We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wine-Country Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Terrace Inn

Save Saved
You added River Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Terrace Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% OFF
Ranked #10 of 25 hotels in Napa
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wine-Country Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our second stay at the River Terrace! Convenient location, spacious rooms overlooking the Napa River. Perfect for a walk to downtown Napa or to the Oxbow Public Market. The staff was polite and attentive, rooms were well-kept and quiet, and the fire-pit area made for an enjoyable evening wind-down (wine-down is more like it).

When we stayed at the River Terrance two years ago, the hotel served a breakfast buffet. This is apparently no longer that case, and it was a surprise to us. However, grab-and-go breakfast items are available, and reasonably-priced (for Napa). An egg and cheese baguette was $5.50, and almost enough to share between 2 people. Coffee and water were complimentary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTIHotelManager, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We apologize if our change in breakfast options was a surprise to you. We love hearing that you took advantage of our location, Napa is certainly spectacular! We look forward to your return, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    343
    97
    35
    19
See reviews for
90
493
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Ma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at River Terrace Inn May 25 through May 27th on the recommendation of an acquaintance who lives in Napa and after reading lots of Trip Advisor reviews. We were very happy with our choice. The location is perfect to walk to downtown Napa and the Oxbow Public Market both with a variety of restaurants to choose from. Our room was very comfy, great bed, great bathroom and having a refrigerator to put my bottle of wine in was perfect. Coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning was a nice touch.
Would definitely choose to stay here again for the convenient home base location to get to all the Napa Valley wineries and the local Napa restaurants in walking distance.

Room Tip: Unless you plan t spend a lot of time in your room you don't need a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTIHotelManager, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback! It sounds like you truly took advantage of our amenities and what the area has to offer. Be sure to check out the Restaurant Cuvee next time, it is delicious! We look forward to your return, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

River Terrace Inn is in a good location in the heart of Napa - about a 20 minute drive from St. Helena. The room was clean and comfortable, but nothing extraordinary. I was very surprised by the lack of attentiveness from the hotel staff. I walked through the lobby several times past the front desk and was rarely ever greeted. My mom and I went down to the lobby at around 7:00 one morning for coffee and they were out of coffee cups? The bartender said she was calling Cuvee (the restaurant associated with the hotel) to see if they had any, which was very odd to me.

We also had a slight billing issue - thank goodness we took precaution due to our feelings about the hotel staff and double checked to ensure the billing was correct. I booked the room on my credit card, however my mom wanted to pay for our stay. She went to the front desk the night before we checked out to ensure her card would be charged the full amount. When we were checking out my mom made sure the stay would be charged to her card...it would not have been if she didn't ask - the room was still under my card and the gentleman at the desk was about to charge it. After my mom was through giving her credit card information we were good to go, but he never offered her a receipt. She had to specifically ask him to print her a copy - again to TRIPLE check that it was charged to the correct card.

All in all, not very impressed with my stay and will probably look to stay elsewhere in the future. If you're going to pay $300+ per night you might as well stay somewhere that offers exceptional service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTIHotelManager, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We can assure you the service issues you had are not the norm, and we will be sure to address them with our teams. We hope that you'll contact the Front Office to further discuss the challenges you faced. We look forward to your return, and the opportunity to make up for your previous experience. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent hotel, highly recommended! We got a great price for a room on Priceline and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Excellent service, beautiful clean rooms and overall a great value for the price. Highly highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTIHotelManager, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the River Terrace Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A great location and comfortable rooms...though the AC took some time to function
correctly. Great and helpful staff.
Just a great location that allows easy access to downtown and wine country.
The Terrace is a great place to eat some cheese and sip some quality wine.
The pool mis small but a soilid place to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: All locations look good, but getting a room facing bthe river may be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We apologize if the pool was not to your liking, however we are glad you enjoyed your time on the Terrace! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the River Terrace Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay for our 25th anniversary. At check in, they gave us keys to a room already occupied, but made up for it with an upgraded room and sent a special gift to our room for the occasion. Friendly professional staff, nice lobby, bar and patio areas. The breakfast that we bought with the package was amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We are honored that you chose us to be a part of such a special occasion! Congratulations on 25 years of marriage, and cheers to many more! We hope that you'll join us again whenever you visit Napa, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

What should have been a perfect birthday weekend was spoiled by River Terrace Inn's incompetence. There were several other reviewers who had said the same things about the issues with billing, but I didn't heed them thinking those were one off instances... Not until it happened to me... The headache of trying to get it resolved post our return was just too much.... Avoid river terrace inn if you want to have a peaceful getaway and not have to worry about your credit card charges.

The room itself was comfortable, the location was a little busy for my taste, resort of some sort right next door and the breakfast was included in the room rate, but just okay. I'm sure there's plenty of other choices in Napa.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. The billing issue you mentioned is simply due to an authorization that we process on every person's credit card while checking in. It is just our way to double check that the funds are available, and the authorization is released shortly after your departure. We hope that we can make it up to you upon future visits to Napa, and we look forward to your return to the River Terrace Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#10 Family Hotel in Napa
#11 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful Napa river side escape. Less than an hour’s drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn offers an elegant Napa Valley retreat. Our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. -No-Charge Cruiser Bike Rental-Pool-Fitness Center-In-Room Spa-Cuvee Napa Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your River Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.