We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect honeymoon at the Carneros Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carneros Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Carneros Inn to your Saves list
The Carneros Inn
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A perfect honeymoon at the Carneros Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Carneros Inn for part of our honeymoon in October 2010. This is the most amazing property that I've ever stayed at and we still talk about the wonderful time we had here. We had a vineyard view cottage and were greeted with a handwritten note, bottle of wine, and cheese platter when we got to our guest cottage. We enjoyed breakfast on our private patio and walking the amazing grounds. The heated floors in the bathrooms were a nice touch and I loved the décor and design so much that we replicated the bathroom when my husband and I built our house earlier this year. FARM was amazing, we had a great picnic lunch from the Market, and enjoyed chatting with other honeymooners over breakfast at the Boon Fly. We had a perfect experience and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    95
    47
    22
    18
See reviews for
62
394
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for one night in late September and had a really wonderful and memorable time. Check-in was a relaxing experience; we were ushered into the reception area and offered a seat and a check-in table, and were then offered us a glass of wine. Our room keys in hand, we were then driven by golf cart to our cottage, "Lee #5." Beautifully decorated; very modern with an abundance of amenities. And like the other guests have said, having a standalone cottage complete with huge bathroom, outdoor shower and back "deck" made it feel like a home away from home.

Additionally, I had stated in our reservations that it was our anniversary so it was a very nice surprise to receive a complimentary bottle of champagne delivered to our room with a nice card, shortly after we arrived.

We ate dinner at The Farm and despite only being able to secure 5:30p.m. reservations, we ended up making a night of it and never felt rushed in the least. It was a leisurely dinner filled with amazing food and incredible muddled blueberry ginger cocktails. We then went outside to enjoy one of the many firepits alongside the restaurant. It was a fairly busy night which provided good energy without feeling cramped or crowded.

We then made our way to the hot tub and had a quick soak; well worth doing late at night when the air is extremely crisp and the hot water felt amazing.

Our reservations included a $40 breakfast coupon. While it certainly didn't cover all of our breakfast up at the Hilltop Dining Room, it certainly helped. Breakfast was wonderful as well.

I certainly would have stayed longer and taken advantage of the fitness and spa facilities but will have to save those experiences for next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We love The Carneros Inn. We even had our wedding here, so we go back every year to celebrate our anniversary. It's a beautiful and peaceful property. There's nothing not to like about it. However, the reservation staff could be friendlier.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We just stayed 4 nights in a cottage and loved everything about it! The "back yard" with fireplace,soaking tub , outdoor shower and seating areas was awesome! We booked for our 10yr anniversary and they comped us a bottle of champaign, a "smores kit" and a $100 food and Bev credit. The grounds are beautiful especially the hilltop pool area. Make sure you try a few of the signature cocktails at the pool. Yes, Carneros is on the high end but at the saying goes "you get what you pay for".

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Carneros Inn for my 30th birthday celebration. It's a great property with gorgeous cabins in the woods. The rooms are a little small but are extremely luxuriously appointed with heated floors, fluffy beds, fireplaces, and a fabulous outdoor area. Make sure you splurge and get the Harvest Cottage so you can enjoy the outdoor tub and fire pit. The pool is lovely and Boon Fly was delish---we loved the donuts! I would give everything an A with the exception of the spa service and staff. The spa facilities were a bit small and my massage was just ok--nothing special. The spa staff was actually extremely rude to my husband upon arrival. We arrived an hour before check in time and were told we would have full use of the facilities until our room became available. The spa is directly next to the check in area and my husband went in to use the restroom but was told by the spa staff that he could change in the men's room but could not use the restroom?!? When my husband explained that the front desk told us we could use the facilities until our room was ready the rude employee still stated that the restroom was for changing only and would not let him into the Men's locker room stating they did not want "traffic". Unbelievable!!! Not a great way to start a trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have taken many trips to the spa here at the Carneros Inn but on this occasion I was in such a wonderful mood. I walked in and everything seemed great except for the lady at the front desk (I believe her name began with an Eliza or Elizabeth?) I mean could she not smile? She gave a a look like a skunk had walked into the room...maybe she was having a bad day but my spa was worth it and not to mention that the staff was so wonderful overall. I cannot wait for my next business trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We keep coming back to this amazing hotel for two reasons...the amazing service and the privacy. Whether you never leave your room..which will include an amazing outside shower or tub or whether you just crash post wine tastings in your cozy room, you will have a great time here. The staff, the food, the amenities and the rooms...all are the best in town.

We can't wait to go back again.

Ooh and the doughnuts. You have to get the doughnuts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carneros Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carneros Inn

Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#8 Business Hotel in Napa
#8 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Carneros Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Carneros Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
The Carneros Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carneros Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.