We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Spot for Relaxation in Napa Valley!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carneros Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Carneros Inn to your Saves list
The Carneros Inn
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Spot for Relaxation in Napa Valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at The Carneros Inn for 5 nights (August 11-16). This was our second time at the property and we loved it just as much as our first visit!

The check in process was quick and east, made better by a welcome glass of wine.

The cottages are beautifully appointed, complete with heated tiles in the bathroom and outdoor patio with rain shower.

My favorite part of the property is the adult pool - I think the best pool in Napa - infinity edge pool at the top of a hillside overlooking the vineyards and mountains in the distance. Service at the pool was excellent with complimentary waters and suntan lotion, excellent drinks, and solid food and snacks.

A few other fun things about the hotel - there are bikes for rent at the main reception area that we used to bike to nearby wineries - a few tough hills to climb but tons of fun! Also, the bar and outdoor seating area at The Farm at the front of the property is fantastic, and a great place to enjoy before or after dinner cocktails (skip the food at The Farm, overpriced and very foo foo).

We also ate one night at Boon Fly Cafe...excellent food, and a great alternative when wine tasting during the day gets the best of you.

Overall, The Carneros Inn is awesome property with awesome staff and amenities...I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    117
    51
    26
    19
See reviews for
82
491
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Carneros Inn was recommended to us by a friend - great recommendation. It's about an hour from SFO, which is helpful. The Inn is comprised of a little village of cabins that are very well-appointed and were constructed with thought and attention to detail. Heated floors in the washrooms, beautiful back gardens with an outdoor fireplace, trickling, peaceful water, relaxing/sun tanning lounges and a unique outdoor shower. We had a short walk to the pool restaurant were you can sit indoors or out. The service was great and the food both mornings was really tasty and unique. We had dinner reservations at the "Farm" restaurant and it was spectacular. My husband and I voted the dessert - Coco-mos - the best dessert we have ever had - anywhere! Nice little Spa boutique, however, we didn't have a chance to have a spa treatment. They have a couple of pools, and one has a children's pool with cute little child-sized Adirondack chairs. We were also really impressed that the pool/spa were equipped with accessible capabilities. Staff were very helpful, friendly and professional. A really nice option for a Sonoma get-away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I booked the Carneros Inn via American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts program which guarantees a 4pm check-out, Complimentary Breakfast, and a $100 spa credit. Originally we reserved a 2-night stay and in the morning of our 2nd day contacted the front desk to inquire about staying 1 additional night. The front desk rep Michael informed is that our room was not available for the extra night but that they could upgrade us to a slightly larger room for the same rate. He also confirmed that we would still receive all of our AMEX benefits with the exception of an additional spa credit, which is expected since its 1 continuous stay. We accepted and later that day were moved 1 cottage over into our new room. Today, our day of departure, I had a 90 minute spa treatment scheduled from 11:30am-1:00pm. While the spa itself is small and leaves much to be desired, the treatment was great. Feeling nice and relaxed I head back to the room to change for an afternoon at the pool and get a voicemail from Jason at the front desk that we needed up be out of the room at 12pm. I immediately call Jason back she explain to him our AMEX benefits. He claims they do NOT apply since we extended our stay and that we needed to get out of the room immediately or he would charge my card 50% of the daily rate in a very rude manner. So I called American Express and spoke to one of their courteous reps who was bewildered by what the Carneros Inn claimed. She said that AMEX has a contract with all their FHR properties which guarantees the 4pm checkout and even though we extended our stay we are still entitled to all of the FHR benefits. The rep then put me on hold and called the Carneros front desk. After a few minutes of being on hold the lovely AMEX rep came back and said that we were ok to stay until 4pm and that she was sorry for the inconvenience as this is usually never an issue. I was left with a great AMEX impression, as I always have been, but a horrible impression of the Carneros Inn. We come to Napa about 4times/year and usually stay at Calistoga Ranch and next time will be trying Meadowood since they are also a AMEX FHR partner. Carneros has lost our business forever even though we enjoyed the actual property...sad. Worst of all no one from Carneros contacted us after the incident to apologize. Napa has many wonderful properties, no need to return to one with this type of attitude.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is one of those few places that truly lives up to expectations. From the moment you arrive you enter a gated world set-up for romance, relaxation and a wonderful introduction to California wine country. Wonderful bungalows spread-out across fields and paths. An adult pool with a wonderful vista of the valley and a family pool with a lap pool and kids pool to enjoy. Your location is at the "fork in the road" between Napa and Sonoma. If you are good spending more time in Sonoma it's all right there. If you want to be around the Yountville or St. Helena wineries you have a good 30 minute drive. Just depends what your wine country agenda is. I found it worth the drive to have Carneros Inn serve as our home base.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
119 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Location: A bit outside Napa - we found it immediately (with GPS). Great view over Napa valley from the pool area. The resort is perfectly maintained and trimmed to perfection.
Check in and welcome: Very friendly, fast and professional, a glass of complimentary white wine was offered.
Bungalow: Great interior design, roomy, nice mattress, sheets and linens, a fire place for the evenings, spacious bathroom including in- and outside shower, nice terrace with day beds, table and chairs. We only missed a bottle opener, some flat- and tableware for our wines and cheeses, which we bought at the wineries and local shops. This should be a standard feature in a bungalow resort in a wine region. Lots of complimentary water, some fruits and sweets.
The Farm / bar: Perfect area with a fire place and bocce course, great for families, good live music, nice drinks, very friendly staff.
The market: Offers coffee, snacks, drinks and all you might need during your stay. Great chocolate muffins.
Pool area: Two different pools - one for families with children, one for adults only. Friendly, attentive staff. Lots of complimentary water. Great view troughout the valley.
Check out: Smooth and fast. Although it is not cheap, the quality and ambience offered lives up to the prices. It is definitely worth the money. We would book it again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were looking forward to our stay at the Carneros Inn. All the reviews and everything I read online was fabulous. The resort itself is 5 star all the way. I really wanted to rate the property as 5 stars, but the service prevented me to do so.

