We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carneros Inn

Save Saved
You added The Carneros Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
The Carneros Inn
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 hotels in Napa
San Mateo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We love The Carneros Inn. We even had our wedding here, so we go back every year to celebrate our anniversary. It's a beautiful and peaceful property. There's nothing not to like about it. However, the reservation staff could be friendlier.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    421
    82
    39
    20
    16
See reviews for
50
353
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We just stayed 4 nights in a cottage and loved everything about it! The "back yard" with fireplace,soaking tub , outdoor shower and seating areas was awesome! We booked for our 10yr anniversary and they comped us a bottle of champaign, a "smores kit" and a $100 food and Bev credit. The grounds are beautiful especially the hilltop pool area. Make sure you try a few of the signature cocktails at the pool. Yes, Carneros is on the high end but at the saying goes "you get what you pay for".

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Carneros Inn for my 30th birthday celebration. It's a great property with gorgeous cabins in the woods. The rooms are a little small but are extremely luxuriously appointed with heated floors, fluffy beds, fireplaces, and a fabulous outdoor area. Make sure you splurge and get the Harvest Cottage so you can enjoy the outdoor tub and fire pit. The pool is lovely and Boon Fly was delish---we loved the donuts! I would give everything an A with the exception of the spa service and staff. The spa facilities were a bit small and my massage was just ok--nothing special. The spa staff was actually extremely rude to my husband upon arrival. We arrived an hour before check in time and were told we would have full use of the facilities until our room became available. The spa is directly next to the check in area and my husband went in to use the restroom but was told by the spa staff that he could change in the men's room but could not use the restroom?!? When my husband explained that the front desk told us we could use the facilities until our room was ready the rude employee still stated that the restroom was for changing only and would not let him into the Men's locker room stating they did not want "traffic". Unbelievable!!! Not a great way to start a trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have taken many trips to the spa here at the Carneros Inn but on this occasion I was in such a wonderful mood. I walked in and everything seemed great except for the lady at the front desk (I believe her name began with an Eliza or Elizabeth?) I mean could she not smile? She gave a a look like a skunk had walked into the room...maybe she was having a bad day but my spa was worth it and not to mention that the staff was so wonderful overall. I cannot wait for my next business trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We keep coming back to this amazing hotel for two reasons...the amazing service and the privacy. Whether you never leave your room..which will include an amazing outside shower or tub or whether you just crash post wine tastings in your cozy room, you will have a great time here. The staff, the food, the amenities and the rooms...all are the best in town.

We can't wait to go back again.

Ooh and the doughnuts. You have to get the doughnuts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Although the rooms inside were very nice, we found the property really strange. The layout was confusing and the corrugated metal "cottages" looked more like industrial shacks. The place felt impermanent and flimsy, not like the sturdy weathered farmhouses you imagine in this part of the world.

Worst part was the service. After the glass of wine upon arrival (which was really nice), all went downhill. Needed to put our champagne bottle on ice before heading to the pool before dinner, but there was no way to get ice self-service. So I called for ice several times. Over an hour later, a half bucket was delivered, not enough for icing our bottle and leaving not enough time to hit the pool. Aaarggh....

But wait. Even worse was their policy that housekeeping can take anything they think is trash from your room, even things you don't put in the trash can. Be forewarned! Don't leave sentimental items (ticket stubs, corks, love notes, etc.) sitting on counters! We have traveled all over the world and have never seen a hotel policy like this. We sadly learned about the policy after these sentimental items (which we carefully placed on the fireplace mantel) were taken by housekeeping as trash. Management was completely unhelpful and unapologetic. "Most corks ARE trash," we were told, very rudely. They did not understand why we were baffled at their housekeeping policy. They wouldn't even help us track down the staff who might still have our room's garbage in a bag somewhere. Wouldn't help my husband look for it, although they did unlock the dumpster for him but not until midnight, over an hour after we first complained. They didn't comp any part of our stay or make any apologies. Showed complete lack of empathy or understanding.

Although that was almost a year ago, we were talking about our horrible experience as we were planning another anniversary trip to wine country this year. Perhaps the staff and housekeeping policy have changed since we stayed there, but I doubt the corrugated metal shacks are gone or that the resort layout has improved. The restaurant FARM was outstanding, a meal I will never forget. Regardless, we are staying FAR away from Carneros Inn this year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The arrival into Carneros is slightly intimidating as you pass multiple entry gates that seem to have ushered you into a glorified camping ground but that is soon forgotten once you arrive at the reception lodge. A glass of cold chardonnay later, whilst being explained the layout and admiring the views, all that disappears. It is actually a very smart move having every room as its own individual little lodge and means that walking to breakfast at the beautiful hilltop restaurant or to dinner at the buzzy Farm becomes more of an event and the two are effectively meeting places for the guests. The grounds are well manicured with fruit trees growing in between lodges and orchards around each turn. Despite being near the road you really cant here it – especially not from up by the pool.
We did the tasting menu at the farm one evening which was delicious, and fairly priced. The staff across the hotel were knowledgeable and a delight – the only blemish on our stay was some sloppy service on the second evening . Also the gym was the best equipped of all the hotels we stayed at.
The big downside to this hotel though is the price – at $700 for the night it was comfortably more than any of the other hotels on our trip and a staggering $200 per night more than post ranch inn and this didn’t include breakfast…we had no options due to a late change caused by the Rim Fire…once you have sunk the cost though it is a beautiful place and a great venue to base yourself for wine tasting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Carneros Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carneros Inn

Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
The Carneros Hotel
Carneros Inn
The Carneros Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA
Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#7 Business Hotel in Napa
#12 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Carneros Inn 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Carneros Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carneros Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.