We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this hotel; great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Terrace Inn

Save Saved
You added River Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Terrace Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% OFF
Ranked #12 of 25 hotels in Napa
Clifton Park, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved this hotel; great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We traveled from New York and booked this hotel based on a tourism book. We were there for 9 nights and had a wonderful experience. From the moment we arrived the staff was cordial and available whenever we needed them. The room was very spacial and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the shower. it's very centrally located. Both the Oxbow Public Market and the downtown area were both within walking distance. If I ever visit the Napa Valley again I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear SCP712,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other users! We are happy you were able to take advantage of our convenient location and our helpful staff and found your room to be comfortable. We are delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience staying with us, and we hope to be considered for your next Napa Valley stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    342
    99
    36
    20
See reviews for
91
494
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
schaumburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A reasonably priced hotel with easy walking to many great restaraunts and wine tasting rooms. The property overlooks the scenic Napa river, and ajoins a river walk path. Short walk to the famous wine train, and ox bow market. Spacious rooms with with balconies and very comfortable king beds. Very courteous staff and helpful concierge. You won't be disappointed here !

Room Tip: ask for 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Bob Z,

We are happy to hear about your wonderful experience and that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, including the helpful and friendly staff, spacious rooms, and breath-taking balcony view! We strive to provide the ultimate experience for each and every guest. Thank you for submitting a review of your experience. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

First two stays here were great. This one not so much. Wondering if it was bought by a big chain? Overall the hotel seems to lack presence of management, and there are staff training and communication issues. Our stay was a series of annoyances that shouldn't happen when paying $400/night. Just a few highlights: At check in - no bell men present anywhere, outside or inside, no one asked about our bags at all at the check in desk. We changed our reservation to check out a day early, and the desk clerk kept adding a day and telling us she could not accomodate us because they were booked, no matter how many ways I told her we were staying one day less, not more. Our room was a "village view" which is a view of the parking lot and industrial road. I am pretty sure (but not positive) that I booked a river view room so didn't bother going to the desk again. (I may be wrong about the room type, but $400/night to look at a parking lot?) The mini bar/wine bar in the room was basically barren, with a couple items strewn around, and never stocked during our stay. You are charged by sensor, so if an item is moved, that's considered a charge. I explained at the desk that we did not care if it were restocked, but simply wanted them to know that we move/consume any items, and that was like a 10 minute conversation to get the point across. There was no morning coffee in the lobby - we were told that the coffee machine was broken. We went to Starbucks, and came back to see that there was suddenly coffee in the lobby. Some days there were newspapers, some days not, no water in the fitness center. Upon checkout, no one even bothered to ask how our stay was. I reserved the room with my credit card and intended to pay for the room as a birthday gift for my husband. He gave the desk his card for incidentals. I explicitly asked to have the stay charged on my credit card, and was assured at check out, and they charged it to my husband's. I completed an email survey explaining all of these issues, received one call from a manager, which I promptly returned, and never got another call back. I waited to post this review until I heard from the manager again, but I have been waiting a month.

Room Tip: Hmmm.....Try the Westin next door?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear tmmrd,

Thank you for making us aware of any concerns or disappointments you have regarding your recent stay with us. We strive to provide the ultimate experience for each and every guest, and we sincerely value your thoughts as we continue to strive to please and gain the loyalty of our guests. Thank you again for submitting such a detailed review of your experience, and we will pass on your comments to our management team. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future to improve your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was in charge of planning a small conference (50 people) for our organization in Napa. A friend and I visited several properties and eventually decided that the River Terrace Inn was the best fit for us. It had the charm of the river behind us, the five minute walk to the Oxbow Market and easy access into the city. The rooms were nice and the staff accomodating. For instance, they arrange wine tastings every Friday but we requested wine tastings on Thursday and Saturday as well. They arranged that for us. Our members were thrilled with that and it gave us a nice starting point in the lobby on Thursday before heading over to the dinner that they arranged for us at Cuvee (just across the parking lot). We had a delicious banquet there. Everyone was very pleased with the quality of the food. There are, of course, more luxurious and romantic places to stay Up Valley but I am absolutely thrilled with the way they took care of my group. I can also give a helpful tip if you don't want the cold breakfast offered in the lobby or the hot breakfast offered at Cuvee. Take the short walk along the river bank past the Westin, cut through the field and turn left past the Poor House (a shop) and the Fatted Calf to the Model Bakery for one of their Breakfast Sandwiches that are made on homemade English muffins and are beyond delicious. The walk and the sandwich are a perfect start to the day.
We appreciated the rooms that were blocked at a very favorable rate for the conference. I was very pleased with the River Terrace Inn!

Room Tip: It is a little more for the River View rooms. I thought it was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear JanetDW,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! We are happy that you were able to take advantage of our accommodating staff, wine tastings, and delicious Cuvee dishes during your conference stay! We are excited to hear that many aspects of your stay contributed to your overall wonderful experience. We hope that you will consider staying with us again for your next Napa Valley experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Friendly staff and good value for the money. Not much in the way of food options and no night life nearby. Drinking coffee each morning looking out on the river as the sun was comuing up or jogging around the trail in the morning was great. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here last month while spending a night in Napa. It was really comfortable, spacious and the staff were most accommodating. Handy parking out front. Beds were super comfortable and our room had a lovely view overlooking the river. Breakfast was served in the neighbouring restaurant, Cuvee, and it was spectactular. As the River Terrace Inn is within walking distance of the town center, and it's also very convenient for the wine train, I would totally recommend as the ideal base in Napa.

Room Tip: Request a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear hotelrate,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and others. We are delighted to hear that so many aspects of your visit contributed to your positive experience. We are happy that you were able to take advantage of our helpful staff, spacious rooms, and delicious dining options at our restaurant, Cuvee. Thank you again for submitting a review as we strive to provide the ultimate experience for each and every guest. We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again for future Napa Valley visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, clean and quiet. We stayed for two nights and were pleased with our stay. The location is at the beginning of the wineries and near the wine train. The king room was a nice size and not crammed. The bathroom was updated and spacious. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#11 Business Hotel in Napa
#11 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful Napa river side escape. Less than an hour’s drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn offers an elegant Napa Valley retreat. Our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. -No-Charge Cruiser Bike Rental-Pool-Fitness Center-In-Room Spa-Cuvee Napa Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your River Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.