We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cottages with everything you need” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carneros Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Carneros Inn to your Saves list
The Carneros Inn
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottages with everything you need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Truly lovely little cottages - beautiful rooms with outside area, fantastic bathroom, fireplace indoor and out, espresso machine and the list goes on.
My only regret was I was there for business! Would love to come back for a romantic getaway with my husband.
Meeting room facilities were good - perfect for a retreat / team building.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    98
    47
    24
    18
See reviews for
62
403
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This property is a beautiful enclave of little casitas in Napa. There hotel portion of the property is accessed by private gate which makes it feel even more exclusive as some of the property is open to visitors.

The facilities (main house, private restaurant, spa/fitness center, and pool) are world class and never seem busy.

It is very expensive but you get what you pay for in this case.

Room Tip: Book with your AMEX Centurian or Platinum and receive a complimentary upgrade upon availability and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I got married at The Carneros Inn. I visited the hotel once to get a sense of the property in preparation for our tiny ceremony (11 people), and then again for our three day wedding weekend. Everything was was spectacular, from the weather to the staff hospitality to the restaurants to our room. We used the elopement package through the inn and were really pleased with the different options we had and how everything turned out and the overall luxury of the experience and the really unique/cool/modern design. We'll definitely be back. (If for no other reason than I'm STILL dreaming of the chilaquiles from Boon Fly Cafe.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Really one of the most beautiful settings for a hotel, overlooking mountains and vineyards. We rented a cottage with another couple and the accommodations were superb. The housekeeping was not great, but it wasn't terrible (we had to keep calling them to refill things or clean things they forgot). Food on the premises is quite good with a decent variety for a hotel. Make sure to have breakfast up at the pool outside--the best vistas and so peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My boyfriend took me here for an early Valentine's day weekend, and it exceeded every (already high) expectation. The service was extremely friendly from the moment we arrived when we were offered a delicious glass of pinot noir before being escorted to our private garden cottage. We ate at their restaurant Farm where I had the best oysters of my life, and the hotel was so wonderful that it was hard to drag ourselves out to see the rest of Napa. Our room had a real fire place, an indoor/outdoor shower and a private little garden area. The privacy of having your own cottage is unbeatable... the perfect getaway from busy city life. The grounds are also fantastic, with a 24 hour pool/hot tub perched on top of the hill overlooking the valley.

The only bummer was we couldn't figure out how to get our ipods to work with the TV system - would be nice if they had an iHome or something easier for playing your own music instead of getting stuck with the Easy Listening channel.

Carneros Inn is definitely a splurge but worth every penny... we were supposed to just stay Friday night and within hours decided to extend our stay through Sunday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Carneros Inn about 10 times in the past 5 years and every time our experience gets better. The rooms have been impeccably maintained and even upgraded since we started coming here. From the personal backyard, heated floors in the bathroom and outdoor showers, it's hard to beat Carneros in the valley. Most recently we splurged and stayed in a room with an outdoor bathtub and fire pit which was amazing especially on a chilly December day. The boonfly cafe has the best breakfast around and FARM is great for dinner or just cocktails and a light bite. I really enjoyed swimming laps in the heated pool every morning and the Hilltop pool is a great place to relax after a long day of wine tasting. We usually like to stay at a new hotel each trip, but we keep going back to the Carneros Inn. On our last trip we stayed at Carneros for 4 nights and went up to Solage Calistoga for 2 nights and unfortunately we were so spoiled at Carneros that Solage was a bit of a letdown by comparison...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We came to Napa, a family of 5, for one night only on a trip to see family and chose the carneros inn. The Inn is very understated and driving in up to the registration building seemed like we were going to a vineyard. Checking in was easy and efficient, wine was flowing and people were friendly. Our accommodations were exquisite with every inch of the entire suite comfortable, clean and inviting. After a hot tub my daughter and I sat by a fire on the private terrace while the boys watched a basketball game. We almost didn't want to leave to get dinner. We had breakfast in the Boonfly cafe the next morning where the wait was ridiculous and the food was average, so really the only criticism. I had heard that a kennel was close by but never heard any animals. Will definitely come back next time we are in Napa

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the Cafe because the kennel is across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carneros Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carneros Inn

Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Spa Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#7 Business Hotel in Napa
#9 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Carneros Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the beautiful Carneros winegrowing region is The Carneros Inn, a luxurious Napa Valley retreat designed to make absolutely everything feel better. The Carneros Inn, a PlumpJack Resort, was created to provide an intimate atmosphere of Napa Valley hospitality reminiscent of its unique surroundings. Nestled among 27 acres of seemingly endless rows of grape vines, bucolic Napa farmland and scenic apple orchards, The Carneros Inn's design was based on cues from the local countryside - including barns, silos and ranchers' cottages - combined with stylish resort accommodations and modern interiors to capture the region's distinct charm as well as the needs of our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Carneros Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
The Carneros Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carneros Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.