We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most romantic place in Napa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carneros Inn

Save Saved
You added The Carneros Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carneros Inn
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Napa
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The most romantic place in Napa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We keep coming back to this amazing hotel for two reasons...the amazing service and the privacy. Whether you never leave your room..which will include an amazing outside shower or tub or whether you just crash post wine tastings in your cozy room, you will have a great time here. The staff, the food, the amenities and the rooms...all are the best in town.

We can't wait to go back again.

Ooh and the doughnuts. You have to get the doughnuts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    89
    44
    21
    16
See reviews for
58
372
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Although the rooms inside were very nice, we found the property really strange. The layout was confusing and the corrugated metal "cottages" looked more like industrial shacks. The place felt impermanent and flimsy, not like the sturdy weathered farmhouses you imagine in this part of the world.

Worst part was the service. After the glass of wine upon arrival (which was really nice), all went downhill. Needed to put our champagne bottle on ice before heading to the pool before dinner, but there was no way to get ice self-service. So I called for ice several times. Over an hour later, a half bucket was delivered, not enough for icing our bottle and leaving not enough time to hit the pool. Aaarggh....

But wait. Even worse was their policy that housekeeping can take anything they think is trash from your room, even things you don't put in the trash can. Be forewarned! Don't leave sentimental items (ticket stubs, corks, love notes, etc.) sitting on counters! We have traveled all over the world and have never seen a hotel policy like this. We sadly learned about the policy after these sentimental items (which we carefully placed on the fireplace mantel) were taken by housekeeping as trash. Management was completely unhelpful and unapologetic. "Most corks ARE trash," we were told, very rudely. They did not understand why we were baffled at their housekeeping policy. They wouldn't even help us track down the staff who might still have our room's garbage in a bag somewhere. Wouldn't help my husband look for it, although they did unlock the dumpster for him but not until midnight, over an hour after we first complained. They didn't comp any part of our stay or make any apologies. Showed complete lack of empathy or understanding.

Although that was almost a year ago, we were talking about our horrible experience as we were planning another anniversary trip to wine country this year. Perhaps the staff and housekeeping policy have changed since we stayed there, but I doubt the corrugated metal shacks are gone or that the resort layout has improved. The restaurant FARM was outstanding, a meal I will never forget. Regardless, we are staying FAR away from Carneros Inn this year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The arrival into Carneros is slightly intimidating as you pass multiple entry gates that seem to have ushered you into a glorified camping ground but that is soon forgotten once you arrive at the reception lodge. A glass of cold chardonnay later, whilst being explained the layout and admiring the views, all that disappears. It is actually a very smart move having every room as its own individual little lodge and means that walking to breakfast at the beautiful hilltop restaurant or to dinner at the buzzy Farm becomes more of an event and the two are effectively meeting places for the guests. The grounds are well manicured with fruit trees growing in between lodges and orchards around each turn. Despite being near the road you really cant here it – especially not from up by the pool.
We did the tasting menu at the farm one evening which was delicious, and fairly priced. The staff across the hotel were knowledgeable and a delight – the only blemish on our stay was some sloppy service on the second evening . Also the gym was the best equipped of all the hotels we stayed at.
The big downside to this hotel though is the price – at $700 for the night it was comfortably more than any of the other hotels on our trip and a staggering $200 per night more than post ranch inn and this didn’t include breakfast…we had no options due to a late change caused by the Rim Fire…once you have sunk the cost though it is a beautiful place and a great venue to base yourself for wine tasting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is impressive from the moment you drive up! It somehow manages to capture that eco-friendly, small, local farm vibe without sacrificing an ounce of luxury! The cottages are an experience all on their own. They are small and cozy, but very nice. Love the outdoor space! The restaurants are amazing and the service is top-notch. We didn't get a chance to ride the bikes they offer, so next time that's a must! This place is great for relaxing. I wish we would have had more down time to spend here. Pool is great too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Carneros Inn for 3 nights at the end of our tour of Northern CA. It was a very relaxing and beautiful way to end a memorable trip. Our family of four stayed in the Family Suite which consists of two units that share a courtyard. One room had a king size bed, and the other two double beds.

We chose the Carneros Inn because of the unique room cottages and beautiful landscaping. We wanted to relax and this was the perfect place. Being kid friendly was also a major selling point. The suite was great and having kid menus and a family pool made our family feel welcome.

What we liked:
- cleaning staff was great. They may not come first thing in the morning but they do a nice job and turn down service was our favorite. Thanks for the chocolate!
- the heated bathroom floors are now a must for any home remodeling projects in our future.
- we all loved the outside shower. Most talked about hotel feature in all of CA travels.
- toys at the pool so we didn't have to bring our own
- Marketplace to grab sandwiches, snacks, drinks that were reasonably prices
- Large property with lost of space and fantastic views
- Cottages equal privacy
- Refrigerator refilled with water and soda daily
- Secluded location away from congestion of more central wine country hotels

Areas for improvement:
- Check in staff, bellhop (for lack of better term), restaurant staff were all too cold for my liking. They are tying to give off an air of sophistication and it comes off a little too formal and unwelcoming. It is ok to be happy.
- No ice machines and room attendants do no supply ice. You must call room service. We called room service but had to leave 30 minutes later. No ice was provided in that time frame.
- Boon Fly Cafe was hit or miss for dinner. Breakfast reviews sound good but we thought you could do much better elsewhere in the Napa area.
- If you like to unpack, there is very little drawer space to store your things.
- All of the chairs in the family pool should be as padded as the chairs in the adult pool. Plus lots of bird poo and bird feathers all over the family pool.

Note: you will need to drive a little (10-40 minutes) to most wineries but that wasn't a problem for us. Also, my girls (ages 6 & 9) were nervous (to my surprise) about sleeping in a cottage that wasn't exactly attached but attached via a courtyard. The courtyard was locked and had a high wall plus the alley way behind the units was locked but they still didn't feel comfortable alone. The family suite might be better for families with preteens or teen children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean, VA, USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had an incredible long weekend here! It was my wife and I's first stay at Carneros Inn. We were with 4 other couples. The set up is excellent, with free loaner bikes, pools, multiple different types of restaurants, a gym and a spa. We stayed in a beautiful cottage and absolutely loved it. Our cottage was absolutely gorgeous. We loved the indoor/outdoor shower and the fully inclosed patio with lounge charis, table, etc... Of the three nights two were spent late in to the evening drinking wine and having laughs on our patio. The first night we ate dinner in a private room at Farm and it was excellent, the steak was actually mouth watering and the service was fantastic. The resort helped arrange all of our wine tastings, lunches at the wineries and excellent transportation as well. We had one other dinner off the resort at an excellent Gastro Pub called Goose and Gander. We visited 3 wineries a day and had private tastings or tours for all of them. The trip was fantastic I would highly recommend the resort.

Room Tip: I saw 5 different cottages and they were all great. Make sure you get the ones with the indoor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Have just returned from my second visit to the Carneros Inn, Napa Valley. Made a very short notice reservation for ourselves and another couple. All that was available was a 2 bedroom residence. Very pricey but worth every penny. WOW ! Residence 12........

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Carneros Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carneros Inn

Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
#7 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Carneros Inn 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Carneros Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
The Carneros Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carneros Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.