We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River Terrace Inn

Save Saved
You added River Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Terrace Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% OFF
Ranked #12 of 27 hotels in Napa
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband went to a lot of trouble to research our anniversary trip to Napa. This entire trip was a surprise to me. He really thought I would enjoy this hotel. He picked the room specifically because it looked over the river and it had an in-room spa tub. This would have been excellent, but when I endeavored to have a jacuzzi tub, I realized the knob to the jets was broken and the jets couldn't be turned on. The room was on the second floor and overlooked the river and the patio. The patio was a bit loud and we could hear it all in our room. At 5:30 we went down to the lobby for the cheese and wine tasting and the gentleman behind the bar not so politely informed us that it wasn't ready for 2 more minutes. Needless to say, we didn't stay. We took our wine business downtown to the Bounty Hunter. The room was clean. Since I was not the one who took care of the reservation, I had no idea of the room rates, until we checked out. A bit pricey for the accommodations in my opinion. We moved to this hotel after a wonderful night at another property downtown, because it was closer to the wine train -- but I sure wish we had stayed at the other property instead.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered, at we hope that you'll contact the hotel to provide more feedback. We can assure you that this is not the norm! We hope that you'll give us another chance, and we look forward to your return to the River Terrace Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    440
    352
    105
    38
    20
See reviews for
94
515
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is clean and we had a nice balcony and view of the river below. The location was great for access to the local shopping and restaurants. The bar inside the hotel was not well stocked, serviced or manned. Bar tender seemed at an inconvenience to be there. There is a separate restaurant that had good food, but horrible service. I will review that in a separate article under restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! We sincerely apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We can assure you that this is not the norm, and we hope to be able to make it up to you. We look forward to your return, and the opportunity to provide you with our world-class guest service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gualala, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Not the experience I was hoping for. Booked a room on the river not a good view. The room was shabby a the sheets had stains had houskeeping bring us new sheets twice. The hotel was very empty now I know why. Seem like no one was there besides the one person at the desk and the one at the empty bar. Too many other choices in the Valley would not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountereding during your stay. We can assure you this is not the norm, and we would love the opportunity to hear more about your story. Please contact the hotel manager so we can understand the issues you encountered. We hope that you'll give us another chance so we may make up for this previous experience. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My partner and I decided to go for a getaway weekend in Napa. We looked at various properties before committing to the River Terrace Inn, which had the overall best value (price, amenities, comfort, location). On Fridays, the hotel provides a tasty cheese board and hosts a local winery -- Mumm Napa on this particular weekend. The rep from Mumm Napa was lovely, told us about a tasting coupon at the front desk, and so we added it to our tour list. We took a cheese plate, the complimentary sparkling wine, and enjoyed the dusk low-key by the fire pit.

About the the room: it was everything we expected, except for the high ceilings and large bathroom. The bathroom was our favorite by far! Weird, right? It boasted an beautifully tiled walk-in shower with dual shower heads, mood lighting (lots of switches), shag rug, and a toilet separated by a partial partitioned wall. Well done.

We didn't dine at the hotel restaurant, Cuvee, but we did enjoy the 3-minute car ride to dine downtown at Tarla Mediterranean Grill. The dinner, which like the hotel -- was unpretentious, uncomplicated, beautifully prepared, and... delicious? Well I can't say the hotel was delicious. The next morning we biked (free bike rentals) to Oxbow Market for brunch. Perfect day.

We loved the hotel and everything surrounding it, which we graciously absorbed. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and time in Napa. On your next visit be sure to try out our restaurant Cuvee, you will surely love it! WE hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A few months ago we stayed at the White House Inn in Napa and decided to try this property as we've been to one of their sister properties in Daytona Beach, FL and it is a stunning property.

But, that is where the similarities end...

The hotel rooms or service were no better or worse than a general Marriott or Hilton property.

With 30 people outside by their river side fire pit, the staff told our group that the music played from my cell phone was "too loud". Considering that 25 of the 30 people outside were NOT with our group, I was slightly miffed. When I asked that the GM contact me about this personally, I was told that the GM was not on property. When Iasked that the GM contact me in the morning, the GM never did.


The restaurant "Cuvee" was average and our lunch order was a total miss by the chef who forgot to include ingredients (salad dressing) on a main course salad. Since we were the only ones in there on a Thursday for lunch, we didn't go back for dinner later in the weekend.

Back to the White House Inn...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We have looked into this situation, and hope to be able to come to a solution with you. We are working on updating various things within our restaurant, and we are sorry if it did not live up to your expectations. We do have to keep noise to a minimum at times, so we are sorry if this inconvenienced you in any way. We hope that you'll give us another chance, and we look forward to your return to the River Terrace Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed only for one night but was very pleasantly surprised. The room was large with high ceilings and well equipped with a comfy King bed, sofa, balcony, fridge, robes, and a very sumptuous bathroom: No tub but a large shower with double shower heads. The fitness room looked kind of small but the pool looked cozy. Breakfast in their onsite restaurant Cuvee was excellent and friendly. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear travl4fun2,
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback.

We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. It is our prerogative to provide every guest with the highest quality guest service. Cuvee is certainly a treat, and we are pleased that you liked it!

We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the River Terrace Inn!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked a room at the River Terrace Inn through Hotel Tonight and were pleased with our room (room 201, a corner room). It was clean, tastefully decorated with plenty of light, and spacious. The room was big enough to have a vanity area outside the spacious bathroom (with whirlpool shower tub), as well as a sitting couch and coffee table and desk in the main room without feeling crowded at all. The bed was really comfortable. Our only complaint about the room was that the walls and floor were structurally flimsy, so that people walking around either upstairs or next door caused pretty loud vibrations in our room.

Location-wise, the hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Oxbow public market, which is itself a short walk from the main downtown area and the river walk. However, it's right on the outside edge of the downtown district rather than in the heart of it (like the more expensive Napa River Inn).

We generally don't use hotel services, so can't comment on those, other than to note that they seem a bit more self-serve than full-service.

Overall, good value and no complaints.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for the review. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Our hotel has a wonderful location near downtown Napa and the Oxbow market, however, we are not in the heart of Napa. We do have a great location near the wine train, so it's a nice adventure through wine country. If you haven't had the chance to take the train, definitely make this a must-see for your next trip! Again, we are pleased to hear your wonderful comments concerning the rooms and amenities offered at the hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us at the River Terrace Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#10 Family Hotel in Napa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#14 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful Napa river side escape. Less than an hour’s drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn offers an elegant Napa Valley retreat. Our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. -No-Charge Cruiser Bike Rental-Pool-Fitness Center-In-Room Spa-Cuvee Napa Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your River Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.