Napa Valley was convenient. We have a great location near the Oxbow Market, Silverado Trail, and main Napa so we hope you were able to enjoy the surrounding area. We do have a variety of different rooms that may accommodate the size that you're looking for. For your next trip to Napa valley, we surely hope that you'll join us for another vacation in Wine Country. Thank you again for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Just checked out of this property a few hours ago. While it is physically nice enough, the level of service is keeping it from being a true 5 star resort.
Three things really stood out for the lack of service, and two of those happened upon check in.
Pulling up to check in with our baggage, there were no porters to assist with getting the bags from the car to the hotel. At the reservation desk they could not find our reservation at all, so I had to pull out the Orbitz confirmation on my phone. That got us the ADA room with no bathtub.
They have no bar scene whatsoever and the bartender was rather rude. They have some ice cold spa water in the lobby, a nice touch. But last nite they had only paper cone cups for it, and when I asked the bartender for a proper glass, he said " there are cups right there." When I said " Would you want to drink out of those?" he responded " I don't have to, I have my own water". REALLY??? It's just water, just give me a damn proper glass, man!
The rooms are nice enough, the location is great. But the pool is small, no jacuzzi. The pool at the Westin next door was much bigger. The brunch at the restaurant Cuvée was just bizarre; avoid that and head over to the Oxbow market.
All in all we agreed we would never stay there again. Many more places in Napa to spend your hard earned money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for the insightful review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay at the River Terrace Inn. We have addressed the check-in complications you encountered due to the 4th of July holiday. We would also like to let you know that the issues you had at the lobby bar are also being examined. Again, we would like to send our apologies for these inconveniences and we hope you'll give our Napa Valley hotel another try during your next vacation. Again, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights. Yountville is trendier and higher in price , Sonoma is too country like, so this was a perfect fit, location and price. The view from our room was really pretty and their restaurant curvee was good for breakfast. I highly recommend going to Castillo di amoroso and Robert Mondavi...as first timers to the valley they were beautiful and taught us a lot about wine. Regarding restaurants, we went to mustard grill (service wasn't great) but food was quite gourmet, joes near the our hotel by the river was inexpensive and had beautiful views. We went to Sonoma for the day and had dinner at the girl and the fig, was really good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi Alissa,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so pleased that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay at the River Terrace Inn in Napa. We are always happy to hear that the views from the room as well as the menu at Cuvée were satisfactory for your stay. There are many things to do in Napa so it's great to see that you were able to explore the valley and many distinct wine areas in the region. Next time, take the wine train across the street for a convenient way to see all the hottest attractions in just a short period of time. Please come back to the enchanting Napa Valley and choose River Terrace Inn as your home away from home. We look forward to having you as our guests during your future Napa getaway.

Thank you,

Scott McCann
General Manager of the River Terrace Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A moderate hotel with a little bit extra. Only one item for us my wife likes to have a tub, but our room had no tub, and the sink in the bath was a little bit tall. I liked it but my wife is five foot and it was not her size. Those out of the way the stay was very good. All of our contact with the staf was great. Bed was to our liking and the room was large. We recommend staying at the River Terrace Inn while in Napa. The best thing is the location. They were doing a Master Chef event downtown and it was within easy walking distance. Close to the excursion train station. No restaurant, but there are many within a couple of blocks. We had a complementary breakfast at the restaurant on the front property. We rated service and breakfast good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad that your stay at the River Terrace Inn was to your liking and that the bed and rooms served you well during your visit. Our complementary breakfast in the front property is always a nice bonus as our guests find it quite convenient to come on down and grab something to eat. Also, we do offer rooms with a tub and different bathroom amenities, which may fit the needs of your family much better. We hope to see you again at the River Terrace Inn in Napa. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#11 Family Hotel in Napa
#11 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful Napa river side escape. Less than an hour’s drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn offers an elegant Napa Valley retreat. Our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. -No-Charge Cruiser Bike Rental-Pool-Fitness Center-In-Room Spa-Cuvee Napa Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your River Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.