The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. The cottages have a rustic farm feeling while also being very luxurious. We spent hours sitting outside and enjoying the space (and heaters!).The shower was one of the best I've had in a hotel and wanted to take it home with me. We had breakfast included in our package, which we took full advantage of. I would want to return to this hotel just to enjoy another morning sitting outside eating the delicious food (hash browns were to die for).

Where the property fell short was the service. For example, our first morning the couple we were traveling with were woken up around 7 am by a lawn mower. They called down to the front desk and were told it would be taken care of.... 30 min later and another phone call up and still nothing. While we understand the importance of keeping the grounds beautiful, waking up to a lawn mower after a late night of wine and friends is not what you would expect from a hotel of this caliber. We were also disappointment with the service received at the outside bar. We wanted to enjoy a bottle of wine before our dinner reservations, but it took hunting down a server after waiting almost 20 minutes before we were able to do so. It is unfortunate that these few examples (and a few more including spa availability and housekeeping) left a lasting impression.

I really wanted the Carneros to be my new favorite hotel, and maybe it will be someday. I think this property is only a few details away from perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Not much as to be said outside the title of this review. I will say the beautiful home we stayed in was exquisite and had a marvelous view of the distant vineyards. From the moment we arrived the staff was discourteous, pretentious, and terrible. The front desk manager was condescending, and a juvenile little girl. She was unable to address our concerns, harassed the females with us, and killed the second evening of our trip.

The director of operations is also a complete disgrace and unable to deliver any sort of customer service. If you want a pretty view, with mediocre food, terrible staff, this is your place. Otherwise, try one of the many other better suited options nearby.

Room Tip: The houses towards the far corner from the private gate have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Carneros Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carneros Inn

Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Napa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Carneros Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the beautiful Carneros winegrowing region is The Carneros Inn, a luxurious Napa Valley retreat designed to make absolutely everything feel better. The Carneros Inn, a PlumpJack Resort, was created to provide an intimate atmosphere of Napa Valley hospitality reminiscent of its unique surroundings. Nestled among 27 acres of seemingly endless rows of grape vines, bucolic Napa farmland and scenic apple orchards, The Carneros Inn's design was based on cues from the local countryside - including barns, silos and ranchers' cottages - combined with stylish resort accommodations and modern interiors to capture the region's distinct charm as well as the needs of our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Carneros Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
The Carneros Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carneros Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.