We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not go back again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Carneros Inn

Save Saved
You added The Carneros Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Carneros Inn
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 hotels in Napa
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I would not go back again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed one night and were very disappointed. The layout was interesting and and very pretty. Neat concept. The front desk staff greeted us and was pleasant.

The room was nice, but had a smoke smell from the fire place (we didn't mind it). We went and swam in the pool, which was lovely. When getting back to the villa, we took a shower, but the temperature valve was not working and only dispensed scolding water and fell off the wall. We did the best we could before leaving for dinner, but we called and asked to have the shower fixed and some fresh towels for the morning. We came back after dinner and went to bed assuming everything had been taken care of, it was not. While asleep, house keeping came at 10:30pm with fresh towels waking us up. The next morning we had to leave and realized that the shower was still scolding and the valve ended up on the ground. We called management and they said they wanted to check a few things and took our cell phone to call us and make it right. WE NEVER got a call back and they did not make it right.

The restaurant we went to was their restaurant called FARM and I had the lobster risotto, which was delicious but I ordered the dinner portion (four spoon fulls and I was done) what came out seemed like the appetizer portion. I asked the waiter if a mistake had been made and the manager came over and offered to provide another helping and I declined because I wanted to back to the villa as I was tired. I felt that they should have charged for the appetizer portion, but they did not. I was too tired to say anything and wanted to leave.

We had breakfast at the Boone Fly Cafe, which was awesome. I do recommend it for breakfast and the dinner menu looked great as well. We told the staff we had to get back to SFO to catch our flight and they whipped a fantastic meal quickly.

Room Tip: Until they learn how to manage the property correctly and treat their guest properly, I will never g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    436
    87
    41
    21
    16
See reviews for
57
365
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Loved the cottages and the indoor/outdoor living space. Even in March, we were able to use the outside living space at our cottage. The cottages felt very private. Our room was spacious and clean. having the windows and outdoor area made it feel even larger. The bed was comfortable. One of the better hotel beds we've slept in. The sodas and waters in the fridge are complimentary. The grounds are beautiful. The air temp was a bit cool for me, but my husband enjoyed a morning swim in the hilltop pool. We walked through the other pool area. It was very clean and nicely set up. A few negatives - the fridge was barely cold. There was cream in the fridge that was clearly bad when we checked in. The water took FOREVER to get hot. The shower heads (both of them) on the interior shower were badly caked in calcification/white stuff. On one, the water wasn't coming out of many of the holes and the ones it was coming out of were shooting in all different directions except down. They badly need to be cleaned regularly and may even be too far gone and now need replacement. Even with the poor water from the shower heads, the glass around the shower leaked something terrible. It leaked around the door and around the glass between the shower and tub. It was impossible to not flood the bathroom. Every shower, the bathmat was dripping wet. Given the level of detail paid to everything, the shower head and bad cream in the fridge seemed to be surprising oversights. The outdoor living space in the cottages feels very private, however, we did have neighbors using their outdoor space with friends one evening. They were a bit loud and having some fun. Not really a problem, but It made me realize how not private the cottages can be especially during peak season or when fully booked. I would still absolutely recommend the Carneros Inn. It was a wonderful stay. The guests only Hilltop restaurant t was closed for a private party Saturday night (the day we arrived). The Hilltop restaurant was closed during the week (aside from pool service) so other than one breakfast, we didn't get to experience the "guests only" space or dining. The breakfast at the Farm was very good. Really enjoyed the donuts. The one breakfast we did have at the Hilltop was also good. Seemed to be the same menu as the Farm, just a bit more expensive (but included donuts or pastry and coffee/juice which the Farm didn't). I saw quite a few dogs on Sunday. As a dog lover that was a plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the edge of the property or end of one of the "lanes". Or one that does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our last stop in the Napa Valley and possibly the best. We stayed in a cute cottage which backed on to vineyards so the view was amazing. There are 2 pools, one set on a hill overlooking the vines. We had two good dinners at the restaurants - one formal and one more casual. It's not as centrally located as other hotels but we loved the relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: We looked ours as it had a vineyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great for people who love indoor/outdoor living or if you stay when the weather is warm.

