We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napa cheap, not chic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Napa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Napa to your Saves list
Motel 6 Napa
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3380 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558 (Formerly Napa Valley Redwood Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Fairfield, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Napa cheap, not chic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here in Napa and was pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness of the rooms. Don't expect the Hilton but do expect a reasonably comfortable, functional and clean room at a relatively cheap (for Napa) price. We enjoyed our stay and had no issues to report. Would definitely stay again....

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    32
    12
    27
See reviews for
11
42
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel 1 night and had to change rooms because the toilet did not operate.. The bathrooms in both rooms were in deplorable condition... The night person on duty was uncooperative and apathetic.. She was not concerned, nor did she apologize for the inconvenience.. In addition, this room was over $100 a night.. The next night we stayed at a wonderful Best Western for less money, it included free breakfast, and the bathroom was fully functional...

Room Tip: Can not recommend this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a renovated Motel 6, meaning that it has an updated look. I love their new look - it has the feel of a boutique, indie hotel!

-Platform bed
-Painted accent wall
-New sink
-Nice little table with booth seating

It was a fantastic location after a day of wine tasting. It's walking distance to Peet's, Target, etc.

Front desk was nice. And of course, Motel 6 is pet-friendly, so we were thrilled to have our pup with us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We just spent two nights in the Motel 6, in Napa. I've stayed in a lot of Motel 6 properties, so I pretty much know what to expect.
Pluses: Clean. Good location with Starbucks and a grocery store across the street. Interior of room has been updated with the "international orange" interior and simulated wood floors.
Minuses: The rooms have been updated, but unfortunately, the motel building is very old. The heater is an in-wall unit from 1970 and very noisy, for example. The floor was very wavy. The bathroom sink was plugged up, which isn't a major deal, but they were unable to fix it right away. The walkways look like they were built 40 years ago. This (all?) Motel 6 doesn't have toilet seat covers, which can be a little exciting when traveling with a toddler who loves water. Typical very thin walls, your satisfaction may depend very much on who you get for neighbors, and if their hours coincide with yours.
Overall, not a great experience, although I generally like Motel 6. We'll stay in nearby American Canyon, next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel is by far the best location for the price you will find in expensive Napa. I have stayed at this hotel for years (when it was the Napa Redwood Inn) and after Motel 6 took over they have begun to slowly improve the rooms. The carpet is gone, replaced by a very bouncy laminate and the bed is now on a platform with higher quality bedding. The pillows are still thin and the mattress is not all that comfortable, but it is an improvement over what it used to be. The shower in my bathroom had a lot of mold on the door at in the seams, which I reported to Motel 6 Corporate, so perhaps they'll do something about it. In the meantime, concentrate how much you are saving by staying here! Plus, it is across the street from a good gourmet grocery store as well as 1/4 mile from a Trader Joes and Whole Foods, where you can get bottles of local wines at bargain prices and assemble a great picnic -- skip the high priced-tasting rooms. For value meals, try the excellent Black Bear Diner on Soscol.
You can have a fun and memorable vacation in Napa on a shoestring budget!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I only went to this motel 6 because I had a free night, comp from a really bad experience last year. I didn't expect much but we needed a night away from the kids and chores so we decided to live on the wild side and chance another Motel 6 stay. This location is only an hour from home and with the nice shopping center across the street, and some of our favorite shops less than a half mile away we figured we could make the best of it.

Pulling up it looked just like any other Motel 6.

We booked it online (EZ), when we arrived they were fast with the key (waiting for us) and when I opened the door to the room I was shocked to see classy bedding, pergo floors (easing my bedbug concerns), a TV mounted on the wall and a quaint wall mounted table and seating area (where we ate great local takeout while watching our favorite shows WITHOUT kids).

We even had a refridgerator to store our leftovers, something too often missing in the top of the line hotels we have stayed in. Even the bathroom had a few updates, including a nice black marble counter with a white bowl sink.

I would be happy to recommend this place and stay here again. Especially in such an idealic and expensive area, where you want to enjoy the beautiful outdoors and not pay for a big room that you aren't even going to spend much time in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Napa

Address: 3380 Solano Avenue, Napa, CA 94558 (Formerly Napa Valley Redwood Inn)
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Napa 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Redwood Hotel Napa
Napa Valley Redwood Motel
Motel 6 Napa Napa Valley, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Napa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.