We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carneros Inn

Save Saved
You added The Carneros Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Carneros Inn
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Napa
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Carneros Inn for our anniversary in March. The surroundings are beautiful, we stayed in a Harvest Cottage with the outdoor soaking tub and it could not be more romantic.

We were surprised by a bottle of wine and cheese when we arrived to the room and the room and outdoor space made this stay one of the most unique experiences we have had in a hotel.

The views from the pool were astonishing and it makes you feel in the middle of the country. We had some treatments at the Spa, they were excellent.

We had breakfast at the Hilltop and the food, especially the poached eggs were excellent. We loved the small market within the property and dinner at the Farm was really good, we loved the décor.

We planned a balloon ride over Napa valley, however the weather didn't allow us to do it.

Highly recommended hotel, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    89
    44
    21
    16
See reviews for
58
372
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have stayed here at least 6 times we go every year! This was the first year we were not as happy. I always rave and rave about this hotel, but not so much anymore! It is not being taken care of as usual. The paint was missing everywhere on the outside of the bungalows, and the inside is showing a lot of wear and not as clean as in the past! We had ants (probably due to the rain). They sprayed at least 4 times but not once did they ask us if we wanted to move nor did the manager check in at the end... Not what it use to be!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at the Carneros Inn in early November on a girl's spa weekend and thought the hotel was very good but not exceptional. I stayed in a garden cottage which was really small. The decor was pretty basic, but the room had a comfortable bed, a big bathroom with heated floors and a giant shower area--no bathtub. The cottage had a wonderful private deck with an outdoor shower but given that it was November this was of limited use. The property itself is huge and gorgeous. The service is incredible. Because of the size of the property, if you want to go to the restaurants or the bars at the Inn you need a car or it is a hike. You can call the bell desk and they come and give you a ride and we never had to wait more that a few minutes. The food quality was wonderful at the restaurants--we ate at Boon Fly, the Farm and the Market. Here are the negatives: the property is not well lit at all so walking around at night is not feasible--good thing for their car service. There are no blackout drapes or shutters in the cottages so we were up with the sun as the room was bright. No in-room entertainment system so you can't order movies. The concierge has DVDs but to get them you need to drive to the reception area. The lotions/shampoos do not come in individualized bottles but rather big bottles which I fear they reuse from guest to guest (maybe not but that would be a huge waste). If they do reuse them, I think that is a little gross. All in all, I thought the hotel was overpriced for what we got but maybe that is just Napa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The view from the hilltop is amazing. The Napa valley is round the corner with all its attractions.
The bungalows are lovely, spacious, comfortable and give you the feeling you are staying at a friend's holiday home rather than a hotel.
The hotel has one of the best gyms I have ever seen. The two pools are lovely. The country roads to go running or cycling on are awesome.
The food is great, the Boon Fly cafe is a treat, so is their main restaurant.
The only niggle was the service was a little patchy, at the week end they seemed run over (e.g. room service did not come till 5pm on Saturday, 4pm on Sunday), during the week they seemed distinctly short staffed at the bar or breakfast time.
I would still go back as the rooms are superb, and the amenities top rate.

Room Tip: The compound is very large, try to get a room away from the highway but not too far from the "m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

On a mother and daughter stay at this hotel in September, we were so delighted with our cottage and the outdoor shower! Sounds different, but it was fantastic! The lovely backyard, which is intensely private had a firepit and lounging area as well as a little eating area. The bed was so good, and all of the staff were thoughtful and helpful. It was like being in a special little world. . . We had spa treatments and enjoyed them tremendously. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed at the Carneros inn for my partner's 30th birthday. Concierge was great, setting up a day tour of wineries, and also a car service.

Staff was very accommodating in receiving a gift package and holding onto it until his birthday which was fantastic.

Soaking tub was great, and loved the illy espresso machine in the bathroom. Minibar was complimentary and we had cheese waiting on our arrival. Was slightly surprised at the size of the bedroom - it felt a little cramped.

Had to specifically request an ipod speaker as the room didn't have one.

Only slight negative was during check-in (it was late at night). The rep appeared to not know much about the American Express fine hotels and resorts benefits and we were not offered an upgrade when bigger rooms/houses were available online.

The view off of the patio at the main restaurant in the morning is breathtaking. Definitely recommend having breakfast there.

Spa was nice with a segregated steam room and dry sauna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our group's first visit to the Inn, it is about 15 minutes from downtown Napa so a bit out of the way. The cottages are a interesting concept and the very large outdoor patio's and shower would have been more inviting in the nicer weather. The room we had seem quite small with the fireplace and TV off to the side where you would have to go out of your way to see the fire so we did not light it. TV is on a arm so you could turn it toward the bed if you wish. There were NO dressers for your clothes, only a nightstand with a couple drawers. The heated floor in the bath room was a nice touch. The shower with all its gagets was not very user friendly, we opted to shower outside in the rain on day two for ease and more space. It would be nice if you had children to entertain and wanted the connecting rooms with the shared patio. With nightly average of $550 we all decided we would explore other options in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Carneros Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carneros Inn

Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Business Hotel in Napa
#7 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Carneros Inn 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Carneros Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
The Carneros Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carneros Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.