We loved
- Our favorite was the kids pool. Our daughter is two, and we couldn't have had more fun with her at a pool. It's gently sloped from the edge about up to an adults' knees, which allowed her to "swim" all by herself and stand in any depth. It truly made our vacation.
- The gym was fabulous
- The views were gorgeous
- The staff was very attentive

What we didn't love
- The room was small. Not as small as I anticipated having read a review that said there was no where for the suitcase, but annoying in the sense of having to walk around the bed and our baby crib had to be moved to squeeze by.
- The corrugated metal & close quarters felt a bit to us like a trailer park. Sorry, it just did.

Would we stay again? Yes, it was genuinely nice... for $300 when it's warm. Otherwise, it wasn't novel enough for a repeat.

Note: One review talked about a dog kennel & hearing dogs all night. I was worried about this, but we were on the side by the dogs & didn't hear a thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great service and a secluded location, the Carneros Inn is a wonderful location. The staff is fabulous and very helpful. It's location is a bit far from Wineries, but is centrally located between Napa and Sonoma.

The cottages are all impeccably maintained, the outdoor space is ample and usable. Each room has a fireplace and heated bathroom floors which are a wonderful luxury when the evenings are cool.

There are only two restaurants, so keep that in mind if you plan to stay on property the whole time. The menus are decent, but it could be a bit challenging to find something exciting for a whole week. However, downtown Napa is only about 10-15 minutes by car and there are dozens of options there.

The spa is great, and we have never had to worry about it being overbooked. There are bikes and movies (though mostly older stuff that's not very exciting). Be warned that the wireless isn't great. You can check email, but that's about all, don't count on being able to download a movie and watch it.

Two pools are on property. The hilltop one is better, but can get cold when the wind kicks up. It has the advantage of having a hot tub next to it. The views from the hilltop are great and you can enjoy cocktails up the in afternoon.

Overall, this is a great place if you want to relax.

Room Tip: The Mahoney cottages are far away from the bustle and are usually the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is absolutely amazing! Hands down the number one place to stay in my handbook. I've stayed in different hotels all over the world, and I really got blown away with the charm of this Inn. The reception was almost like coming to a close family members home that you haven't seen in awhile. It's a sit down reception where they offer you tea, coffee or wine. It was very warm and polite. There are nice outdoor lawn chair seating where you can see the greenery of the valley for days. I was there during the winter and so it was too cold to go in the gorgeous pool. All of the cottages are so charming, private and modern. We had our own private back patio with laying out chairs and outdoor dining table and outdoor heater. There are two showers one indoor and the other outdoor but it's connected together by simply opening a door. I thought it was a genius idea that they provided toiletries in larger household refillable dispenser instead of those wasteful too hard to squeeze trial size bottles. The bed and linens made me feel like I was sleeping on my own bed at home. All of the drinks in the refrigerator are complimentary. Theres a bar within the property that has fireplaces that you could relax with a drink while taking in the open air and stars. They provide bicycles that you can borrow and ride around the area. The Inn as whole has the right balance of modern and transistional architecture and decor. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed here twice and have been extremely happy. We stayed in one of the smaller 2 bed cottages this time with our 2 children. Though the space is tight the room is cozy. We had a very large outside sitting area which was nice spot for a quiet morning coffee. The breakfast was delicious and we used our AMEX Plat for the FHR amenities. The shower was enormous which our kids loved. We toured around the area and loved the location of the property. One fun highlight was meeting the Architect who designed the Carneros Inn at breakfast! Our kids loved the pool and the boules court.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Carneros Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carneros Inn

Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
#6 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Carneros Inn 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Carneros Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
The Carneros Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carneros Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.