We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay over Thanksgiving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carneros Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Carneros Inn to your Saves list
The Carneros Inn
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice stay over Thanksgiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our family enjoyed our stay in one of residences over Thanksgiving. While the property was supposedly full, it was very quiet and we never would have guessed this which was quite nice. The view from the hilltop pool was stunning. It was a nice place to stay with family- we enjoyed playing bocci, swimming, hanging out, etc., but you do need to drive in order to get to the vast majority of winerys.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    117
    51
    26
    19
See reviews for
82
488
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

If you're looking for a peaceful, romantic quiet get away in Napa, this is the place for you. It is NOT the right place to go if you want lots of wineries near by, or a party hotel.

With that in mind, I was definitely looking for the first option, so I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Everything from the personel at check in to the cottages were great. They offer you wine upon check in, and have these delicious truffles in the front office. Housekeeping was very professional - the room was always spotless, and they did two services a day - clean up and turn down service. Everything about the room was great - comfy bed, heated bathroom floors, and the awesome showers with multiple jets on the wall.

However, despite the pros, I feel like these items are sort of expected from a five star hotel and the price they charge... and I am taking away a few stars for two reasons:


However, despite the pros, I'm ranking the hotel only two stars because the items above are pretty much expected for a five star property and the price. They didn't do anything to blow me away - instead, there were two items that actually worked against them:

1) We had a maintenance issue that never got resolved. During our stay, our TV reception became very spotty and was flickering constantly. Normally, this wouldn't be a too big of an issue, but this was during the Niners / Seahawks football game, which I HAD to watch. We called the front desk and they said they would send someone up in 15 minutes - an hour later, nothing. We had to call again to remind them, and I even stressed the urgency that I really wanted to watch the game. They sent someone right away after the second call, but he came to the room and had no suggestions to fix it. He said that it was just likely a reception issue and would need a new box, which we would not be getting before we checked out the next morning. I understand that issues like this happen, but they offered NO remedy or compensation - for a nice hotel like this with the price tag, they should have offered to move us to another room with a working tv, or give us drink coupons for us to watch the game in the bar or something. Instead, he just apologized and went on his way.

2) Like others have mentioned, the area is remote, which is fine, but for a pricey place, they should at least offer complimentary car rides within a certain radius like almost all other five star hotels do. It's Napa, people go there to drink wine, so this sort of service is pretty much expected, but they do not offer it.

Tip:
If you're looking for something to do, rent the complimentary bikes and bike over to Artesa and Michael Mondavi on the way back (do them in that order - Artesa is up a huge hill, so get out of the way first before any liquor! At night we would always drive over to downtown which was about a 20 minute drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I did a summer wine tasting trip and stayed at the Carneros Inn. What a great decision that was! Its such a cool hotel with each room being its own little cottage. We enjoyed the breath taking views while relaxing by the pool, enjoyed the gourmet restaurants on property, and even managed to fit in a yoga class.
We loved the Carneros Inn and constantly recommend it to all of our friends who visit Napa.

The rooms were very large, large bathrooms, large porch and patio, and exceptional overall.

One of my favorite resorts in the U.S.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 11th wedding anniversary in Napa Valley and stayed at the Carneros Inn. We are SOO happy with our decision to stay there. Initially, despite the beautiful pictures of the property, we were hesitant to stay so far down valley from Yountville and St. Helena but we are extremely happy with our decision. The drive was not bad at all, it was beautiful (taking Silverado Trail) or fast on the main highway and still not far at all. Our room was really cute - very romantic with an indoor/outdoor shower and private patio. The bed was VERY comfortable. The property itself is very big, but since it's cottages it felt small once we were in our nook. The grounds are immaculate. Beautiful views from the hilltop, friendly staff...though we like to stay to our selves and didn't "use" the staff all the often besides checkin, house keeping and the bar. We did get a pretty good deal for the off season and if we got a deal like that again, we would gladly stay all over again.

Room Tip: Hilltop is quieter (no street noise) and closer to the adult only pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Carneros Inn was beautiful, with personal cottages that had a beautiful big bathroom, as well as a personal outdoor space which included a heat lamp and outdoor shower. The concierge was fantastic, and helped me book quite a few wine tours, and made changes for me, multiple times. Not once did they complain! They also helped booked dinner, arranged car service, etc. I was VERY pleased with the service. One thing that was a challenge was the location, it was very far away from restaurants (35 minute drive), and therefore a cab was around $50.00 each way. We ended up getting a driver because it was essentially the same amount! Overall though, lovely hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Carneros Inn is by far the worst hotel I have ever visited. We paid over $900 per night for a small room that was dirty, covered in dust and run down. We booked our stay in late August 2013 based on a recommendation from the American Express concierge that it was a five star property. It was a one star property at best. Nothing remotely near the quality of the Montage at Deer Valley where we stayed the week before, or the Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. Compounding the problem after we pointed out the dust and dirt in the room, hotel management did nothing to accommodate us and took the position that is just the way things are in Napa.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I've stayed in some of the best hotels around the world and their customer service was very poor! I am thoroughly disappointed. The facilities were nice, but you don't pay that price point and get poor service. They have a lot to learn from places like St. Regis hotel in San Francisco, where I eventually moved to. I am sad to say, I will never be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Carneros Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carneros Inn

Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#2 Business Hotel in Napa
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Carneros Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the beautiful Carneros winegrowing region is The Carneros Inn, a luxurious Napa Valley retreat designed to make absolutely everything feel better. The Carneros Inn, a PlumpJack Resort, was created to provide an intimate atmosphere of Napa Valley hospitality reminiscent of its unique surroundings. Nestled among 27 acres of seemingly endless rows of grape vines, bucolic Napa farmland and scenic apple orchards, The Carneros Inn's design was based on cues from the local countryside - including barns, silos and ranchers' cottages - combined with stylish resort accommodations and modern interiors to capture the region's distinct charm as well as the needs of our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Carneros Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
The Carneros Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carneros Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.