We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent attention to detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Terrace Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added River Terrace Inn to your Saves list
River Terrace Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% OFF
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Napa
El Cerrito, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our first time at the River Terrace Inn, and I was completely impressed. I'm highly allergic to scents and perfumes, and most hotels use some kind of fragrance as part of their usual housekeeping procedure. I called ahead to request a fragrance-free room, then confirmed the request the day before arriving; the room was completely scent-free! It was a tremendous relief, and harder to accomplish (for someone as sensitive to such things as I am) than it sounds.

The staff was welcoming and friendly every single time we saw anyone, but they were never intrusive or overly-helpful. We did have a problem with the heat in our room (couldn't turn it on at first, then couldn't turn it off), but we never got around to reporting it, so it's hardly the hotel's fault. The one problem we did report - an issue with the television - was resolved for us almost immediately.

Everything else was pretty well as advertised: comfortable bed, enormous jetted tub, great location. It was just a bonus that there's a mini-fridge in the room (in addition to the honor-bar refrigerator) to hold leftovers, beverages, and so on.

We had a lovely evening at the River Terrace Inn, and we'll definitely check in again if we come back to Napa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    380
    115
    41
    22
See reviews for
102
556
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilliard, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I had a great experience at the River Terrace Inn for our 2nd anniversary. Hotel was clean and well-maintained, but also had that something special. We enjoyed dining on the outdoor patio and walking along the trail behind the hotel. Downtown Napa was within walking distance for us, and the wine train is *right nearby. Trip Advisor reviews helped me select the hotel, and I wanted to make sure to pay it forward with a helpful review. Great place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My friend and I were doing a girls weekend and knew we wanted to stay the night after our day tours and wanted to be close to the downtown scene. This hotel was the most decent price for a Saturday night that I could find. It is walking distance from downtown and right next to their great restaurant Cuvée. The room was ready for us early so we could check in before we left for our 11am bus tour. The room was very neat and modern. They also had a cool lobby area with a wine bar and some food. I would definitely return on my next trip to Napa!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, NH
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was a while since I last stayed at River Terrace Inn. Loved it the first time and tried for a 2nd. Reading the reviews by other travelers made me nervous with my choice. I can see the reason for some of the high scores and other not so comments. The website was challenging to make a reservation direct -- called the hotel and they didn't even know of their promotions or specials. After negotiating about other sites prices was offered a very good rate! Check in ok-- not exciting or welcoming. Rooms average-- the beds however Wonderful!! Nice shower too. The bartender on for Fri and Sat - was nasty and rude. We missed the complimentary testing by 5 minutes and he made us the butt of his jokes with other guests. Breakfast is buy as you eat-- or go their restaurant (visit Oxbow Market instead--short walk from hotel) Doesn't seem boutiquety anymore -- more chain like, but would recommend for comfort and convenience -- and shop for best price.

Room Tip: River view rooms not worth the extra $ -- Village rooms on weekends get to watch hot air balloons f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear hr1313,

We are very sorry that we did not impress you this time around. I can assure you that being an independant boutique property is very important to us and we want all of our guests to experience this charm. We are sorry we missed our opportunity with you during your stay. I am glad to hear that you did enjoy our beds, showers and convenience to nearby attractions. We do hope you consider us again on your next stay, we would love the opportunity to win you back as a guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a problem at check in. The front desk manager seemed to be incompetent, having to rely on his staff to correct the problem. When we stopped by the desk three different times to speak with him, he was never available and the clerks said he didn't have a pager/phone. The hotel itself is nice but lack of professionalism hurt. Good size rooms and very clean. Friendly bartender.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in September 2012. The staff was friendly, and the location was convenient if you had a car. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, which was nice, with a focus on local wines. Overall stay was pleasant, but forgettable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi psychodana, please don't forget about us!! We are so appreciative of your review, thank you for pointing out some great elements of your stay with us. We would be excited to welcome you back in the future, and hopefully for a longer stay! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We could not stand it. Rooms are old, dark and roaches. Lobby is too dark. Stay away. Good thing is I asked for refund and I got my money back. I did not stay a min. There are a lot better choices around. Try Andaz

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello kasis1212, we thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do find your feedback troubling as we have recently completed a renovation of all of our guest rooms, the new interior design is fresh, clean & modern which our guests have enjoyed. We are surprised to hear them described as dark & old. We also consistently receive recognition for the cleanliness of our rooms. This is something our entire staff takes pride in, I do hope that if you found a insect in your room this was communicated to our team as this is not feedback we receive. I would really appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience, please reach out to me at shapp@riverterraceinn.com or 707-320-6910. We work very hard to provide a comfortable guest experience at our property and this feedback is something that we take very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#10 Family Hotel in Napa
#14 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful Napa river side escape. Less than an hour’s drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn offers an elegant Napa Valley retreat. Our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. -No-Charge Cruiser Bike Rental-Pool-Fitness Center-In-Room Spa-Cuvee Napa Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your River Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.